We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The staff was very kind and helpful. Upon check-in we were unexpectedly upgraded! We had a very nice corner room with a sleeper sofa. Fun eating nearby and the desk staff was knowledgeable about them. Rooms were clean and quite. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,411 - 1,417 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is well kept, the staff is exceptionally pleasant and helpful and the price was reasonable considering the location.
Nice short walk to shopping, dining and general sight seeing, in fact there is a trolley stop right across the street for the free trolley.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location to experience the historic Charleston. The staff was amazing! The room was pretty expensive, but we went on a holiday weekend. I would pay it again considering the location and the great service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My girlfriend and I went to Charleston for a day of Tourism. We were both EXTREMELY Satisfied with the cleanliness of our Room. The Staff there were very nice and very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was OUTSTANDING! For the location and price of this Hotel, you cannot beat it! We would definitely return to this Hotel again if we are ever in Charleston.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just returned from our latest trip to Charleston and stayed at the Hampton Inn Historic District again. This hotel is just awesome. The rooms are delightful - plenty spacious and the bed are great! The location is wonderful - you can walk the entire downtown area without much effort at all. The breakfast is varied and plentiful and the staff keep everything filled and clean. In fact, the entire staff is friendly and extremely welcoming. I will not hesitate to return on our next visit and will recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Over 7 years, before, during and after our daughter's time at the College of Charleston, this was
our go-to hotel. The building is a converted apartment building with lovely features. Comfortable rooms and common areas, a great buffet breakfast with patio seating optional and always accommodating staff! We have stayed there countless times and find it a perfect location, near Marion Square and a quick walk to all downtown Charlestown attractions. And, CHarleston is our
favorite city in the US!

Room Tip: A ground level opening to pool courtyard is lovely. Only area to avoid is adjacent to parking garag...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Clean and comfortable. Great location right beside the visitors center. The parking garage was next door and prices were reasonable to park ($14 a day when staying at the hotel). The free trolley stop was right across the street although we walked almost everywhere. The room was a little smaller than average but it was adequate and clean. The bathroom was also a little smaller than most Hamptons but it was adequate. The bed was comfortable. I was using Hilton honors points to pay for the room so they may save the slightly less desirable rooms for that. The staff was pleasant and professional but maybe not quite as friendly as my experiences in other Hampton Inns. There again...it may have been related to using honors points or maybe it was just because the weather was horrible. It was very rainy with lots of flooding. All things considered I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#19 of 61 in Charleston
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $178 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing