We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Quarter Inn is the best”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 9, 2005

Stayed at the French Quarter Inn for six nights in April 2005. Because of its location, walking anywhere is easy. We had an extremely large room (#313) with a balcony overlooking the Market, two queen beds, desk, chairs, end table, the fireplace was a plus on chilly mornings, a huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower. We loved staying here. Nothing is left out. The staff is exceptional--every one of them. Enjoyed a continental breakfast in the courtyard. There is 24 hour coffee/tea service both in the lobby and on each floor. Wine/cheese reception at 5:00 every evening was so refreshing. During the day, there is lemonade and iced tea available. The cookies and milk at 9:00 p.m. were wonderful. Still warm from the oven. At the end of the day, the beds are turned down, robes put out on the beds and towels replenished. Met some truly nice guests here who would not stay anywhere else upon returning to Charleston, whether it be for business or pleasure. This is definitely our #1 choice in Charleston. Nothing has been overlooked at this wonderful facility. You will not regret staying at this inn.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ladybug42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,877)
There are newer reviews for French Quarter Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,821 - 2,827 of 2,877 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2005

If you want to be in the heart of Charleston's historic district and feel pampered besides, the French Quarter Inn is the place to stay. Our room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel's afternoon wine and cheese reception provided us with opportunity to meet other guests and share our experiences. The evening turn-down service, milk and cookies were an especially nice end to each day. The hotel staff was always courteous and helpful. The hotel is close to shopping and some of Charleston's finest restaurants. We enjoy walking, and could easily walk to the Visitor's Center, the Museum, the Battery, or any number of historic homes. We felt this hotel was the perfect choice, and would stay at the French Quarter Inn without question, if we visit Charleston again.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 2 working 2 travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Milwaukee,WI
12
Reviewed March 31, 2005

My wife and I just returned from a stay at the French Quarter Inn.We were very,very pleased.The hotel is just beautiful. Very clean, and marvelously appointed.The service was the best we have ever experienced! Its' location is perfect.Right in the middle of The Historic District.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, NC
112
Reviewed February 22, 2005

Last weekend was the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and again the experience was perfect...not OK, or Great, but PERFECT.

To begin this hotel is right in the middle of everything, so you pull up to the entrance, have them valet park your car right next door and never need a vehicle again the entire time.
The staff is very professional, the rooms are large, comfortable and offer everything you need. Turn down service with candies, cotton robes, and a pillow menu just to name a few of the extras they include.
Add to that the champagne and lady fingers at arrival, wine and cheese in the afternoon, milk and cookies at night, coffee, M&Ms and Jelly Bellies throughout the day make the stay that much more wonderful.
However, by far the the thing that my wife and I liked the most is the included breakfast in your room every morning...coffee, fruit, juice, milk, bagels, pastries and fruit make for a PERFECT start to the morning.

It's kinda a shame in some ways...I've been to Charleston countless times and plan to go back many more, however I'll never stay at another hotel.

Once you've experienced the best, nothing else well do!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2005

My husband and I chose the FQ Inn for a romantic weekend last summer and were very pleased. We're usually budget travelers but found the extra money spent was worth it for all of the fun little details. Great bed. I agree with a previous poster that the pillow menu was pretentious, but c'mon -- it was also kind of fun. And pretentious isn't a word I would use to describe the atmosphere at all ... the staff is friendly and courteous.

Complementary wine and breakfast in bed was a nice touch -- definitely added to the romance. :) The hotel management definitely knows what it's doing.

5  Thank oliviadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2005

Everything was first class at this Inn. The breakfast was flawless if carb loaded, the wine and cheese reception always enjoyable and who can find fault with cookies and milk. What impressed me even more was the containers of M&M's and Jellybellies.
Our room was beautiful and the exfoliating soap for the shower was a favorite with my husband.
The desk staff was up for anything from dinner recommendations and reservation to mailing a package home for us. One of the bellmen even offered to go around the corner and pick up breakfast for us if we wanted eggs, how nice is that?
The location is perfect, we walked everywhere and there are plenty of excellent restaurants in the area. The only weakness they have is no onsite restaurant but it is a very minor flaw.
We got an excellent rate and when we arrived we were upgraded to a junior suite and it was truly sweet.

7  Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
tampa , fl
14
Reviewed January 11, 2005

we just got back and my wife and i went there for are 1 year anniversary we had a great time. the hotel is in a perfect location and the room is a large. the wine & cheese and milk and cookies were nice. but the service was great everyone was so friendly and they help answer any question we had about food , tour's etc. the next time we go to charleston we will stay again . great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,212 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,066 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
1,436 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
481 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $305 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing