We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Ditto"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“"Ditto"”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Almost not necessary to write a review; if you read (even some of) the previous ones, just about every superlative has already been mentioned. However, will add a few comments of my own.
Stayed at the FQI for four nights on a recent trip to Charleston. It was my first trip and my husband's first non-business trip in many years. Picked the Inn after reading the reviews on TA, and have to agree with everything already said.
Hotel is charming, small (which is a "must" for us), elegant, understated, classy and just perfectly run. E.g.: at breakfast on our first morning we saw a manager walking around the buffet table with a staff member (possibly her first day on the job), pointing out how the table should look, showing her how to properly place the silverware in their napkin cocoons (all nestled in and facing the same way). As he pointed out: "This is what separates us from the other hotels." This exacting attention to detail is obvious throughout the hotel.
There is only one negative, which can easily be fixed. That is the fact that the hotel's address (on Church Street) is NOT the place you need to be in order to check in! Therefore, if you are using a GPS to get there, as we did, you will find yourself at what is really the side of the hotel with no place to pull up in a car. The porte-cochere (entrance drive) is actually around the corner on a small side street. You need to drive past the stated address, and turn into what looks like an alleyway (forgot name, starts with an "L"). We discussed this with the manager; apparently this has been a problem for many people, so they are going to re-do their web site and put a "GPS" address in. But in the meantime, you can ask for the right street when you reserve.
That aside, the hotel is perfect. They poured us champagne while we were checking in. After one night the front desk staff greeted us like we were long-lost relatives at a family reunion; even the maids gave us huge smiles and hellos when we passed. And I'm sure it wasn't only us who got this treatment.
We did not need any help with restaurants, as we had pre-booked before we came. But they were most helpful in recommending a couple of tours and old houses to visit.
Late one night we had a minor problem with a sink that wouldn't drain, I called the desk and they sent one of the valets up within 5 minutes. I knew what to do for a temporary fix, but HE was the one who crawled under the sink and did it; the next day the plumber came while we were out and made the real repair. No fuss, no muss. Just real service.
Our room was on a corner, with a huge terrace with a wrought-iron table for four, plus other chairs with a small table between them. Unfortunately, we were so busy sightseeing (and eating!) that we barely used it; still it was a real plus. We did not manage the wine and cheese each evening, either, but I CAN attest to the fresh-baked cookies at night, not to mention the plain, raisin, almond and ham and cheese croissants each morning.
What more can I say?

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem to have terraces, but check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussbudget07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Fussbudget07,

I hope all is well back in New York! I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your stay so much! The ham and cheese croissants are my favorite too. In regards, to the address for the Inn, we are updating all web channels to give our actually front door address, and I must admit this can be a little confusing for incoming guests.

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,449
    223
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
528
1,518
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just came back from our anniversary trip to Charleston. We booked the French Quarter after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. Jenny made us feel right at home and helped us plan for all the wonderful places to eat and things to do. The bed was so comfortable, it was the icing on the cake after a fun filled day. Don't forget to place your order from the pillow menu. OMG! We just couldn't bring ourselves to leave and stayed an extra day. Treat yourself to the French Quarter Inn. It's worth every penny.

Room Tip: We liked 312 for a big bedroom and great view, but 201 was nice too with larger balcony and sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy and Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Cindy and Ted H,

Thank you for the great comments about our Inn; it really means a lot to the entire team to hear such high praises! I hope all is well in beautiful NC! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I attended a business meeting there recently and found the hotel and staff superb. Rooms are lovely, breakfast and refreshments available in the lobby were complimentary and very nice, valet parking (no charge) and a friendly, efficient staff. There are nice terraces and the location is fantastic for walking in the historic section of Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RednexTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear RednexTN

I am delighted to read that we made your stay for your business meeting a great one! I also hope all is well in beautiful Tennessee. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. The room was warm and a good size. We especially appreciated its location to the Charleston's attractions. The market is next door; the carriage stables are only a block; the restaurants we visited were never more than 2-3 blocks. Since the temp and humidity were both high we were glad to walk only a short distance back to the hotel, and after our two hour walking tour. Initially I preferred to spend less on a hotel but decided that the bountiful breakfasts, and the wine at 5 to 6:30, made the price more realistic. While we like to walk there were times our feet needed a little relief, and we took the bicycle taxi; that worked fine. It cost $4.50 per person for up to 10 minutes, or $9 plus tip per couple. But this added to my appreciation for the central location of the Inn. We especially enjoyed their courtyard for breakfasts and the wine hour. We'll return if we find ourselves in Charleston again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredHoosiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear RetiredHoosiers,

I am delighted to read your great comments about our Inn, and I hope all is well back in beautiful Indiana! It looks that y'all really enjoyed our great location, and many do admit that we have the best location in the best city of the world! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just returned from 4 days at French Quarter. Lovely hotel with a fantastic complementary breakfast, wine and chees in the afternoon and fresh cookies at night! The staff were wonderful and it is in a great location for shopping, restaurants and just strolling. Couldn't be more pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Paula B,

I hope y'all are well and safe back in New York. I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your stay so much and were so pleased! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My employer recently held a meeting in Charleston, SC at the French Quarter Inn. The experience was amazing, from the hotel decor to the friendly, helpful staff. The sales staff was one of the best I have ever worked with. There was never a detail that wasn't handled immediately and always with a smile. It is very centrally located in the Histroic District so dinner, shopping and sightseeing was just steps away. I even had a last minute request to transport the group to dinner and it was again handled with a smile. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the area for either business or pleasure....you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Phyllis T,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your meeting retreat so much! I am very proud of our Sales team, so I love to see them being recognized.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel rocks. Not only do they have free breakfast every morning, but they also have wine, cheese, fruit and crackers every day at 5. And to top off that experience, if you are around at 8pm, you'll also get fresh baked cookies and milk. SOOOO, that was the first amazing part of this hotel. The second amazing part is the fact that their beds are THE most comfortable beds i've ever slept in. The pillows are like mini love cradles for my head, and the sheets felt like butter. AMAZING. To top everything off, we had a killer room. The room was huge on its own, but we also lucked out and had our own huge private terrace. We could bring all of the above snacks back to our room and eat them in private!!
BEST HOTEL. oh, and the staff is amazing as well. They were super helpful and really sweet.

Room Tip: I had room 213. expensive, but WELL WORTH IT. private terrace, and in the corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreenstringbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear mreenstringbean,

We are absolutely thrilled and honored that we are the "best hotel you have ever stayed in!" It truly keeps our entire team motivated and dedicated to our commitment to excellence, and it means so much to us when we are recognized for our hard work. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. I hope all is well back in beautiful California, and we hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,028 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing