We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,400)
Filter reviews
2,400 results
Traveler rating
1,216
787
268
90
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,216
787
268
90
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center historic district free trolley great location john street king street music hall trolley stop parking garage within walking distance directly across the street free breakfast per day meeting street hotel is located the breakfast area would stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,400 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As usual the Hilton Hampton Inn does not disappoint and certainly not in the historic district of Charleston! Great hotel and great location!

Beautiful lobby, quiet rooms, nice entrance off non-busy street, and easy access to many good restaurants and other attractions.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Paradise601929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pool and area around the pool were dirty. We had to ask for towels each time we went to the pool. The area the hotel is in was perfect for us. The visitor's center and the shuttle stop was directly across from the hotel. The Charleston Museum was diagonally across fro the hotel too. King Street was just up 1 block, and there are many restaurants and bars along this street.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Jan S,

Thank you for your review. We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the conditions encountered with our pool, and we are working with our team to correct the problems and avoid recurrence going forward. Your feedback is genuinely helpful, as it is the first step in identifying areas where we can better our guest services. We are happy our location was perfect for you and if you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this property when an adjacent hotel was unacceptable. The staff was graceful and efficient getting us situated and the high service level continued throughout our stay. Can't say enough about them.

Although not too close to the more historic area S.O.B., it was walkable.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 33SST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to Charleston South Carolina for a musical event at the Gaillard hall..I wanted a hotel that was I the historical district and close to the concert venue. The Hampton Inn was one of the hotel that met that criteria. The Hampton Inn’s grounds is not typical for an Hampton inn. There is an enclosed courtyard with a pool and several sitting areas. The grounds were immaculate. The room was clean and nice. The location was within walking distance to downtown shopping and many restaurants. It is within walking distance to Gaillard Center. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was typical of the Hampton Inn. It was edible but nothing to write home about. The Hampton Inn has no parking spaces but it was next to a city parking deck. It cost me
twenty dollars a day to park..

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elgin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff and service were excellent and it was a nice location for touring the city. We liked the free breakfast and our room was very nice. The reason for 5 stars was the great help we got in knowing how to handle the disruptions to our plans from Hurricane Dorian. Staff was up to date on what was going on and have us great advice on when to get out son to the airport before needing to deal with the road reversals as we evacuated Charleston.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews