We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Excellent downtown location in the historic district.
The Hotel staff is friendly and eager to by is assistance. The room was clean and beds comfortable.
Good breakfast though a little behind our expectations after reading certain reviews.
We have no complaint regarding $14 parking fee for 24 hours.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,340 - 1,346 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just got home from a weekend getaway in Charleston. Stayed at the Hampton Inn due to its location, price and reviews that it got here on TA. Really a great hotel. Located in the historic district, within walking distance of great restaurants on King Street and just a short walk from everything else. Parking was simple and the beds were very comfortable. Nice selection at the complimentary breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend staying here. Helped that it did not break the bank either!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palmtreegirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Of the 3 Hilton Properties in the historic district this is the nicest and best one. I've stayed in the Doubletree and Embassy Suits and I will return to the Hampton Inn. It shares the same parking garage as the Embassy Suits and is located by some great restaurants and shopping. It is not close to the straw market but it is walkable to the market. If this were my first trip to Charleston I might opt to stay in the heart of the historic district but I enjoyed staying a little away from the congestion.

I am a Hilton Diamond member (>40 nights a year in a Hilton) and this hotel is my choice for Hilton's .

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank atravis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just returned from a recent stay at this hotel. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Charleston. Everyone working at the hotel was so friendly and I definitely felt that Southern hospitality. Breakfast was free and there was a pretty good selection of food everyday(I love the waffle maker). Juice, water, tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available 24hrs a day in the lobby which I loved. Every evening they put out warm chocolate chip cookies which were delicious but disappeared pretty quickly. Hotel is across the street from the visitor center and all 3 trolleys have stops right near the hotel(use these to get around the city). King Street, an area with restaurants and shops, is a block away. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Charleston.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor that opens up to the courtyard.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wrldtravler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hotel was clean, breakfast included in the rate. The staff was SUPER...and you cannot get a better location, for the price. Two blocks from King Street and a stop for the free trolley across the street. The rooms were small as expected from a Hampton Inn, but clean. No traffic noise since we were facing the pool. Originally a historical building that has kept a bit of its charm in the garden where you can sit to have breakfast (we did not have good weather so we could not enjoy it as much)
Parking is a bit of a problem, but the help of the staff makes up for it. Good Wifi in the room
I would recommend it as worth the price!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool...not the main street...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

It's hard to beat the location of this Hampton Inn, in the heart of downtown Charleston. It is very convenient for walking to many sites. But, the rooms are very small (being a Hilton Diamond member didn't seem to help). Unless you get a room facing the courtyard, traffic noise can be a problem. The parking arrangement is a bit odd: there is a garage adjacent to the hotel, but it is a public garage, so you have to pay separately (the charge can't be part of your room bill). Finally, the prices here mid-week are moderate, but it's very expensive on Friday and Saturday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard, to minimize noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here last night. This hotel is located in the heart of a popular restaurant/bar/grill district and within easy walking distance of several. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is understandably older since it is in an old building, as are most buildings in charming Charleston. I also found it be be clean and got a good nights rest. However, a few things are worthy of mention. The business office in this hotel is about the size of a phone booth, possibly a bit bigger but not much. Do not expect any privacy. The elevators are fitted with high wattage light bulbs that make you feel like you are being toasted in an oven. Management needs to move forward and dispose of these in favor of much cooler and lower energy use LEDs. Additionally, the room AC unit was noisy. Fortunately, I was tired enough to sleep through it.
There is no free parking here, unlike most of the Hampton's I have stayed at. Parking in the adjacent public parking lot is $14/day. I might stay here again, but I'd also look and see what other local hotels have to offer in this area.

Room Tip: There is no room service or "restaurant" but the traditional Hampton breakfast was provide...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPoloStarr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $178 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing