We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection??? Without a doubt!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I checked in with high expectations being that the online reviews were so great, and we found everything to be perfect! I was reluctant to write this review because we want it to be our secrect place, but the secret is out! Thank you French Quarter for an amazing visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guruoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

I am so glad that you had a perfect stay and thank you for deciding to let the secret out! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,800 - 1,806 of 2,990 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I came to Charleston for Father's Day to see our daughter. We have been to Charleston many times over the years, but it had 10+ years since we were there last. If we had known about the French Quarter Inn before we would have come for no other reason than to stay there. This 50 room boutique hotel was memorable for many reasons. First, the personal touches are unique and heart warming: champagne on arrival, evening wine & cheese (Cabernet, Merlot, Chardonnay & Pinot Grigio plus unique cheeses, meats and FIG PRESERVES! Second, the location is amazing - you are within a few blocks of everything - no need for a car at all during your stay. If anyone gets tired, they can quickly get rest and go back out with ease). Finally, delightful, well trained staff that becomes friends before you leave. Be sure you at least one meal at Tristan, restaurant in the hotel. In summary, we have had the privilege of staying and eating at some of the world's finer places and the French Quarter Inn/Tristan rank at the top. They make a perfect match for this intriguing, elegant city.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank LawyerMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Father’s Day with us! I am delighted to know that y’all enjoyed the wine and cheese reception, especially the Fig Jam. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the French Quarter Inn, but I am not sure if we will return.

Here are the pros and cons - hope they help you decide.

Pros:
- The staff here are incredibly friendly and helpful. They seem interested in making your stay wonderful.
- We enjoyed the small extras the hotel offers. We rode the complementary bikes, enjoyed the afternoon cheese and evening cookies.
- The bathroom was pretty.
- The entire hotel is very clean.

Cons:
- The biggest con is that this hotel lacks any real charm. It is newish but not beautifully decorated.
- The second biggest con is that the staff is overworked. The front desk staff also take the reservations calls and serve as the concierges. While they were all kind and helpful, it is annoying that conversations are constantly disrupted.
- There is no view from this hotel.
- There is no fitness center or pool.

Charleston is a wonderful place to visit, and we had a pleasant stay here. On our next visit, I think we try a different place hoping to find one with more character. Happy travels

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. Thank you for the compliment that our staff is kind, helpful and friendly. We are also glad that you enjoyed our complimentary amenities. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I would like thank you for your constructive notes about our décor and staff. Unfortunately, due to our size and location a pool and fitness center is not in the cards for us. We do sincerely appreciate you staying with us and we do hope that you will keep us in consideration for your next trip to Charleston.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a small botique hotel and as other reviewers have indicated, it is in a great location right in the French Quarter and close to great restaurants, historic sites, and shopping. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. There is no concierge, so the staff behind the check-in/reservation counter also help with activities/reservations. While the room/bathroom were lovely, it was very hot and muggy outside and unfortunately the A/C and ceiling fan combination just couldn't keep the room cool at night. This was our biggest complaint, as being on vacation and not able to sleep at night is not fun. Breakfast was included and you could even have delivered to your room; however, it was nothing to write home about (after the first day we skipped and ate elsewhere). We like to stay at the 'top' hotel in town -- and while this one had many plusses and was nice in many respects, it is not a 5-star hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pianolady609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We would like to thank you for your candid review. We are sorry that you had a difficult time sleeping, and I have been sure to pass this information along to our Chief Engineer so that he may look into any issues your room may have been having with the AC. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the complimentary breakfast that was delivered to your room. We do also offer additional offerings in our lobby. We appreciate your notes and we do sincerely hope to have you stay with us again.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The French Quarter Inn deserves it's ranking as the number 1 hotel in Charleston. Everything about our stay was top notch. Champagne on arrival was a welcome refreshment before settling into a lovely room and comfy bed. The wine and cheese happy hour was delicious, as were the breakfast offerings. Coffee and tea service was right outside our door(room 306) every morning - nice touch! - as well as beverages in the lobby all day. The staff was especially helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for seeing the city on foot. We were there during the Spoleto festival(to our surprise,) so perhaps the rates were a bit higher. After attending one of the events, we will make it a point to go back next year to this absolutely beautiful city during Spoleto.
Our favorite restaurant was the Amen Street Fish and Raw Bar on East Bay St. Try the 'Virgil's Last Stand' signature cocktail. Yum!

Room Tip: Room 306 was very quiet and coffee service was right outside the door every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeggyK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are so glad that you were able to experience the Spoleto Festival during your stay. It is truly a wonderful time to be in Charleston! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well in sunny Florida!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I spoke on the phone for a reservation to the moment I walked thru the door I knew I found the best place to stay. You are treated like king and queen. Chilled champagne when checking in and homemade cookies with milk, coffee,tea. Complementary breakfast The list goes on. Plus we are right in the middle of all the fun exciting places to see. Restaurant's are all walking distance. I want to thank Faith who took my reservation. She is wonderful. First class all the way. I also want to thank Will who parks your car when you arrive. He also went above that with showing us around. All I have left to say is don't miss out on staying here. You will be totally happy you did

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just4you912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are thrilled you felt like royalty while staying with us, who doesn’t love feeling pampered? Faith and Will are genuine assets to our team, and it is wonderful to hear that they were of special assistance to you for your trip. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location! Right near market! The staff were very attentive and friendly!! Our room was clean and beautiful. Worth the extra $$. Especially liked the coffee service on each floor and the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gintoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the coffee service and complimentary breakfast! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Ohio were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,315 reviews
Zero George Street
#3 of 62 in Charleston
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 62 in Charleston
2,135 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
1,489 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $262 - $630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing