We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bravo to the French Quarter Inn!”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Little Silver, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bravo to the French Quarter Inn!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My stay this past weekend at the French Quarter Inn was the best hotel experience I've had to date. The Inn is charming as well as spotless, and the staff was warm, welcoming and very helpful. After being greeted with champagne, our room was upgraded to a suite, which was lovely. We enjoyed the daily continental breakfast, wine and cheese and cookies and milk. The front desk managed to get reservations for every restaurant we picked and gave spot on directions to everywhere we wanted to go. The location is great, close to Market St., the finest restaurants and just a few blocks from the harbor. Stay here and you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear M P,

I am honored that we were the best hotel experience you have ever experienced, and I hope all is well back in New Jersey! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,538
    232
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
552
1,574
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the French Quarter Inn for our honeymoon. The room was amazing and the terrace was great for breakfast and relaxing in the evening. We even had massages on the terrace! The staff was very helpful in setting up tours and anything else we needed. Not the cheapest place to stay, but it is so worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large terrace and jacuzzi tub, overlooking the market if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Cory H,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Raleigh! I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed your massages overlooking Charleston. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had the most wonderful time at this Hotel. Although a little pricey, it was definitely worth the cost. From all day coffee and tea, evening cheese, crackers and wine, to even warm cookies and cold milk before bed. Not to mention the choice of pillows. Room was large and bed very comfortable. In the historic district, so we were able to walk the streets and shop, sight see and dine. I would highly recommend this Hotel. It was our first trip to Charleston, but definitely not our last. We will be going back for more pampering.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Linda P,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Beverly Hills, and I am delighted to read that y'all enjoyed our Pillow Menu! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Modern conveniences combined with authentic Southern charm renders this hotel my pick for any visit to Charleston SC. Located in the historic district, it is easy walking distance to any restaurant or historical landmark. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. Coffee service stations are located just outside your hotel room door in the morning so you don't have to hunt for your first cup! (5 stars just for that little touch). Complimentary wine/cheese in the late afternoon and free breakfast service both offered in the lobby. Great terrace for relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragrantlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear fragrantlight,

"The best in Charleston...!" Wow, we are honored by your kind words and high praise! I hope your travels back to Las Vegas were pleasant and uneventful, and on behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay! You are greeted with a glass of champagne which you can take onto the terrace to sip. There is a wine and cheese hour, before you head out to dinner, and evening cookies at the end of the day. An excellent continental breakfast is also complimentary, and there is always tea, coffee and juice and candies in the sitting area attached to the outdoor terrace. The rooms are exquisite and the beds very comfortable. The staff were helpful with suggestions for dinner, and places to visit. Alas, it is not inexpensive, but well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Elizabeth R,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Vancouver! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at the French Quarter Inn for several days. We have stayed at so many hotels in Charleston over the past several years, but this one tops them all. The amenities that are offered, continental breakfast, wine and cheese happy hour, even cookies at bedtime are just added extras to top off the lovely rooms and the friendly and accommodating staff. This one is a real jewel, tucked away in the most convenient area of town. I know this will be the only place we will stay in the future. Anyone visiting Charleston should spend a little extra and get so much more by staying here. It really is very special.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the Market. It was fun to watch the day "wake up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmr57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear rmr57,

I hope your trip back to our nation's capital was pleasant and uneventful! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a great place to stay while in Charleston. All the comfort and luxury of a 4 Diamond hotel overlooking the Marketplace. Complimentary Champagne on arrival; afternoon wine, cheese & snacks; evening cookies, milk, tea & coffee; and breakfast. Breakfast did not have any hot items other than toast/bagels, but a lot of variety and quantity. Will definitely stay here on our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear frequentBandB,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Florida, and we look forward to welcoming y'all back too! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,141 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 62 in Charleston
2,017 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 62 in Charleston
1,395 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#7 of 62 in Charleston
438 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 62 in Charleston
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing