We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charlotte
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

Upgraded us to a balcony view room without extra charge.
Really liked the champagne at check in and the evening turn down service.
Loved the cheese and wine reception they had.
Room was neat and comfortable
The only thing I didn't like was the $15 (or so) for valet parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachesAndSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2009
When an opportunity arises we love to upgrade guests. We are pleased you enjoyed the private balcony off your room. Unfortunately parking in Charleston is limited and therefore we must use the city parking garage for most of our vehicles causing us to charge for valet. However, we do offer the valet parking for less than if you parked the vehicle yourself in the garage. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,449
    223
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
528
1,518
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2009

What a wonderful place to stay! The staff was so friendly and so willing to give directions and recommendations. The hotel is spotless. Our room was very quiet, which was surprising because it is at the heart of the market place. We were in walking distance to everything. Nightime milk and cookies were also a nice touch. The only complaint i could come up with was that we couldn't stay longer. I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deemeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2009
Thank you for the wonderful compliments of your recent visit to Charleston. We work diligently to ensure that each guest has a wonderful time with us. During construction of the hotel we took into consideration our location and the possibility of noise issues, therefore we took preventative measures to block out street noise. We are glad to hear we were successful in creating a quiet and peaceful atmosphere within the bustling streets of Charleston. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

This boutique hotel lives up to it's reputation. From the complimentary champagne at check-in to the wine and cheese reception every evening the "little extras" provided a delightful experience. The hospitality and service was excellent without being pretentious. I particularly enjoyed the brewed coffee and tea service available in the hallway on each floor in the morning and the "pillow selection".

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peachtreecorners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2009
Our guest’s opinion of us is the most important opinion. We strive on a daily basis to ensure each guest enjoys every aspect of their hotel experience. Thank you for your wonderful review and letting us know that we did meet your expectations. We hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

The French Quarter Inn is in the heart of the city. Attendants park your car and you won't need it for the rest of your stay. Everything is within walking distance. The city market is a half block away and you can walk to many restaurants that offer fresh seafood, a real treat for me since I'm from Wisconsin. I would recommend a carriage ride to see the city. There are about 3 different ones to choose from and we used the one that uses only mules in the red barn which was only 2 blocks from the hotel and we were very pleased with that tour.

The everyone at the hotel was great and extremely friendly. It is a beautiful, elegant place without feeling stuffy. The rooms were elegant and had a spacious bathroom. Our room was quiet. There is 24 hour coffee and tea service in the hallway. At 5pm each night they have complimentary wine, cheese and fruit. It is at the higher end price scale, but it was absolutely worth it. I would definitely recommend it and it would be a great hotel to honeymoon at too. If I'm able to revisit Charleston, I want to stay at French Quarter Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a beautiful review about your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We truly appreciate your kind comments and recommendations. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2009

This hotel was incredible. It was by far the best hotel stay that I have ever had. Things we liked:
* Staff was kind, friendly, helpful, extremely polite (in particular - Amet, Marvin, Faith (front desk), Michael, Jeremiah (valets), Julia (server).
* Rooms were large and well kept - always clean, turn down service in afternoon.
* Great location: close walk to dining, shopping, scenic views
* Nice events: Breakfast, wine & cheese in afternoon, cookies in the evening.
* Great value.
We will definitely be returning.

I think they only drawback was there may not have been wireless set up - but I'm not totally certain of this. Since I was out most of the day I didn't really need it - I did use the computer in the lobby one morning - served my purposes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vactraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2009
Thank you for your time and effort to review your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. Your compliments of our staff, rooms, and amenities are greatly appreciated. We do have wireless internet throughout the hotel, so for your next visit please bring your laptop for internet service from your room. Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a hotel while in Charleston for our anniversary. After hours of research and reading the reviews, we decided to stay at the French Quarter Inn. Were we disappointed? No. However, we did think that the room we reserved was overpriced for what it was- drab, unwelcoming and the shower was in desperate need of a face-lift. We should have spent another $150 per night for a suite with a balcony and fireplace. The lobby of the Inn is beautiful- a lovely spiral staircase on the first floor and sitting areas on the second floor provide a very nice ambiance after a long day of site-seeing. The front desk staff are very accommodating and friendly- they truly want you to enjoy your stay. The breakfast was basic with pastries, bagels, fruit and yogurt however the constant beverage selection you had during the day, wine and cheese reception everyday at 5 pm and cookies and milk after 8:30 pm was a nice touch and certainly enjoyed and appreciated by all. We thought there was champagne upon arrival but we not offered any nor did we see anyone during the course of our stay drinking champagne upon arrival. We think what sells the Inn is the friendly staff, added extras and location- you can valet your car (for an additional fee) and walk to all the wonderful shops, homes and restaurants in the area. Take advantage of their pillow selection and the huge book of all the finest restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbbyCorrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2009
We are honored your chose to spend your anniversary celebration with us, we truly enjoy being involved in such a special occasion. We are disappointed that you did not find the room welcoming, but pleased that you enjoyed our staff and amenities. The hotel was built in 2002 and currently houses most of the original furnishings. We are in the process of re-designing the hotel décor, we anticipation completion of the entire property in 2011. The new colors and furnishings will be eye catching. We do offer the champagne at the front desk daily beginning at check in time, which is 3 pm, and it is available until the last check in. If you arrived earlier we apologize you weren’t informed to return to the desk after 3 pm for the champagne. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

super friendly desk staff. even the bellboys and chambermaids were cheerful and helpful. the all day/night coffee stations are a real plus. included continental breakfast buffet, daily wine and cheese and late night milk and cookies are very nice touches. exc location. manager's champaigne gifts for birthday and anniversary very appreciated.(and they were good bottles of champaigne).

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phllytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2009
Thank you for the lovely compliments of our staff and amenities. We enjoying being able to offer items that most hotels do not and appreciate the compliments we receive. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,031 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing