We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #24 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last minute reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Traveling through the area and decided to spend some time in Charleston. Originally we were going to stay in Mount Pleasant to save some money. I decided to check rates again on the way and the price was a little lower so I booked it!

Location, location, location! This is one of the best features. It's about half a block to all the shops on King street and walking distance to many restaurants. It's also right across the street from the visitors center and the bus stop for the free trolly' which we used a lot!

The staff was super helpful and friendly

The rooms were very clean and roomy and most importantly the beds were very comfortable.

Breakfast was great, many choices.

We liked it so much we decided to extend our stay by an extra night!

The only complaints I have is that I would have liked a mini fridge and microwave in the room AND the parking fee. I think as a guest, the parking should be included or very discounted. I'm not used to having to pay parking at a hotel, this added $14 to the room cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traci2316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    542
    159
    48
    19
See reviews for
437
649
49
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is good - clean, good location, but the staff is great. They were very helpful and accommodating.The complimentary breakfast was good but again the staff was very nice. We would certainly stay here again. We were in town to see the college and our welcome made a terrific first impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice Hilton chain hotel where the best feature is location. If you go to Charleston looking for fine dining and entertainment at night, you just cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is next one short block away from the hottest stretch of King Street. At least four of five of Charleston's very best restaurants are within two blocks of the hotel. A performing arts theatre is right next door, and the main hub for the tourist buses is across the street. I understand that from that location you can take the tourist buses all over historic Charleston, get off whereever and whenever and as many times as you please, and ultimately arrive back at the main hub, making your car unnecessary. By the way, your best bet for parking if you are a guest at the Hampton is the parking garage right outside the main entrance to the hotel. It will run you $14 for a night.

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations for any weekend you plan on coming to Charleston well in advance. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Descarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this location only one night with a school group. The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and the location was wonderful (close to all the shops and major attractions). However, the majority of our party were unable to sleep due to the noise and crazy party that some drunk college students were holding on the floor above us. I don't fault the hotel staff for the disturbance, but these rude guest should have been asked to leave considering the fact that several other people (outside of our party) also complained several other times throughout the night. I understand that it all boils down to business, but this was a poor move in the staff's part in solving the problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the very top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank unccrazygirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took a group to Charleston for one night in December and we had a fantastic stay at this Hampton Inn. Beds were very comfortable, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. Breakfast was really nice. We will go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodLife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! Thanks for taking the time to let us and the world know of your experiences. We love what we do and are so very pleased you do too.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for four days for a short winter vacation break. This hotel is lovely and comfortable, it used to be an old barrel factory! It's on the edge of the historic district, an easy walk to nightlife and restaurants. They have a very nice complimentary breakfast each morning too! A wedding party that was there over the weekend was extremely loud in the hallways, so the staff moved us to another room right away with no issues, and tried very hard to ensure that we were pleased and taken care of to our satisfaction. We appreciated the effort they took to make us happy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the utility rooms and lobby are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for the nice review. We are so sorry for the trouble you had, but are so grateful you didn't hold it against us. The Team here would go to the end of the earth and back again (not just the "extra mile) to make sure you're happy. We so look forward to having you back as a guest of ours.

Til next time....

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better situated hotel in the Charleston area. This hotel is directly across the street from the Visitor's Center, a first stop for all tourists to Charleston. Trolleys are available to allow access to all parts of the city. Many restaurants, shops and sights are within walking distance.

While located on the fringes of the historic district, the price and value more than make up for the location. A covered parking garage is attached to the property, but owned by the city. A theatre is located opposite the side drive of the hotel.

The rooms are typical of most Hampton Inns, clean but basic with any forgotten necessities available. Our only problem with our room was that it was a non-smoking room but smelled of cigarette smoke. We were unable to open the window and asked that a maintanence person be dispatched to assist. The window was finally opened and the room aired out. We were on an upper floor and the April breeze was refreshing. By mid-day however, we were forced to close the window due to the humidity.

The morning breakfast was more than adequate and a definite boost to the value of the room. We were able to meet our companions each morning in the breakfast room to plan our day over a varied selection of breakfast items.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#25 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing