We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
French Quarter Inn
Nearby Hotels
$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $450/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Francis Marion Hotel(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$205
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Town & Country Inn and Suites(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$183
$169
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
King Charles Inn(Charleston)
$293
$199
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Charleston Inn(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Charleston(Charleston)(Great Value!)
$109
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$300
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,153)
Filter reviews
3,153 results
Traveler rating
2,858
238
42
12
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,858
238
42
12
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookies and milkpillow menuglass of champagnewine and cheesejelly beansport winedetox waterchampagne on arrivalcontinental breakfastturn down servicem msevening cookiesquichehappy hourwithin walking distanceearly eveningsouthern hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
1,962 - 1,967 of 3,153 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I checked in with high expectations being that the online reviews were so great, and we found everything to be perfect! I was reluctant to write this review because we want it to be our secrect place, but the secret is out! Thank you French Quarter for an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guruoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

I am so glad that you had a perfect stay and thank you for deciding to let the secret out! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I came to Charleston for Father's Day to see our daughter. We have been to Charleston many times over the years, but it had 10+ years since we were there last. If we had known about the French Quarter Inn before we would have come for no other reason than to stay there. This 50 room boutique hotel was memorable for many reasons. First, the personal touches are unique and heart warming: champagne on arrival, evening wine & cheese (Cabernet, Merlot, Chardonnay & Pinot Grigio plus unique cheeses, meats and FIG PRESERVES! Second, the location is amazing - you are within a few blocks of everything - no need for a car at all during your stay. If anyone gets tired, they can quickly get rest and go back out with ease). Finally, delightful, well trained staff that becomes friends before you leave. Be sure you at least one meal at Tristan, restaurant in the hotel. In summary, we have had the privilege of staying and eating at some of the world's finer places and the French Quarter Inn/Tristan rank at the top. They make a perfect match for this intriguing, elegant city.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LawyerMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Father’s Day with us! I am delighted to know that y’all enjoyed the wine and cheese reception, especially the Fig Jam. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn, but I am not sure if we will return.

Here are the pros and cons - hope they help you decide.

Pros:
- The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. They seem interested in making your stay wonderful.
- We enjoyed the small extras the hotel offers. We rode the complementary bikes, enjoyed the afternoon cheese and evening cookies.
- The bathroom was pretty.
- The entire hotel is very clean.

Cons:
- The biggest con is that this hotel lacks any real charm. It is newish but not beautifully decorated.
- The second biggest con is that the staff is overworked. The front desk staff also take the reservations calls and serve as the concierges. While they were all kind and helpful, it is annoying that conversations are constantly disrupted.
- There is no view from this hotel.
- There is no fitness center or pool.

Charleston is a wonderful place to visit, and we had a pleasant stay here. On our next visit, I think we try a different place hoping to find one with more character. Happy travels

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Thank you for the compliment that our staff is kind, helpful and friendly. We are also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I would like thank you for your constructive notes about our décor and staff. Unfortunately, due to our size and location a pool and fitness center is not in the cards for us. We do sincerely appreciate you staying with us and we do hope that you will keep us in consideration for your next trip to Charleston.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a small botique hotel and as other reviewers have indicated, it is in a great location right in the French Quarter and close to great restaurants, historic sites, and shopping. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. There is no concierge, so the staff behind the check-in/reservation counter also help with activities/reservations. While the room/bathroom were lovely, it was very hot and muggy outside and unfortunately the A/C and ceiling fan combination just couldn't keep the room cool at night. This was our biggest complaint, as being on vacation and not able to sleep at night is not fun. Breakfast was included and you could even have delivered to your room; however, it was nothing to write home about (after the first day we skipped and ate elsewhere). We like to stay at the 'top' hotel in town -- and while this one had many plusses and was nice in many respects, it is not a 5-star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pianolady609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We would like to thank you for your candid review. We are sorry that you had a difficult time sleeping, and I have been sure to pass this information along to our Chief Engineer so that he may look into any issues your room may have been having with the AC. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the complimentary breakfast that was delivered to your room. We do also offer additional offerings in our lobby. We appreciate your notes and we do sincerely hope to have you stay with us again.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The French Quarter Inn deserves it's ranking as the number 1 hotel in Charleston. Everything about our stay was top notch. Champagne on arrival was a welcome refreshment before settling into a lovely room and comfy bed. The wine and cheese happy hour was delicious, as were the breakfast offerings. Coffee and tea service was right outside our door(room 306) every morning - nice touch! - as well as beverages in the lobby all day. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for seeing the city on foot. We were there during the Spoleto festival(to our surprise,) so perhaps the rates were a bit higher. After attending one of the events, we will make it a point to go back next year to this absolutely beautiful city during Spoleto.
Our favorite restaurant was the Amen Street Fish and Raw Bar on East Bay St. Try the 'Virgil's Last Stand' signature cocktail. Yum!

Room Tip: Room 306 was very quiet and coffee service was right outside the door every morning.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are so glad that you were able to experience the Spoleto Festival during your stay. It is truly a wonderful time to be in Charleston! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well in sunny Florida!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews