We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We originally picked this hotel for its price and location. But were pleasantly surprised at what more it had to offer. Several nice ammenities were available and made this hotel a big part of the enjoyment of our trip versus just a place to stay. It seemed to us that they had thought of everything. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The Continental Breakfast was nicely presented and yummy. It was very convenient for everyone getting ready in the morning to have the free breakfast delivered to the room. Having free wine and cheese was nice to just relax and the kids loved getting free cookies/milk at night. In the future, when choosing a hotel in this area, we will definitely want to stay here. The extra room cost is easily justified.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerGirlinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am delighted to hear that our special touches helped to create a special trip for you and your family! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,515
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
543
1,564
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night and loved this hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are nicely appointed. Wind and cheese served from 530-630, milk and cookies later in the evening and a great continental breakfast including a yogurt bar are all included. Nice sitting area off the Libby. Not too fat from the open air markets. Had choices of pillows too- including feather, buckwheat, no snore, etc. beautiful place

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
• It is wonderful to know that your stay was great and that you enjoyed each of our complimentary amenities, including our pillow menu! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in Florida!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore md
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a stay at this wonderful hotel. This was our third stay. As usual, everything from check in to check out was perfect. Every little detail is thought of and taken care of. This hotel is clean to the decree that it sparkles. The hotel from the General Manager, Brent to the Server, Phillip ( during the cocktail hour) are first rate. Always willing to go out of their way to make your stay the best it can be. Can't wait to return next Spring for another "perfect" stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for continuing to stay with us, I am thrilled that you have a perfect stay each time you stay with us! I am so glad that you enjoyed speaking with Phillip, he is a true asset to our team. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Baltimore were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have never written a review before, however this hotel requires it. I am a little bit of a hotel snob, so I did not expect a small hotel to deliver such great service or such a nice physical presence. It is spotless and beautiful and a quiet, cool oasis in the middle of everything. The staff is unbelievably attentive and friendly. They presented us with champagne upon checking in and there is a very nice european style breakfast, wine and cheese in the evening and cookies in the evening. They have peach iced tea, fruit flavored water, lavender lemon aid and coffee all the time in the lobby which is extraordinary. It is small enough that chatting with fellow guests is easy, but not so small that you feel forced to be social if you don't want to do so. There is valet service, baggage service and they will go out of their way to provide anything you want. The Ritz-Carlton could learn from them. Everything in the historic district is walkable. I would highly recommend them.

Room Tip: Rooms near the center don't always have a tub, but a very nice shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for giving us the honor of your first review! I am delighted that you had such great experience with us. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in Missouri!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I have been looking forward to a trip to Charleston for years. Our time finally arrived to go and celebrate our 28th anniversary. In reading over reviews, we decided to choose the FQI. We were not disappointed. Every detail was close to perfection. From the valet parking, to the front desk, the quality of the rooms, and all the many receptions offered, each continued to make our 3 night stay remarkable. We loved the room, and the most comfortable bedding (even able to choose your own type of pillows). The breakfast had so many choices. The wine and cheese reception and the cookies and milk and endless coffee (even outside our room) made us feel special. Jenny was exceptional in her service. Jordan did an impeccable job of making sure all our questions were answered and baggage delivered. Rose did an outstanding job with our room. Each were very pleasant and personable, going out of their way to assist. Beyond all of these things the inn was beautifully decorated and located by the things we wanted to do. Cannot wait to go back! Thank you for making our time there special!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a Traditional King.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jkbrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to be part of your anniversary celebration! I always enjoying hearing team members being mentioned by name, and I am so glad to have Jenny, Jordan and Rose as part of our team. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Virginia were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay- the Inn is in the perfect location and very quiet inside. The service was very good and the staff was always so pleasant. We loved the extras nice continental breakfast, wine and cheese (4 choices of wine, very nice) reception, cookies and brandy in the evening, coffee and tea 24 hours, free bike use. It was very much a treat to stay in such a nice hotel. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
I am thrilled to hear that your stay with us was such a treat and you enjoyed our staff and complimentary amenities! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the time you are greeted at the front door to check out the staff could not be more accommodating! And e location is perfect.....right in the center of everything. If you need to go any distance, the pedi-cabs are readily on call.

Room Tip: We had one of the few rooms with a balcony and even late June was enjoyable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGnome1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
It is wonderful to know that your stay was perfect in every way! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Virginia were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,097 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,996 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing