We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our first visit to Charleston and the French Quarter Inn was just wonderful. The General Manager, Brent Gresham personally went over and beyond to help make my husband's birthday special. Ms. Gresham personally helped me with some celebration ideas. The Inn and the accommodations were just lovely. The housekeeping staff was extremely attentive. Trayvon and Will, were so kind, friendly, professional and helpful when we needed assistance with our luggage, car and directions. We will definitely stay at the French Quarter Inn the next time we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanky2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Spanky2015,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Treyvon and Will both say hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,247
    210
    37
    11
    3
See reviews for
487
1,385
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel! The staff are incredibly thoughtful, friendly and eager to help with any requests. Our room was luxurious and roomy, yet with a cozy feel. It had access to a beautiful private terrace with excellent views of market street. Hotel location is central to everything in the heart of Charleston. We were celebrating our 23rd anniversary and can not wait to find an excuse to come back again before our next anniversary. If you are looking for southern charm and excellence in a hotel stay this is the place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dana P,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A fantastic Inn located right in the heart of everything! Very helpful staff. Greeted with champagne after leaving our car with valet. No struggle with luggage, which was delivered into our room within a half hour. Lovely clean room with gas fireplace conveniently located on the same floor as wine and cheese reception and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Cecil W,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Punta Gorda!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
179 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Comfortable place to stay. Valet parking was efficient, and pricing on par with similar properties. The location is very good, and easy walk to all major sites in Charleston, right next to the market. We were kindly upgraded as it was my birthday, and had a quiet comfortable room on the top floor. We chose to have breakfast brought to our room each morning (why wouldn't you?!) and it was fresh, generous and lovely ingredients - don't miss the bruleed graprefuit! The cool drinks available in the lobby all day were welcome, and the evening wine and cheese was a good selection of food. We elected to have more of the champagne from reception rather than the wines on offer, and they happily accommodated this. Ask and you will receive here! All in all a quality place to stay. We did find the decor to be a little more corporate hotel style rather than "traditional" or cosy style hotel, but this is a minor point and matches the photographs on the website now that we look at it after staying. A very good option in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear tal27,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful London! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Absolutely fabulous location! Right next to Charleston Market and a short walk to the Battery, Rainbow Row etc. The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and quiet apart from around 5.30 am on our side when the garbage van reversed into the street! The breakfast was fine. Lots of nice touches - the coffee brought to each floor at 6.00 am, drinks and snacks each evening in the lobby and the valet parking was very good. Concierge arranged lots for us and were very informative and helpful. As for Charleston - what's not to like! Well, maybe a bit hot and humid in July for us Brits(!) but lots to see - Magnolia Plantation was superb, Patriots Point and Fort Sumter trips - not to mention historic district itself.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the street where the garbage vans come at about 5.30 every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mag6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mag6699,

I hope y'all are well "across the pond!" I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tool, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently stayed a weekend at this beautiful hotel and felt like we were the most special guests! The facility is in a great location, close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. The construction next door was never loud or bothersome. The room was spacious and well furnished. Not only did they greet us with champagne, offer us warm cookies in the evening, and tended to our every need before we needed it, but they greeted us by name from the first moment we arrived to our parting. Very gracious and friendly, but never pretentious or sappy. Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lisa C,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope y'all are doing well back home in the GREAT and beautiful state of Texas!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blauvelt, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I came back to the French Quarter Inn because we were there in Jan. when Charleston was hit by a ice storm and Charleston closed down. There was never a thought that we would stay in any other place. I've been around the world and stayed in many 5 start places and the French Quarter Inn is among the best. First everyone of the staff could not do enough for you. I'd like to mention Jenny and Michelle at the front desk. When I thought I had lost my diamond wedding band they went far beyond their job description. I did find it, however they did everything to keep me calm. The place is spotless. Keep up the good work

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pita5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Pita5,

I hope you are doing well back home in Blauvelt! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Jenny and Michelle both say hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
The Spectator Hotel
#3 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,835 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,799 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing