We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveler rating
1,109
743
245
82
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,109
743
245
82
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center free trolley historic district great location john street music hall king street trolley stop parking garage within walking distance directly across the street free breakfast meeting street per day the breakfast area would stay here again first floor
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

I stayed here for business and it was conveniently located near the conference, coffee shops, shopping and other attractions. My family also joined me and loved the pool and free breakfast. Spacious rooms and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robert!

Thanks for taking your time to leave such a kind message for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal complimentary breakfast we serve in the mornings as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will certainly be looking forward to seeing you guys back here with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Its a great location for downtown charleston. The property is outdated. Needs to be refurnished, tile, carpet, check-in, etc. Other properties nearby offer up to date environments and more positive atmosphere. The Pool is nice. Beds are too soft. Parking is $20 per night in the deck.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kevinforr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for taking your time to leave a constructive review for our hotel.
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
Despite the disappointment, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the company of our phenomenal location in the heart of downtown Charleston.
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future so we can make things right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Pros-Across the street from city bus terminal, which offers free bus service around the city; friendly, helpful staff. Cons- Small, dated rooms; non working ice dispenser on 4 th floor; spotty tv signal.

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielL12576, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Patricia,

Thanks for taking your time to leave a thorough and constructive review!
First of all, we are so sorry to hear that our hotel failed to live up to your expectations during your recent visit to Charleston - whilst our apologies will regrettably not alter the outcome, we do appreciate your honest feedback as it helps us to identify and address the issues that may have gone unnoticed by our staff and management and to make necessary adjustments.
We strive to provide the very best of both quality of your stay as well as customer service for our guests and the issues you have experienced during your stay with us are unacceptable to our standards.
We will make sure the problems are addressed as soon as possible with the appropriate parties.
Despite the disappointment, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the company of our phenomenal staff we have here with us whom we take a lot of pride in as well as our convenient location!
We hope you had a wonderful time visiting Charleston and we hope to see you back here with us again in the near future so we can make things right for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018

Traveled to Charleston for Labor Day weekend 2018 and this hotel was perfect for our stay. The location is perfect and the amenities are a plus (complimentary breakfast, gym, pool). I will definitely stay here again on a return trip!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank kajohnson422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Hi!

Thanks for taking your time to leave such a kind message for our hotel!
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything our hotel had to offer during your recent stay with us especially our phenomenal complimentary breakfast we serve in the mornings as well as our convenient location - we truly are located in the heart of Charleston historic district which is within walking distance from numerous local restaurants, shops and many other tourist attractions and we are glad to know you were able to take advantage of it!
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we will certainly be looking forward to seeing you guys back here with us in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

The Hampton Inn Historic Downtown Charleston was great! The location is perfect for walking around the downtown area and really close to shopping and dining. Rooms were very clean and comfortable and the garage is so convenient. Breakfast in the lobby was delicious and they offered a ton of hot food. Court yard and pool area is private and relaxing. The staff here is AMAZING!

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews