We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton inn - Downtown Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
wyckoff, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton inn - Downtown Charleston”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Attractive Hotel next to visitor center and free trolley to the major tourist venues of the city. Excellent service, spotlessly clean, and very friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was extensive and changed every day. The wi fi connection was the easiest I have encountered.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are so glad everything met your approval while you were here. We hope you will choose us again the next time you find yourself in Charleston. Thanks so much for your business and kind words about our hotel and the team that makes is all happen. We really appreciate both!

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    663
    210
    68
    29
See reviews for
562
804
60
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Rooms were very nice - loved the bedding & the free breakfast was great with lots of food choices. I was worried that being 7-8 blocks from the market would not be an ideal location but it was an easy walk! Very nice- we will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank 548cherylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are so pleased that you enoyed yout stay with us. Being right next doo to the free trolley service definitely helps if you don't want to walk as well. We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in Charleston.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Decent location right across from visitors center. About a mile walk to Market street or take the free bus. King street is a 2 minute walk. We were in a smoking room - yuck. There was definitely an odor. The carpet on our floor had a smell too. We would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
We are so very sorry that you did not have an amazing time with us. Perhaps you can reach out to me so I can look at your reservation history to see how you got a smoking room. We would have loved the opportunity to make this right for you while you were here.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights
.
Great location

- Not quite historic district but close enough
- Very safe and full of shop/restaurants; My teenage girls loved the location as they could walk into town and do some shopping while went for a bike ride with my son
- Great garden to relax with small pool
- We rented bikes and biked around Charleston - so much fun!

Breakfast - much better than usually served in similar hotels

Rooms - clean but dated. Wish the bed covers were cotton

Staff - very friendly especially the breakfast ladies

Overall a great option for a family, price location, room and service

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nb+kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The Hampton Inn Hotel in the Historic District of Charleston is a great hotel! The friendly front desk staff upgraded my family to the Ashley Room, which is very conveniently located next to the entrance and is double the size of a standard room! For being next to the lobby, the room was very quiet. The hotel breakfast was standard and offered outdoor seating in a courtyard. The hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the Historic District, right next to the Charleston Visitor Center and many restaurants. Parking is in the city garage, which is essentially attached to the hotel, and allows unlimited in and outs for hotel guests, though you can realistically walk everywhere downtown. I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank swimboy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your business and your reccomendation! Both are truly appreciated. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will return to see us again in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great location and very friendly and helpful staff. The parking was pricey and in another building with very slow elevators. For a Southern locale, there were no biscuits on the breakfast bar. The rooms were the standard you would expect in the Hampton Inn group and were very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Being a southern hotel, we might just look at having biscuits everyday. Currently we are following brand standards and have them when we servce sausage gravy, but being creative may be the way to go too. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is a perfectly acceptable hotel in a convenient location. Not in the middle of the historic district, on the edge, but still walkable. No frills, but has what you need. Free wifi in room is nice. Free breakfast is convenient. My only complaint was that my room had a musty smell.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for you review and your business. We are so very sorry your room did not smell fresh when you were here. We would have loved the opportunity to address that so your stay was flawless. We hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing