We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Get Away”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Get Away”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful Hotel-great location, staff, breakfast, amenities. Our favorite was complimentary bikes which allowed us to easily pedal around Charleston (even included locks/helmets). Super fun and easy b/c the city is so flat.
Also, love the complimentary happy hour. The two men who manage breakfast and happy hour are so helpful and friendly!
Finally, we arrived early on Sunday and breakfast was still out when we checked in. The front desk invited us to eat which worked out well so we could relax and not have to rush off to find food.
A class-act hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyoffive98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear familyoffive98,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Maryland were pleasant, and it was an absolute pleasure meeting you! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,483
    228
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
540
1,539
39
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cook Forest, PA
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at the French Quarter Inn last week for two nights and was incredibly impressed with the staff's commitment to service. From the champagne at check in, to the complimentary room service from the continental breakfast, to the easy walking location to nearly everything on the Charleston peninsula, I was thrilled with my stay.
I am from a rural area and am used to quiet sleeping areas, and while the FQI is near the center of the historic and tourist district, the room was quite quiet and made for comfortable sleeping...as did the bed itself.
Every member of the staff was welcoming and polite, seeing to all the details of my stay. I do recommend the delicious coffee in the mornings and excellent port served during the evening dessert hour. While the cost is more than I would typically spend on a hotel, the FQI absolutely is made worth it by the attentiveness of everyone and its close location to the Market, the Battery, the historic district, and Waterfront Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Victoria R,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Pennsylvania were pleasant, and it was an absolute pleasure meeting you! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My business group met at the French Quarter Inn in early October. Our group of 16 professionals found the accommodations excellent, with friendly and helpful front desk staff. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed, with walk in showers, good televisions and ipod-ready clock radios. The catering staff was very competent, providing the group with breakfasts and lunches that were tasty and attractively served. The meeting room was comfortable, well equipped and served our purposes well. Our group enjoyed the wine and cheese bar (along with the always-available jelly beans and m&ms).

The Inn's conference coordinator, Scott, anticipated our every need; he was always friendly and smiling and made sure that our meetings went off without a hitch. The French Quarter Inn is fortunate to have his services.

Charleston is a wonderful place to hold a business meeting, with easy access to good restaurants and sight-seeing diversions. The French Quarter Inn is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear steve_in_ms,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Mississippi were pleasant, and I thank you for choosing to have your meeting with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Scott also says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our short stay here felt like a real vacation because of the outstanding stay we had here. The room was really nice, so comfortable, nice spacious bathroom breakfast served to room on request - I left feeling spoiled. Reception had all kinds of snacks and drinks available all day and a happy hour with wine, cheese and etc. I highly recommend - great customer service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank staceytann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear staceytann,

I thank you for such high praises and I hope you are doing well back in Seattle! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights and it was perfect. The room was large, quiet and was terrific in every respect. Only positives to say about the location, the rooms and the great staff whose service was perfect, Probably the best hotel experience we've had. In addition, they have a great breakfast, wine and cheese in late afternoon and warm cookies late evening. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luvtotravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Luvtotravel456,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Seattle were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

There are only superlatives to write about this hotel! Our room was a corner room with a balcony. We have never been more comfortable or felt more pampered than we did for two night's at the French Quarter Inn. One unique feature is the choice of pillow type - do you want down or foam or feather - there are 6 choices. We arrived to flutes of champagne and anisette cookies. The refreshments that were always available in the lobby were welcome. The variety of food available for breakfast was much better than your average continental breakfast. Wine (which has been decanted) and cheese are available in the late afternoon before dinner as well as freshly baked cookies and port in the evening after dinner. The staff was extremely attentive whether you needed information or water. Bicycles are available for guests to use to get around the city. This is an exceptional hotel and I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyhhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear amyhhs,

I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your stay! The corner terrace rooms are some of my favorite too. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope you are doing well up in Beautiful Maywood!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The French Quarter Inn largely lives up to its reputation, in that the service is generally excellent and the inclusive elements are a nice touch and very high quality - good wine, excellent continental breakfast, wonderful fresh cookies in the evening. It's also perfectly placed to explore Charleston, you can walk to almost everywhere from here, including a slew of fantastic restaurants. The one let down was the room. When I book a King suite at $400 a night I expect a separate sitting area and a bath in the bathroom. Neither were delivered. The staff at reception were apologetic but could offer nothing better, despite larger rooms being clearly shown on the floor layouts on the inside of the door of our room. Despite this we enjoyed our stay and would return, but with different expectations and a more detailed discussion in advance about the rooms avaialble.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Jennie P,

I hope you are doing well back in beautiful London! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I apologize the impression of you had of our King Junior Suites. You are correct, our junior suites are essentially a very large room with the sitting area on the other side of the space. Please contact me directly the next time you visit us, and I'll make sure to make arrangements for you to stay in one of our full suites!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 61 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing