We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location to see everything in Charleston” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location to see everything in Charleston”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

I'm from Charleston originally, but stayed there last month as we left for a Carnival cruise out of Charleston.

Outstanding location, right across the street from the trolly stop (that hits everywhere you'd want to go), also right beside children's museum. A few blocks from Jestine's and other great resteraunts.

Breakfast was great, but crowded. Pay for parking kinda stunk, but that's common in Charleston. Lot was adjacent to hotel.

It's what you'd expect of a Hampton Inn + a great location. Don't pay $100 for "downtown" location...this is as downtown as you need!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinahrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    619
    191
    63
    25
See reviews for
503
754
57
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond VA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

We had a great time at this hotel. Few minutes after check-in the front desk called to make sure we were satisfied with our accomodations. We traveled with a child in a wheelchair and the hotel staff allowed us to park overnight in one of the pick/drop parking spaces instead of the adjacent parking lot. There is only one disabled parking space in front of the hotel. Hotel is one block across the Visitor Center, Children Museum and Charleston History Museum. Several great restaurant less than 5 minutes walk. Great hot/cold complimentary breakfast. One complaint. Both computers in the business room were not working, not sure what was the problem. Overall great experience at this hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank cbaeza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

I'm a Diamond with Hilton so you can trust this review.

I have stayed at this property on several occasions and it has always provided a nice atmosphere and quality stay. The location and price make it a good value, but the charge for parking can hurt your wallet.

The Fitness room is nice, breakfast is usually busy but done well. The rooms are average don't expect anything historic. If your room has a back door it is a bit shabby in construction based on the rooms I have stayed in.

I suggest walking over to Coast for dinner or if you want to watch the game and have a beer a few blocks down is Kickin Chicken.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealBillBrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for 3 nights the week of Aug 9th and I really wasn't that impressed. When traveling with the family, we almost exclusively stay at Hampton Inn and I have to say that this one was average at best in comparison to other Hampton Inns.
The rooms are rather plain and dated and could using a little cleaning and updating. However the linens and towels were clean.
Service was terrific! We had reserved a specific room type with fridge. I had called the morning of our arrival to confirm our request, however when we arrived a few hours later, our requested room was not available. The manager on duty overheard my conversation with the clerk and he immediately said, he believes there is a room available which is not in the system but he would go check it and see if it's available and ready. A few minutes later, he came back and said the room was available. It was on the 5th floor and when I stepped off the elevator the oppressive heat hit me in the face! But our room, was nice and cool, a tad bit musty and without a fridge. We called down the front desk and within 10 minutes a fridge was delivered.
I read how the previous week there were issues with the AC. Given that temps hit 100 during our stay, it was critical that we have AC. Our room did stay cool, however quite damp - thus the musty odor.
Would I stay here again? Probably not. There are so many other great hotels, similiar price range in better locations that I would check those out first.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g35girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullowhee, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

After a lot of research of Charleston hotels, we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn in the Historic District, due to the convenience location to the downtown area and excellent previous experiences at Hampton Hotels accross the country. Our experience at this hotel came very close to completely ruining our entire vacation.
When we checked in, the air conditioning in the hotel was not working, but we were assured that it would be back up and running before the end of the day. The repairs were made the next day, so we spent our first night in a very hot and humid room. All of our clothes and belongings were wet and soggy the next morning and we were very uncomfortable. There were mouse droppings under the sink in the kitchenette area, and the hallway light in our room was burnt out. I called and reported the burnt out light and requested a fan be sent to our room. Neither request was taken care of. On the last night of our stay, the air conditioning went out again. The heat index outside was close to 120 degrees and it was actually more comfortable outside of the hotel than it was inside. It was 87 degrees in our room and the walls were actually wet with condensation. As you can imagine, all of these things had a very negative impact on our family vacation that we had planned and looked forward to for months in advance. At this time I would not even remotely consider returning to this hotel.
The one positive experience that we had at this hotel was in dealing with the staff who exhibited the utmost professionalism and courtesy. Everyone who we had contact with on the staff were great, especially a gentleman named Henry, who my 2 year old daughter fell in love with. I can guarantee that Henry does not get paid nearly what he is worth. Also, the manager, was a great help and should be commended for his customer service and great attitude. Unfortunately, we left this hotel very disappointed and angry, instead of with good memories of a fun family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shooter55220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

This Hampton Inn is in a safe part of Charleston but it is a 20 -25 minute hike to the market area. However, there are some great shops and restaurants on King Street, which is only a couple of blocks away, so you will not go hungry (or thirsty). The hotel itself is fairly old. Our room was quite large -- a queen bed, sleeper sofa, desk, etc. Several reviewers had problems with the lack of a/c in their rooms, whcih was not a problem we encountered but the hallway (5th floor) was kept at 85 degrees, for some reason (with locked thermostats). The heat just hit yoiu in the face when you opened your room door or came off the elevator. The room furniture has seen better days but everyhting was clean. Very comfortable bed. The pool was pretty nice (although they were out of towels) and the breakfast was fair. I'd recommend staying away from stuff that looked like scrambled eggs but didn't taste like them. All in all, the hotel was decent but I think I'd prefer to stay closer to the Battery.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillianLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

This was a very good choice for this area of Charleston. It is within walking distance to many restaurants, the Market District, and many historic sites, as well as the Children's Museum and the Museum of Charleston. The front desk staff were very efficient and helpful. They made arrangements for a tour for us which we got on across the street. The complimentary breakfast was just okay. I have had better at other Hamptons. The building is very old and there was a musty smell in the room, but not to bad. There is no parking, but the city garage is right next door and parking is $12.00 per day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conniej238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing