We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Savings & Savoring
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the French Quarter Inn. The hotel and the staff are amazing. It is a beautiful hotel and the location is central to the Market and the best shopping in Charleston. The champagne they provide on arrival sets the stage for an outstanding stay. Breakfast is very good - sliced fruit, bagels, pastries and an assortment of other goodies. The staff will gladly provide you with room service if requested. Coffee, tea and flavored ice teas are available throughout the day. The hotel provides a coffee and tea service on each floor, which is a nice touch for early risers. Wine and cheese are available in the early evening and warm, freshly baked cookies and milk are provided at bedtime. Absolutely perfect. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant but understand that it is excellent. The staff at FQI are amazing and go out of their way to be helpful and endlessly cheerful. They make your stay the best it can be and seem to be sincerely pleased to be able to do so. I absolutely plan to return to this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandBeach-lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for writing a wonderful review. Your compliments of our property, amenities, and staff are greatly appreciated. On a daily basis we strive to ensure each guest receives nothing but the best service and enjoy every moment in Charleston, reading reviews like this lets us know that we are succeeding. Again, thank you for your compliments. We eagerly wait your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
West By God Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

My wife and I try to travel to Charleston once a year, or at least every other year, and always stay at the FQI. This time we decided to spend part of our anniversary trip there, and could not have had a better time. The manager and staff went above and beyond to make our stay special. The evening wine and cheese receptions are a very nice touch. It is always nice to return to the hotel after a long day of shopping and exploring to unwind with wine and refreshments in the lobby. I cannot say enough great things about this hotel. The location is perfect, you will not need your car after the valet parks it. We do not generally stay in the same hotel time after time, but the French Quarter Inn has never given us a reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooltravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
We are privileged to have many guests like you, who only stay with us while in Charleston. We love having our return guests and appreciate the compliments you always give us. It’s a pleasure to have you stay with us every year and especially when you are celebrating something as special as an anniversary. Happy Anniversary! We look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

Couldn't ask for a better location for seeing the sights in Charleston. The FQI was within easy walking distance of so many shops and great restaurants and historic sites. We loved all the many restaurant choices just around the block. And all the little extras the hotel provides really made it feel luxurious: the breakfast delivered to our room at no extra charge, the wine and cheese in the early evening and the milk and cookies before bed. And for all that, the price we paid was CHEAP! We would absolutely recommend the FQI and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Upon choosing a location for the French Quarter Inn, the owners made a great choice. We love being in the heart of the city, making all desired sights, restaurants, and tours within a short walking distance for our guests. We are pleased you enjoyed all of our amenities and had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huntersville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

The FQI is a beautifully decorated and equipped hotel in the heart of Old Charleston. I took the advice of another reviewer and asked for a quiet room on the side of the building. The hotel has lots of little "nooks" inside and out where you can sit with a cup of tea or coffee, and the rooms and generously sized and nicely furnished. The staff is well-trained and you can tell that they are willing to go the extra mile for guests.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prchrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for writing a wonderful review about your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We are pleased you felt pampered and found the hotel to be quiet and comfortable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Had a very nice visit - comfortable atmosphere - very nice friendly staff - couldnt be more helpful and nice. Great location...........comfortable room and bathroom, only suggestion would be to upgrade the bedding....... Good breakfast, wine and cheese late afternoon, milk and cookies at bedtime ! Would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muffin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for the compliments of the French Quarter Inn staff and our amenities. We appreciate your suggestion and will look into making any necessary changes. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Stayed at the FQI for a Charleston weekend. The property is outstanding in every way. Staff was accommodating, courteous, and friendly. The wine, champagne and cookies are nice touches, and contribute to the overall atmosphere of elegance and charm. Breakfast is modest but certainly sufficient. The room was well-equipped and comfortable. The "pillow menu" is a big plus, and I found one that I really liked. There was nothing wrong with the mattress, but they could look at upgrading as some chains have done. Location is perfect, and we snagged a great weekend rate. I would come back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waynelaw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We took advantage of some last minute airfares to take a long November weekend to Charleston. Trip Advisor members offered great advice and their reviews helped me select the French Quarter Inn for our hotel -- perfect choice! The small 50 room inn's location placed us close to interesting attractions and their attention to detail was superb. The hotel caters primarily to couples so it was also quiet. There were special touches such as coffee and tea service on every floor and continental breakfast in bed -- all part of their services to every guest. Rarely do we travel and I think I would want to stay in exactly the same place again, but I would return numerous times to the French Quarter Inn. We also took TA recommendations on Ed's Walking Tour which we thoroughly enjoyed. Blossom's and the cupcake place are not to be missed!

Helpful?
Thank HoneyFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 28, 2009
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your recent stay in Charleston. With many hotel options in Charleston, we are honored that we were your choice. We are pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and provided you with a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#18 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
The Restoration
#4 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,606 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#12 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing