We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Historic Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were very satisfied with our recent stay at the Hampton Inn in the historic district of Charleston. We wanted to be able to walk around the historic district to shop and visit great restaurants. The hotel location was great for that purpose. The free city shuttle with a stop across the street from the hotel was extremely convenient. Our room was clean and well appointed, the staff were very friendly, and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We requested a quiet room and were well accommodated (except for the noise from the a/c fan). We would definitely stay there again, especially as the price was reasonable compared to other hotels in the historic district.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suz13051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,043 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here while visiting our college aged daughter for Easter weekend as it is close to her apartment. Convenient to Upper King Street restaurant scene and only about a 15 minute walk to the Market Street area. Typical value-oriented Hampton Inn experience with a small exercise room and outdoor pool and a breakfast that is more extensive than some other Hampton Inns in which we have stayed.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was thrilled with this hotel after checking out of the Marriott in Charleston because it smelled terrible and was in such disrepair. The Hampton is well located and very walkable. It was very clean and in excellent condition. The room is smaller but big enough. I was very happy with the size of the bathroom and the storage. Their free breakfast is always appreciated. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Hampton Inn Historic District is within walking distance of everything in Charleston. We found the location great for its' accessibility to sights, restaurants, shops, College of Charleston, etc.The hotel is older, but well kept. It is more charming than the traditional Hampton Inn. We had a larger room with a microwave and fridge. The larger room was nice to have. I saw some rooms looked much smaller. We were on the fourth floor.
The elevators were not airconditioned. They were very HOT and this was in April! The rooms and hallways were nice and cool. I am not sure why they don't aircondition the elevators. Parking is right next door and cost 16 dollars a day. We found Charleston to be a very nice city to spend a weekend and would definitely stay at the Hampton again. That being said, it was very expensive for a Hampton Inn. I believe it was 400. per night. We used hilton points. I was very surprised at the cost of the hotel. It was also a 10K race weekend and that may be why the prices were higher, but still, it was a Hampton inn!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our room was comfortable and very clean. Good light in both bedroom and bathroom. Nice courtyard. Location was terrific. Breakfast was adequate, the typical free offerings. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Gave excellent recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Probably our favorite items and the reason we would stay here again were the staff and the location.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The location is great just across from the Visitor's Center and the free trolley stop. Hotel is outstanding, very well appointed, clean rooms, great courtyard, breakfast was excellent, servers were efficient and very friendly. The bellman is a hoot!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Lonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for three nights in March. I would recommend this hotel. Pros: The room we had was quiet (although I could see how some might be noisy) and very clean. The beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel is excellent and we walked nearly everywhere. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very convenient. Parking is in a lot right next to the hotel ($16). It is not run by the hotel, but was very easy. Cons: The room seemed on the smaller side. The business center desktops were not working during our stay. The desk staff, while very nice and helpful, needs to present more professionally. Our room rate jumped by more than $100 on our last night - a Friday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishaNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 62 in Charleston
2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $157 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing