We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed for one night. Had a king executive suite. Outstanding service. Right from the time of stepping foot in the hotel to the time of check out. i had a nice balcony. The view was not that great but regardless, this hotel is worth staying in

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank vegas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear vegas14,

I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed our service so much! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,450
    223
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
528
1,519
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the French Quarter Inn recently to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. The entire staff of this elegant inn were wonderful - they made our stay really special. Champagne on arrival, wine and cheese reception in the evening and a fabulous continental breakfast too. We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb123689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear barb123689,

I hope all is well up in Myrtle Beach, and we thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the type of hotel that everyone should experience at least once. We went to Charleston to celebrate a very special birthday for our daughter. Brent(GM) went over and above by allowing her birthday cards and gifts to be collected prior to our arrival! They were presented to her the morning of her birthday along with a glorious breakfast. From our first contact with Glori (host/reservations) to Jordan (valet) we knew that we were in for an amazing experience. The staff is intuitive of your every need and willing to go the extra mile for their guests. The rooms are large and well appointed with all that you could ever need. Don't hesitate to try their pillow menu. You will find the perfect pillow to ease you into a peaceful slumber. Some of the highlights of our stay- decadent continental breakfasts each morning, wine and cheese at 5:30 and a warm cookie buffet every evening at 8:30. Mike made our night by wrapping us a plate of cookies to eat later because we were going to miss the cookie buffet. So thoughtful! Lastly, Michelle took care of all the little details for us as we coordinated our birthday surprise for our daughter. It was the incredible staff that made this an amazing experience in one of the greatest cities in US. The hotel is located in the middle of it all. You can walk anywhere you need to go! There are many places to choose from when planning a stay in Charleston, SC. Our advice to you, save yourself the time and go directly to the French Quarter Inn. I can assure you that Brent and his talented staff will provide you with a memorable experience! You will enjoy the southern charm and hospiality this hotel offers and will revel in the care you receive while you are staying at the French Quarter Inn.

Room Tip: If possible, choose a suite with a balcony overlooking the market for some Charleston people watchin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KKNNNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear KKNNNC,

It was an absolute pleasure having y'all here and making your daughter's birthday a special one! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our recent stay at the FQI was wonderful. From the doormen, desk staff to the servers for the breadfast buffet everyone was polite, well presented, courteous and kind. While there is a little remodeling going on it did not impact us one bit ever though they were on our floor. Room 310 had not been remodeled yet and yet it was still very nice for the two of us for 3 days. Having a balcony is a very nice touch. I will say that next time I will look at the same room if remodeled or if not, check out a redone room to see the differences. We just loved Charleston and would highly recommend it to couples as a great place to explore history, architecture, natural beauty and more restaurants than you can even imagine. Two quick things, take the carriage ride early in your trip, the desk can help arrange a private tour for you. Secondly get out to Ft Sumpter it was a great trip that was well worth the time spent.

Room Tip: 310 has a nice corner view balcony. It is not remodeled yet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear 2964,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Michigan! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is the best hotel in Charleston, and perhaps the best hotel where I have ever stayed. The greet you with champagne on arrival, provide complementary wine and cheese in the evening, cookies and milk at night, and continental breakfast options in the morning, including room service at no extra charge. The staff is consistently friendly and extremely helpful, making restaurant recommendations with ease. The beds are fantastic and the bathrooms huge. It is a definite destination for anyone traveling to the Charleston area. We had not been here in over 10 years, but it's still as wonderful as the first time !

Room Tip: Every room is great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayMarshfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Good afternoon JayMarshfield,

It was great having y'all back! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I hate going to a place only to get nickeled and dimed for everything. Not this place. We where welcomed by the front desk with a glass of Champagne.
Location of this place is the best. You can walk to everything and if walking is not you thing the hotel will lend you bikes for free. Alternatively the free shuttle that runs all over Charleston is just outside the hotel (across a street). The rooms are quiet, nicely appointed and spacious. Beds are soft, but no comforter, just soft blankets. They have an extensive menu of pillows.
The free breakfast is tasty as well as the complementary wine and cheese each evening.
We are coming back to Charleston and when we do, this is the place to stay. Great value for your money.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetlag66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear jetlag66,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope your travels back to beautiful Maryland were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The French Quarter Inn deserves the applause it continually receives. This small 45 room hotel operates the entire facility as a "concierge" floor. Enjoy the deluxe continental breakfast, the afternoon wine, cheese and fruit and end the day with warm cookies and milk. Superior staff, bright, helpful and knowledgeable.
While we were there, during the second week in January, a small army of contractors and tradesmen were gutting and modernizing 16 guest bathrooms...probably the only part of the hotel that needed a little updating.
We will be back next January when it is very cold at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear sjf09,

I hope your travels back to New York were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, we cannot wait for all the new bathrooms to be ready too!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#11 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing