We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing Hotel with Incredible Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #3 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Amazing Hotel with Incredible Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to stay at the French Quarter Inn on my first visit to Historic Charleston. I had read about the hotel's many awards and accolades prior to the visit there. The hotel lived up to its reputation. The location is perfect for visiting Charleston, within easy walking distance to the many great restaurants, shops and historic areas of Charelston. However, it is the hotel's customer service which sets this hotel apart from others. From the bellman parking the car, to Marvin at check-in, the attitude was of Southern charm and graciousness, befitting the charming look and feel of this hotel. Our room was quite nice and quiet, the breakfast delicious, with such nice other touches as fresh coffee waiting in the hall in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charleston - and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Bill P,

I hope all is well down in beautiful Tampa! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Marvin says "hello" too!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    205
    36
    11
    3
See reviews for
469
1,342
37
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary staying 2 nights here. The staff was extremely friendly, courteus and helpful. Although our room was not ready when we arrived, our luggage was stored so we could go out for the afternoon. We loved the champaign service in the late afternoon, the wine & cheese early evening, and the warm, baked cookies with port each evening. There is always coffee,tea, iced tea and water available as well as M&M candies and jellybeans.The buffet breakfast was very good.The "front desk staff" made us feel at home, were welcoming. They are helpful in giving suggestions of places to go and giving directions. The hotel is very well located - we didn't take our car out until we left Charleston.We were pleased with how quiet it was - never heard noise outside of our room. The hotel is beautifully decorated, luxurious but comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Regina G,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate that y'all chose to celebrate with us for such a memorable occasion! Happy 50th anniversary, and I hope y'all are doing well in beautiful Savannah.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our first visit to Charleston was made that much more pleasurable by our stay at the French Quarter Inn. Perfect location, attentive staff, excellent room. Breakfast more than adequate, the early evening wine was enjoyable. Would recommend to anyone and look forward to a retun visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandlinda95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear bobandlinda95,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I also hope y'all are doing well back in the beautiful UK!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again! Cheers!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I have stayed in some memorable hotels, but the French Quarter Inn may be the most memorable. From the well-trained and courteous staff, to the spacious and tastefully decorated rooms, this hotel delivers an unforgettable experience. My family and I were especially impressed by the bountiful breakfast, the late afternoon wine and hors d'oeuvres, and the evening port and freshly baked cookies, all served in the comfort of a well designed and elegant lobby, with adjoining terrace. That the hotel is centrally located in the heart of Charleston's historic district, just steps from the City Market and other sites, adds to its charm. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a spacious queen junior suite with balcony. The views were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Carter M,

I hope all is well in the beautiful Garden State! I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Centrally located, within walking distance to a handful of excellent restaurants (Magnolias, Oak Steakhouse, McCrady's). The staff is friendly and extremely attentive and responsive.
The beds are very comfortable. Our bathroom was old but spotless. Friends stayed in a room with a new bathroom (TV in mirror, fog-free mirror, etc).
Our iron was dripping water, called the front desk and a replacement was delivered within minutes.
Stayed 4 days for a combined business/pleasure visit, using their conference rooms daily. Very attentive to our needs.
Breakfast spread in the lobby is top notch. The wine and cheese happy hour was a perfect way to tide you over to a 8:00 restaurant reservation.
Rode the free bikes one day. One lock wouldn't wouldn't work and the other was extremely balky. Only real issue we had. :-)
No pool, no fitness room, but a gym is several blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buldurdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Buldurdude,

I hope all is well up in beautiful North Carolina! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
222 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to stay in Charleston. My wife and I spent 5 days at the "Quarter" this month. A great experience: glad we followed Trip Advisor and booked the #1 in Charleston. We were greeted with a champaign toast at check in. The room was spacious: how did they get that large armoire in the room? Wake up to coffee and tea service outside your door. Then we enjoyed the gourmet breakfast spread. Wine and cheese/service is at late day followed by evening cookies and port (or milk). Everything was great but not overly pretentious. Parking attendants were very helpful. All this while right in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Disneybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Disneybus,

I am delighted to read that you and your bride enjoyed your stay, and we hope y'all are well back home in beautiful Pittsgrove! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, the armoire is a secret...!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in 3 different rooms. The staff is really nice & friendly. The hotel is a "hotel" not an inn. It is like a holiday inn but with appointments that make it better, in the physical way. But luxury is at a minimum, in this sense. Most materials used in the rooms are of lower quality. There are robes, lots of towels. First night we had a room with fixed windows- so no fresh air. Second & third nights we had rooms with a balcony. Worth the extra money, we would carry our breakfast up & eat outside. Nothing like viewing the city from a third floor perch.

What makes it very good is that you are centrally located, a very nice buffet breakfast, wine, cheese, & evening cookies- also early morning coffee & tea are included. Match this with a smiling, caring staff, Charleston at your feet & you will have a great time.

Room Tip: Stayed on third floor- get a balcony or terrace- worth the extra money- otherwise you are in a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilhelmenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Wilhelmenia,

I hope all is well up in beautiful Pennsylvania! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I am excited to inform you that we have just finished a plan to renovate the bedrooms, so I hope you are able to return someday and enjoy these lovely enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,717 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
The Restoration
#5 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing