We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston, SC Great Getaway”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison,MS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charleston, SC Great Getaway”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just got back from a 5 day, 4 night trip to Charleston, South Carolina.......WONDERFUL. What a great escape to enjoy excellent food, art, history, antiques, and did I mention excellent food (well, let me mention it again then!) and all in the friendliest southern city you could wish for! We stayed at the French Quarter Inn for the 2nd time and it was great, again. The people who work for this hotel go out of their way to make everything perfect. They bend over backwards for every single guest. This ranks tops for us........and we have stayed in many great hotels all over!!

Okay, and now for the food.....
Hall's Chop House; Great food (steaks a must), great service on King - make reservations!
Peninsula Grill; Also great food and service
Eli's: perfect brunch, bacon bloody mary's and bottomless mimosas (if you like)
Magnolia's and S.N.O.B. also great
Pearls; awesome oysters on the 1/2 and great bar
Queen82; great food and service
Husk; great food and service
So guess you could say "not a bad meal" and there are many more great ones to hit as well!
Other times we were there; High Cotton, Hanks, Fig, Cypress, Circa 1886
We are still working on our list......it seems to keep going

Art galleries are a must (lots of great ones) and Golden's Antiques (on King) - Awesome!
Carriage ride with history packed information - good to know stuff
Architecture is beautiful
We live only a few hours away from New Orleans so we go there 3 or 4 times a year, but we love Charleston......
We'll be back sooner than later!

Y'all have fun

Room Tip: Both time we had different rooms...both, spacious and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onthegoMadisonMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear onthegoMadisonM,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming Inn. I hope this is not interpreted as déclassé, but any comments sent to www.tripadvisor.com will let other travelers know of the specialized customer service we extend. All of your efforts mean a great deal to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

Please contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

With sincere thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
543
1,561
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, IL
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had only one evening in Charleston to stay at the French Quarter Inn but were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very charming and the location is right next to the market and within walking distance of shopping, restaurants, waterfront park and several other attractions. The hotel offered a wine and cheese reception, cookies and milk in the evening and breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately our schedule only allowed us to take advantage of the breakfast but it was quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlnten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear jlnten,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Wife & I stayed 2 nights last week for a romantic Valentine Day getaway. There is nothing more that we can add to all the positive reviews already posted. From charm,decor, location, hospitality, cleanliness, breakfast and afternoon wine & cheese, they are all accurate. We are frequent visitors to Charleston, and for the past 4 years have routinely stayed at another highly rated hotel around the corner on East Bay street.That hotel requires a stay at the conciege level for the breakfast & afternoon amenities available to all guests at French Quarter Inn. Based on our positive recent experience we will return to the French Quuarter Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank torpeedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear torpeedo,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Everyone should be lucky enough to experience this place! The level of excellence is unbelievable. They have taken care of every detail imaginable. It is architecturally beautiful, perfectly located, and the staff provides impeccable service without being overbearing. I visited with my sister and can't wait to bring my husband. We've traveled all over the world and this hotel is the best ever. I shopped for accommodations on line and picked this one because of the photo of the beautiful staircase.

Room Tip: Take your pick -- I'm sure they are all special. 312 was a corner room with 2 queen beds. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear jjcasey,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just a charming hotel with modern amenities and excellent service. It is clear why this inn is at the top of the reviews. Beautiful bathrooms with large showers, updated rooms and tasteful decor. Complimentary wine and cheese in the evening and light breakfast in the morning. Just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justpeachyingeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Justpeachyingeorgia,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This has to be one of the best hotels around Charleston. Here is why:
1) Valet service when you arrive and your luggage is taken directly to your room
2) The glass of welcoming champagne as you are checking in.
3) The wine and chess party every night and a wonderful full size breakfast on the terrace.
4) The cookie and beverages in the evening.
5) the chocolates on the night table every evening.
6) The turn down service.
7) The bath robes laid out on the bed.
8) The fresh bucket of ice.
9) The incredible remodelled bathroom.
Yes a bit pricy. We were there vacationing for four days and the service was impeccable; the staff exemplary. The hotel is close to absolutely everything in the historical district as well as shopping and restaurants. Y'all come down. You will love it and hate to leave.

Room Tip: Any room is fabulous in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CobourgGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear CobourgGuy,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minocqua, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our 2nd stay at the French Quarter Inn in historic Charleston, SC. This is absolutely the best hotel we have ever stayed at, including Hiltons. The staff and service are fantastic, from the wonderful breakfast to the afternoon wine & cheese to the chocolates and turn-down at night. And cookies (all kinds) served in the evening too. A big plus is that is is smack in the middle of the historic district, so you can park your car (they have a valet parking lot) and walk to all the sights and resturants. The rooms are spotless. Wish I could stay longer. No pool, but who needs it?? You're in Charleston!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufus54548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Rufus54548,

Wow! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,995 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing