We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most value for money in Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
New Yorl, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most value for money in Charleston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Clean, reliable - lives up to the brand and great location. The atmosphere is friendly, and they gave us an upgrade to a suite which wasn't necessary but very much appreciated. It's also located near some of the best restaurants in Charleston. We will keep coming back to this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    633
    198
    64
    25
See reviews for
510
774
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Garden City NY
Level Contributor
230 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This Hampton Inn is a large building converted from another use. It is within walking distance of the historic places in Charleston, and near some great restaurants. The staff was friendly, especially Curtis the doorman who offered us some auto advice. Parking is next door in the Municipal garage ($16/night). The Hampton Inns are very reasonable in price, and we have found them to offer consistent levels of service around the country. The free breakfast has a lot of choices. Hilton should also offer breakfast at their Garden Inns for free. The only downside is that all the Hampton Inns appear to use a mix to make the scrambled eggs, so the egg-lover in our party turns up her nose. But you can't beat free English muffins, bacon, fruit, yogurt, cereal, coffee, juices. There is an outdoor pool. We came here twice in two weeks on a north-south-north auto trip. We had rooms on the top floor, and all was well there.

Room Tip: Higher floor worked for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

This is a great place to stay in Charleston because restaurants and shopping are within walking distance. Public Parking is next door and is affordable, about 16 dollars a day. The place like most Hampton Inns in big cities offers very comfortable rooms with convenient coffee machines in the room. This hotel also has complimentary interenet for guests. The breakfast bar was nice with cereals, fruit, eggs. comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank miabride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel was clean, service was very good.......street noise at night was loud, not conducive to sleep. Location was perfect for sight seeing. Resturatants were superb......hotel personel were courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
3 Thank ems919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for walking to everything in downtown Charleston. It was also located right across the street from the Visitors Center and the (free) trolley stop. The hotel was extremely clean, well appointed and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar had a fantastic selection every day. We would definitely recommend this Hampton Inn to anyone who visits Charleston

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a relatively well located hotel in Downtown Charleston. Our room was not at all well insulated from other room/toilet/hall noises/sounds. The parking deck which is adjacent to the hotel while very convenient is expensive and not affiliated with the hotel. In our opinion the hotel should find a much more Guest Friendly way to bill for this amenity. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so very sorry that you were disapointed with the parking situation at the hotel and I wish I had a way to change that. Being a city owned facility, we have to conform to their rules and they do not allow us to post the parking to your guest room. I was glad to see that the team here won praises from you as our goal is to make sure every guest leaves Charleston with fond memories of our city and even fonder of our staff. I hope you will consider us again for your travels to our city.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Message to reviewer five down who commented on the dust around the fire place. As we speak it is been cleaned so fear not the management do listen. We stayed here seven years ago and returned to walk around downtown , be amazed by the beautiful historic houses and dine in the local restaurants.
However it is -6c at the moment and the only thing we want to do is sit by this amazingly clean fire place (thanks to previous reviewer)
Other points about the hotel our room 532 fifth floor is non smoking however room across the hall is smoking and we can smell the smoke in the hall. Beds very comfy, bathroom small but adequate ,TV flat screen but slow in switching channels.
Lounge area vast , clean, ample free tea, coffee, hot chocolate, apples, bananas, news papers sitting areas, fitness centre and office suit with free internet access. Staff all smiling and helpfull.
Parking $16 at the hotel. Don't hold me to this but in our last stay we parked in the visitors centre across the street . It is attended 7.45 am to 2am , so if you take a ticket on entry and exit before 7.30 am it should be unattended and the barriers we hope lifted so no one to pay. I'll find out tomorrow and will edit if different .
Otherwise it's a fine hotel very central to downtown and good value .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review and your repeat business. Both are most appreciated!

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing