We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some management improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some management improvement”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was a return trip to this location, we have stayed there many times. We love the location and in general it was an okay visit. It just seemed that some small things needed more attention. Wrote a message on the soot covered fireplace surround because it needed to be cleaned. The night front desk person did not seem too interested in anything but staring at the computer, and I presume was playing games. Had to ask for hot water, and one evening there was no decaf coffee and no attempt by staff to correct this.. Also saw a "big" roach in the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymuggs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I am so very sorry to see the issues that you noticed when a guest here and I commit to you that I will personally look into each concern and correct them. Thanks so much for taking your time to post a review about your stay. It is with reviews like this that allow us an opportunity to address items we may not see as it is our goal to provide the best possible service and accomodations in the area.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    630
    196
    64
    25
See reviews for
508
769
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orange park, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Could not get room to warm up. Had some problems with panhandlers in vicinity of hotel. Parking is not free as at most Hampton Inns, but it is convenient. Charleston was undergoing a cold snap at the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wilson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Recently completed multi-night stay with family (two rooms). Not luxurious, but you don't expect that from Hampton. The things you do expect--reliability, consistency, functionality--were all delivered well. The facility was very well maintained. The location was the star--a short walk down Meeting Street to Charleston's many attractions. Also just off King Street at the border between the shopping district and the restaurant/bar district.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

By all means, consider the Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic district as a first choice when traveling to Charleston. The building, the location, the decor, and the staff are all way above average and a pleasure. I don't think the value that the Hampton Inn offers can be beat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although the amenities and staff were exellent, the constant noise made by the plumbing made sleep for my wife and I extremely difficult. It seemed as though anytime anyone in a 5 room radius used water, we were inundated with decibles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the noise disruptions you encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting the noise and maintenance issues. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Hotel location was very convenient. We left the car parked and walked or took the free shuttle located across the street to all the sights. Hotel room was clean and nicely furnished. We had end room (348) which was quiet, it had 3 windows and was bigger than other rooms and a nice courtyard view. The bathroom was very small, but clean. Good breakfast, 3 elevators and 2 computers in business center- so no waiting. Very reasonable rates when compared to others in French Quarter or downtown area. Friendly staff all around-We'd stay again.

Room Tip: end of hall, and even number for courtyard view
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeteT088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
183 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Across the street from the visitors center, Charleston museum , and the free trolley stop. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Must pay to use parking garage that's basically connected. Very clean and well maintained. Easy walk to great restaurants and shopping. We found the city easy to get around in and not use a car. Parking can get to be expensive and a bother. People in city very friendly and just start talking to everywhere. Being from the Northeast we had to get used to this. Have to say I could get used to it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank bph19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing