We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Special Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My sisters and I recently celebrated a special birthday in Charleston, SC, at the French Quarter Inn. From the moment we arrived, we were recognized as "the sisters" and were constantly asked, "So which one is celebrating a birthday?". We felt like their only guests! They even shared the birthday news with restaurants as they made our reservations. From complimentary champagne at check-in to wine and cheese in late afternoon, the hotel strives to create a special experience for guests.The rooms are lovely (ours had a fireplace and terrace), and the location is in walking distance of great restaurants, sights, and shopping. Being in one of the most beautiful cities in America can only be topped by staying at one of its best hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJJAtlanta_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear JJJAtlanta_Georgia,

I hope all is well back in Atlanta! I am delighted we made "the sisters" stay a wonderful one, and your high praises really does keep the entire team ticking to be the best!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,419
    220
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
523
1,496
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was alittle unsure about booking this Hotel as we are a family with 3 children. Even though they are well behaved most of the time and the youngest is 11, I felt it might be to traditional for them. Well it was like a breath of fresh air we had been travelling down the east coast for a few weeks and getting a bit sick of feeling like a number or an incovience to some hotels. As soon as we arrived you could feel the difference. The room we were given was big and airy and had a fantastic bathroom. One you could move in and not hit yourself on a wall. The staff were friendly and helpful and provided afternoon tea, constant access to drinks and breakfast the next morning. It felt like we had come to visit a friends home not that we were a customer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear AussieNSW,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Sydney were pleasant! We love how you felt it was like visiting a friend's home...we strive for that sort of hospitality. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very clean rooms.
Helpful front desk.
Very prompt valet.
Decent continental breakfast, fresh cookies at night a nice touch.
Walking distance to tons of good restaurants.

I will probably book at their sister property Harborview Inn next time as is it seems to have the same amenities but is on the water and in walking distance to this hotel.

My complaint is their very soft beds, would have received a 5* but for the beds.

stayed in October.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear WTPR,

I hope your travels back to New York were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy our mattresses. I will certainly be honest and tell you that we have had some similar feedback, and we are looking into options of firming the beds. I am glad to read that y'all enjoyed our other amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This location is close to everything you'd want to do in Charleston. Sandwiched between the best restaurants and shopping. The famous market is right across the street from the hotel. The restaurant is about 1.5 half blocks away. The battery and the harbor (gorgeous views) is less than a 7 minute walk away.

Any tour you could ask for (walking, carriage, etc.) all depart within a 5 minutes walk away from the hotel.

Our room itself is gorgeously appointed with comfy beds, options for pillows (they have an extensive pillow menu...how fancy), gorgeous furnishings, flat screen tv, granite and tiled bathroom...I could go on!

Breakfast is part of the hotel amenities every day and can be delivered to the room for free. As part of our honeymoon, we opted to take breakfast in the room on most days of the week.

The hotel is smaller and the staff are empowered to be excellent in terms of service. It did not matter whether it was the front desk, valet or room service, EVERYONE was of excellent service. Not only were they of service, they were warm and endearing. Our six nights there were some of the best I've ever had on a vacation.

The worst thing about this place, is that they'll ruin you for any other hotel stay. They set a very high bar.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center here, but running on the battery is a great substitute. It is a very ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aidil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Aidil H,

Wow! We are all so delighted here at the Inn to read your high praises, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope all is well back in beautiful Durham!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here in October. It is very central so you don't need a car to get around and see all the sights. Very pleasant room (I think it must have been one of the smaller ones as we did not have a balcony or sitting area), spacious bathroom and we particularly enjoyed the daily coffee/refreshments/, wine and cheese in the evening and of course, all those M&M's!

While there obviously is no pool or spacious outdoor areas, there is a pretty little patio for an al-fresco experience.

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jennyx,

Yes ma'am, October is an amazing time of the year in the Lowcountry! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope all is well back in beautiful San Diego!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times over the years, and I was "blown away" this time as the staff and all the little extras made us feel like royalty. Every single person working there was smiling and calling us by NAME (amazing how they remember). The breakfast was amazing (way better than my previous visits) and included within the rate. Our room had a view of Charleston that was worth the price itself. I must admit the bathrooms could use some upgrading now, but after chatting with the very polite Hotel Manager, it sounds like those are being upgraded very soon and they already sound world-class. Simply put, this hotel keeps getting better!! I cannot wait for next fall!

Room Tip: 301 was our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Kristina S,

I hope the beautiful Boulder is treating you well! I visited Boulder for the first time last year and found it to be an amazing town--one of my all-time favorites. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We chose this hotel from trip advisor list of recommended places to stay. What a winner. We thought we were going to be there for 2 nights, but ended up staying 4. The entire staff made us feel as though we were at home....our room was a delight ...again just like home. The service was perfection. We hated to leave and I know that we will return.....we recommend this hotel and grade it a 10.

Room Tip: Every room is different. There are only 50 rooms. We had a room with a king size bed. Some rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Susan K,

I thank you for the 10 score! Your high praises are much appreciated by our entire team, and on behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing