We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lounge”
Review of Thoroughbred Club

Thoroughbred Club
Ranked #107 of 910 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Thoroughbred Club serves cocktails, tapas/appetizers and desserts.Live entertainment is available every day. A perfect atmosphere for a bridal shower or an afternoon get together, the tea service at the Thoroughbred Club was voted "Best Tea in the South" by Southern Living Magazine.
Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lounge”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Short walk from our hotel we encountered the lounge in the Charleston Place center. The lounge opens up to the lobby I assume of The Charleston Place. It is a beautiful lobby and was still decorated for Christmas. Enjoyed drinks while waiting for the midnight hour! Our server was very friendly.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    56
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty good bar food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The one facility in Charleston Place hotel that was still open at 10:30 PM was a pretty good choice. I had three tapas plates that were quite delicious and filling. The bar tender was efficient and friendly. I enjoyed it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank namsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Level Contributor
819 reviews
572 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“a bar with historic charm and ridiculous prices”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My friends and I went to the Thoroughbred Club twice during our weekend stay at the Charleston Place Hotel. The first time, we only went for drinks. They had some original cocktails, but not that many. My friend ordered a French 75, but the bartender did not know how to make it. That's somewhat of a known drink, but at a place like this where those old-school drinks seem to fit the bar, we were surprised -- and a bit let down -- that he had to look it up in a mixology book to learn how to make a French 75.

The second time, we went with a bunch of friends and had food as well as drinks. The chicken wrap was good, but like everything at the Thoroughbred Club, it was wildly overpriced. We learned that even if something is not on the limited bar menu at Thoroughbred Club, if it's within normal eating times, you can get some of the dishes from the Charleston Grill restaurant next-door.

Overall, the Thoroughbred Club is an old-school bar establishment, and that fits within the overall historic charm of the Charleston Place Hotel. At the same time, there are some other great bars and cocktail clubs around Charleston, so there really is no excuse for the Thoroughbred Club to charge such ridiculously high prices. It had normal prices, I'd probably recommend a drink here, but with all the other options so close to this restaurant, I would probably not recommend this bar.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jg325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tapas and Cocktails.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Family checked in to the hotel, and needed somewhere to unwind after a long drive. This place was perfect. The Lamb Chop lollipops and Scallops are a must.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drinks!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I ate there twice and both times, the food was simply the best! You have to try the seafood! The scallops just melt in your mouth...and the IPA (is it IPA?) local draft beer is worth trying. YUMMO!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank funkydread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thoroughbred Club also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Thoroughbred Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing