We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Day Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #26 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Mary, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three Day Getaway”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Staff was excellent, hotel was very clean, room was clean, comfortable and roomy (we had a king suite), location was great (we were in walking distance to many restaurants and shops), breakfast was adequate, but not outstanding, afternoon cookies was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    655
    208
    66
    27
See reviews for
547
796
60
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Snellville, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

As soon as we checked in we were treated to wine and chocolate by the wonderful desk agent, Raven, to celebrate our anniversary. The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. We enjoyed the cookies, coffee and tea available every day in the lobby. The garden and pool area were beautiful. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, antiques, great restaurants, bars, the Charleston Aquarium, The Market and lots of other great things to see and do. The Visitor Center & free trolley is across the street. The parking, next to the hotel, is a city-owned deck, but is safe, secure and monitored 24/7. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful and had lots of suggestions when asked about restaurants in the area. One of the best, Coast, is right next door to the hotel. You can't beat the price of this hotel considering where it's located either. Worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serierville, TN, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Would consider this the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. Staff and facilities were beyond expectations. They were always helpful and extremely pleasant at all times. Complimentary breakfast was one of best that we have experienced and we plan on making this Hampton our place to stay on any return visits to Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norquay Sask Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a good stay while visiting Charleston. Staff is friendly and are very willing to help you out whether it is to find a good restaurant etc. The room was a wheelchair accessible room and therefore was quite large in comparison to average hotel rooms. The bed was comfy and the sleep was like you would have on your bed at home. The Breakfast: very nice, lots of variety, and they changed their hot menu every morning. Lots of seating for breakfast either in or out by the pool. Hot beverages, juices, milk and fresh fruits are available all day long in the main foyer. Bonus was being so close to the free trolley that runs to the city market and all around downtown. Runs every 15 minutes so if you didn't feel like walking you didn't have to.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 338, it was over the pool and courtyard. Very nice spot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kohanicah04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Would Strongly suggest to stay her when in Charleston. Rooms were Good, Courtyard was pretty and the hotel is centrally located to King Street for great Restaurants and shopping as well as a 10 minute walk to Market Street.
The Breakfast , which is included is Very Good and surprisingly abundant. Coffee served all day as well. So Glad we decided to book here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed at this Hotel before. The location and amenities are great. We were a short walk away from the visitors center, transportation and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My sister and I stayed here recently and found our room to be spacious and clean. We couldn't adjust the thermostat though and it got a little warm in our room. This wasn't a huge problem in late October but could be in August! Great breakfast included in the price which was very reasonable for a down-town hotel. It's located directly across from the Visitor center and free trolley stop but is a decent walk from the City Market, Waterfront park and below Broad area. We walked back from an evening tour( which met at the Court House) along Meeting street around 10: 30 pm on a Tuesday night and it was a long walk and pretty deserted at that time of night.A little creepy for 2 women. Next time I would walk along King St. However, it's very close to the Aiken-Rhett house and some cool restaurants on King Street and the college campus. Go to Pane and Vino for Italian and Juanita Greenberg's for Mexican both of which are less than 5 minutes from the hotel. Also the beds are super comfy!!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the courtyard. We had a first floor room which opened in the courtyard. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing