We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Weekend!!! The BEST place to stay in Charleston!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Weekend!!! The BEST place to stay in Charleston!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had the most amazing weekend at the French Quarter Inn! From the minute we checked in to the time we checked out, everything was perfect. We had the essentials package that gave you gift certificates to different attractions and restaurants-well worth the price!

The room was beautiful and we had a giant balcony that was perfect for hanging out on and eating breakfast on each morning.

All the snacks in the lobby and the wonderful breakfast and happy hour were a lot of fun, not to mention, DELICIOUS!!!

You have to try the pillow menu-so much fun to check out a different pillow each night. :)

A big shout out to Mike and Jenny and the front desk for all of their help and advice!!!

We had the best weekend and can't wait to go back!!!

Thanks agin from the girls in Room 213!!! :)

Room Tip: Any room is great, but the balconies are awesome!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edandmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear edandmer,

Your comments about us are most appreciated by everyone here especially by Mike and Jenny who says hello! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,419
    220
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
523
1,496
39
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here back in November of 2011 and absolutely loved this inn!!! Great benefits of staying with the French Quarter Inn include: Free continental breakfast that can be brought up to your room, free M&Ms and Jelly Belly's in lobby, free champagne and lady fingers everyday at 3pm, daily wine and cheese reception, and fresh baked cookies and milk every night!! We loved our room it was amazing! we are returning to Charleston but are trying to save money so booked another hotel... Definitely will be returning soon though! Great location!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Caitlin B,

We are honored that you regard us as the best in Charleston. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were planning on staying at the French quarter inn all week but the room was tiny and the "oversized bathroom" was the size of a regular holiday inn bathroom. The hotel was situated in what felt like an alley. The only decent thing about this hotel was the breakfast delivered to your room with such little space though, there was hardly any room to eat it. Needless to say, we stayed one night. Will not be back and will not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheriseslish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Cheriseslish,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review. Unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here. Please call me at 843.724.4340 to discuss you stay.

In regards to the inn, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities; in fact, I trust that you would be highly pleased with some of the inn’s upcoming improvements. We recognize that there are great properties in Charleston and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome y’all back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham

General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

From the welcome at the door by the valet who parked our car, to the lady who served the wine and cheese in the afternoons, every person we met who worked in this hotel was warm , friendly and knowledgeable. Our suite was spacious and the beds incredibly comfortable especially with the pillows we chose from the 'pillow menu'

Special mention must go to Michaela on reception who helped us sort out a wireless connection on our phones/ipad, a minor problem with our TV that was due to our ignorance rather than an actual problem and pointed us to the box of DVDs we could borrow for free.

The turndown service in the evening was special and welcome and cookies and mild before bedtime was lovely.

Excellent in every way :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Robo37,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I will make sure to acknowledge Michelle's great service efforts; I love the DVD drawer too!

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

For the cost of the rooms, we were very disappointed with the amenities and services provided by the hotel. While it is true that the hotel enjoys the perfect location and provides a variety of food services in the lobby, it is lacking. We were staying at the hotel while attending a wedding weekend in Charleston, so we could not enjoy the the wine and cheese/cookies and milk options. We had no champagne at check-in. There is no swimming pool or workout facility which we wrongly assumed would be there. Further, the rooms are "tired". The bath has a single sink, shower/tub combo, and a very old bed. We did not have maid service during the day on Saturday and returned at 2:30 to find a room that had not been touched since our departure at 9:30. Yes, we have stayed in hotels that were worse, but not at this price or with this reputation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lily2727_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Lily2727_11,

It is with my sincerest apologies that we did not meet all of your expectations and it is with sadness and regret that my team was not able to sense your discontent and offer their personal service resolution. Furthermore, I do greatly appreciate your honesty and opinioned review.

In regards to the inn, we stay 100% committed to continually enhancing our facilities; in fact, I trust that you would be highly pleased with some of the inn’s upcoming improvements. We recognize that there are great properties in Charleston and we are completely dedicated to frequent improvements of our facilities and amenities so that we may strive to meet and exceed every guest’s expectations.

I hope you are able to visit us again as it would be a pleasure to welcome y’all back and to demonstrate our commitment to service excellence. Please contact me directly if you are planning a visit to the area again, and do not hesitate to contact me if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham

General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We arrived late in the evening after having driven about 10 hours and were greeted warmly by the desk staff who made sure to answer our questions and show us some candy and cookies which were available in the lobby. The room was beautiful; indeed, I took some pictures to send to family and friends in FL and NY.
In the morning, I was greeted with the newspaper and treated to a free and sumptuous breakfast, while recognizing I was only seconds away from the market. Later in the afternoon,I had some wine and cheese before feasting on a true southern dinner.To finish up the evening, I indulged in the cookies and milk which are also available in the lobby in the evenings!

This is a FABULOUS hotel and I cannot imagine a better place to stay in such a beautiful city. No doubt, I will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsie027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear babsie027,

I am so glad to read that you found us to be FABULOUS! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were so lucky to find this hotel for our last minute trip to Charleston. A friend recommended it, and I'm so happy he did. The location is one of the most convenient in Charleston--directly in the center of the Market, within walking distance to all of the tourist sights, shopping, and best restaurants Charleston has to offer. The complimentary champagne at check in was an unexpected but welcome treat after a long drive. We also arrived during the hotel's complimentary afternoon wine and cheese tasting, which was an additional perk. The valet was so friendly and accommodating, as he unpacked the car, hurried up to the room with our luggage, and left the car at the front door for us when we told him we needed to change clothes quickly to make it in time for an event. When I realized I had forgotten my lint roller, the concierge was happy to provide me with one. When we arrived back at our room for the night, some delicious chocolate had been left for us on the night stand. :) The complimentary breakfast each morning was delicious. I had the hard boiled eggs, a wonderful croissant, and a pastry. The terrace breakfast setting was truly romantic and so Charleston. Our room was perfect--clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds, plenty of closet space and hangers, and a nice sized bathroom with extra towels. The coffee and tea bar on each floor was another unexpected but wonderful addition to the unique, well thought out amenities of this hotel. Overall, the feel of the hotel (and its guests) was upscale, yet extremely friendly and approachable. I have stayed in many other high end hotels, and the French Quarter Inn successfully elicits luxury without being stuffy, and the staff exudes the charm and hospitality for which Charleston is so renowned.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ackerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Ackerly,

Wow! I am delighted to read all of your wonderful comments about our inn! The team here will love reading your kind words. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming hotel, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Remember to “Like” us on Facebook to stay connected with exclusive offerings and current French Quarter Inn enhancements. Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family.

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing