We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #30 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business February 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Good value and very convenient location. It was nice to get out and walk around downtown after work and get something wonderful to eat at a restaurant within walking distance. The rooms were a little odd since it is a very old building, but overall the renovations are stellar. Spent some time working in the lobby after hours and it was the next best thing to home - very comfortable with great ambiance. This place sets the bar high for the Hampton name.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on at least the 2nd floor - the first floor rooms may have windows that will liter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phatboyboogaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    630
    196
    64
    25
See reviews for
508
769
58
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Gracious, efficient, and convenient, with a bonus of lovely grounds.

Location is terrific -- at the northern end of the historic district, and very convenient to the razzle-dazzle on King Street PLUS the tourist bureau, across the street and several of the walking-tour sites within a block or two.

Arrival parking, entry and check-in are perfect; with convenient, indoor, long-term parking at $14 daily.

Indoor-outdoor breakfast buffet is a step-up from routine chain motel breakfasts, but not Zagat. Roomy, pleasant lobby-slash-dining area (Why don't they offer pm bar and snacks there?). Pool is 100% clean and very pleasant!

Concierge advice was spot-on for us. A+!

Décor and furnishings in halls and rooms are somewhat generic, but not at all shabby. Our room was clean and perfect.

Note: Ask for the pros and cons before booking a ground-floor, pool-side room.

Another Note: Hampton's "800" reservation service reported no vacancies, but phoning the Inn directly got us the booking we sought.

Room Tip: Ask for the pros and cons before booking a ground-floor, pool-side room. Hampton's "800...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LearnedHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We will definitely continue to stay at this location. As a gay, married couple; we were treated with respect upon our arrival and stay. We enjoyed the hotel's location to the historic area of Charleston. All areas of the historic area were easily 'walkable' from our hotel. We specifically were looking for a hotel with a pool which offered us a 'break' during the day away from the crowds and summer heat of Charleston. The only suggestion I might offer is to find another vendor for the 'scrambled' eggs. They were not favorful at all and hard in texture. It was apparent the eggs were from a mix. Otherwise, the stay was excellent. Stephen & Robert Lucas-Ward

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were so pleased with this Hampton Inn. We were able to get a king courtyard view room, with a refrigerator and microwave. We loved the room! It was very cool, clean, and comfortable! The staff were very friendly. (especially Henry!) We were there 5 nights, to give us time to see all the sights in Charleston. With the visitor center and free trolley stop right across the street it was so convenient. This hotel is also just a few blocks to walk to downtown Charleston and the river front. We enjoyed the breakfasts each morning and the complimentary coffee anytime we wanted a cup. If we ever return to Charleston we will return to this wonderful Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A pleasant surprise in Charleston. Nicely placed in the historic district on John st. between Kind and Meeting st. Spending a weekend here, you don´t a car. Shopping, restaurants and the things you need within 1 min. of walking.

Nice and spacious room, breakfast not impressive, free wi-fi with good speed and an overall very nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennethtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was pleasently surprised by this hotel. The rooms were nice and tidy. Two things caught my attention. First, the breakfast spread went on and on and on. Very impressive and enjoyable. Although the hours were advertised as beginning at 0600. On my last day, when I came down to check out at 0515, the breakfast room was ready and none of that lights off stuff. Lady in charge welcomed me to anything I wanted. Second, on my first night I was woken from a dead sleep at 00:15 AM by a noise that turned out to be running water from room above. Guess this is an old structure with little dampening around pipes. Fortunately, the night owl above didn't disturbe me again, but you should be aware the plumbing in this hotel is not quiet.

Room Tip: I was given an inside room with double queen beds - even number. My hilton daimond member friend was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was very near all the downtown attractions including King St, the market, and historic sites.

The rooms were adequate, but not enough towel racks in the bathroom
The breakfast was standard, so you may want to go out for something more interesting
The pool was small and not heated. A hot tub on site would be great. You can use the Embassy Suites hot tub, but that one was not in good condition.

The staff was fantastic. Animated, enthusiastic, charismatic, and charming.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QTV-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 60 in Charleston
2,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing