We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Romance”
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Southern Romance”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

It's worth the price. The lobby and patio are so pretty and elegant, and our room was spacious and lovely. We even had a computer with printer in a little alcove, and a large bathroom (and this is just the standard room w/ King bed). The champagne on arrival, wine and cheese in the evening, cookies at night, and chocolates w/ turn down service are all marvelous, and the continental breakfast is good, if not as special. The restaurant Tristan is quite pricey, but we had a drink and dessert in the bar that was not. The dessert (chocolate pot de creme) was a work of art. Also the hotel's central location allowed us to walk to restaurants, shops, churches, the city market, and even the "South of Broad" neighborhood less than a mile away. My only quibble is that the bed was too hard and left my back achy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbanks8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Your lovely compliments are greatly appreciated and we have passed your compliments of Tristan on to the chef. Our apologies about the firmness of the mattress, we will be replacing our mattress in January, which should ensure your comfort for your next visit. See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,517
    230
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
544
1,564
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

spacious rooms, elegantly decorated. huge bathroom. both continental breakfast and evening wine were generous and delicious. central location, as close as possible to historic district. very pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmumms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your gracious review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the world. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and our team. We look forward to your next trip to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

When you pay a little extra, you expect a little more. We got a lot more.
The ambiance and service were beyond compare. Special little touches
were everywhere. The afternoon wine, cheese and fruit was a nice touch
as was a lovely breakfast buffet. Also a great location in Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
The little extras are what we are all about. Our dedicated team works diligently to ensure that all that we offer is exactly what are guests are looking for. Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed them all. We hope to welcome and pamper you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This trip was for pleasure purposes only. We celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary here and wanted to enjoy each other with some simple fun! Very beautiful hotel. Very quiet. The rooms are huge. Each guest was given champagne upon arrival. Breakfast was included. The staff was very professional and helpful. The most amazing part was the small balcony. Even though it was small it gave us a place to have some fresh outdoor come to the beautiful inside. We watched stars for most of the night. the bathrooms are a girls best friend. The cookies and milk at night were my husbands best friend. LOL
They were able to suggest different activities for us to do while we were in Charleston. May I suggest the carriage rides. They are amazing. Thank you to the front desk clerks. They were awesome. I shall return soon!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Congratulations on your 1st Wedding Anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. The Juliette balconies, as we call them, are a wonderful addition to the King Business Suites and perfect for star gazing over the Charleston skyline on a beautiful evening. Thank you for sharing your thoughts of the French Quarter Inn with us. We hope to celebrate many more years with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This was my second time at The French Quarter Inn. Both times I/we have had a great experience. I love the location as it is convenient to everything but not on noisy streets like some of the hotels in Charleston. Both times that I have stayed here, I have not heard any street noise at night. I can't say this for other hotels in Charleston. The FQI is about 2 blocks from all the shopping on King Street. All the restaurants are a 5 minute walk or less from here. The battery is about a 10 minute walk from the FQI.
The staff are always very friendly and make great restaurant suggestions. I love the wine and cheese at 5 every afternoon. It is a nice spread and I have to remind myself to not fill up on wine and cheese so I can save room for dinner. My son is a college student in Charleston and loves the cookies and milk that the hotel offers every night. I will definately come back here on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladybug30004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you for your gracious compliments and lovely review. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us again and we hope to be your home away from home whenever you visit your son. Our location is definitely one of our favorite assets, with everything within walking distance you can truly take advantage of the beautiful streets and stroll easily to dinner, shopping, or touring. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We loved the French Quarter Inn. Very refined, definitely French Quarter inspired decor. Wonderful service!!!!! From the minute we were greeted at the car everything was effortless. As we checked in we were given a glass of Champagne and they booked our private carriage tour for us. Loved the breakfast in the morning being offered in either your room or lounge. Loved the coffee carts on each floor throughout the day as well as the elegant beverage area in the lounge offering iced tea and lemonade. The afternoon wine and cheese reception was perfect after walking all day and prior to getting ready for the evening. We order our preferred pillows and enjoyed the suite with a large bathroom. We had a small balcony that we enjoyed people watching from. Location was excellent!! Close to the Market yet quiet. There literally isn't one bad thing to say! We really enjoyed the French Quarter Inn!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tkgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We are overjoyed that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review and share your gracious compliments with us. We love being able to offer the complimentary breakfast delivery service. It’s a great way to start the day, especially if you have a beautiful private balcony to enjoy it on, but the full spread is always available in the lobby with the large patio to mingle with other guests on. Either way, the day will definitely start great! We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After reading all the great reviews we decided on the French Quarter Inn for our recent stay in Charleston. The hotel lived up to the hype. Rather then echoing all the previous remarks on how wonderful the hotel is and the perfect location, We'd like to say thank you to Glori at the front desk. She was super helpful and seemed genuinely concerned that we had the best time possible. She booked our ghost tour for us {got us a discount somehow} made restaurant and plantaion recomondations and gave great directions. She was warm and friendly and had a good sense of humor. Truly an asset to the hotel.
Go to Charleston, stay at the FQI, say hi to Glori, you'll have a blast!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottECt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
You have brought a very large smile to Glori’s face. She greatly appreciates your lovely compliments of her and the service she provided. Thank you, on behalf of Glori and the French Quarter Inn team. We excited that Glori could be so helpful with all that you wanted to do and that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,104 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
1,997 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
416 reviews
Planters Inn
#11 of 61 in Charleston
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Property: French Quarter Inn
Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401-3125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#5 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing