We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location, friendly staff, free wi fi, free breakfast, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The perfect location, friendly staff, free wi fi, free breakfast, nice staff”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came to Charleston for a wedding and our hosts selected this hotel for the guests. It is across the street from the visitor's center and there is a free trolley stop in front that takes you to anyplace you might want to go in Charleston. We got great service when we checked in and there is free coffee, cocoa and tea in the lobby at all times. The place is very clean, our room and bath were very clean, the beds were comfortable. There was a sign in the room that the duvets and shams are freshly washed for each guest. There are a lot of restaurants and shops a short walk or trolley ride away. I understand this was originally an old warehouse that was completely redone into a hotel.
Breakfast was decent with fresh fruit, yogurt, sausage, waffles you make yourself and scrambled eggs. The fruit salad, however, contained some canned fruit, which I cannot eat due to the sugar level. There was a variety of beverages.
There were no surcharges, which is a rare thing these days with hotels charging for wifi and other amenities. The business center offered free computers and a printer for your boarding passes. There is an exercise room, but we were too busy walking around town to use that. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hurry back! We cant wait to see you again. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We can't stress how much we appreciate your kind words.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    645
    204
    66
    27
See reviews for
529
792
60
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for a business trip. Very clean, friendly staff, great location - right next to King Street which is the main drag in the Charleston historic district. Easy walk to restaurants, shopping and parks. Well equipped - good USB plugs for ipads and phones. Beds were comfortable with bright, white duvets. Pretty quiet. Breakfast is better than standard continental (decent coffee, good oatmeal, fresh fruit, rubbery eggs.) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizardgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for your business and your time to review our hotel. We love to hear that our guests had a great time and will come back. We look forward to your return visit. Be well and we'll see you next time.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
166 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

From the outside this property looks quite distinctive; inside it's a very nice Hampton. It's large and well-maintained, with typical Hampton furnishings. It has a large lobby and breakfast area, a breakfast offering that is above-average and good wi-fi service. The staff is friendly and helpful. When we arrived after midnight the first day we were given a room which, for us, was too close to the lobby; there was no problem at all in moving to a higher floor the next morning (where it was quiet and sunny). The location is good, although it's not in the central part of the historic district. Rather, it's at the north end of the "Museum Mile," across John Street from the Charleston Visitor Center in one direction, across Meeting Street from the Joseph Manigault House in the other and diagonally across from the Charleston Museum. All three of the free trolleys stop just out the door across John Street (next to the Visitor Center). Marion Square is a block to the south and King Street (shopping and restaurants) a block to the west. Walking the "mile" down Meeting Street (south) takes you into the heart of the historic district and past some great restaurants (Jestine's Kitchen; Hyman's; FIG; Toast); we usually walked both down and back but if we didn't feel like walking we could catch a trolley. We were very pleased with our stay (5 nights) and would recommend this Hampton without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MN_Walkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Five days with us! Wow! Thanks for entrusting us with your vacation expericence. Hopefully you can stay a little longer next time :).

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Comfort and quiet: that's what I look for in a hotel so in the middle of any city, quiet may not be possible and you might have to spend a bundle to get the comfort. The Hampton in central Charleston seems to be an exception since it had all the good things we like about Hamptons: the nice bedding, good breakfasts, and amenities like a buisness centre, and the price was only about $100. And, we had a room overlooking the pool: the quiet side, we found out. Check-in was smoothly done and the staff were friendly. Unfortunately, we had to park in the city lot, but this lot was directly beside the hotel. Restaurants were close and the Charleston visitor centre was right across the street: easy to get info and take the free trolleys. Just as important, Charleston is an elegant, beautiful old city. We'd stay here again in a minute.

Room Tip: Upper floor, overlooking the pool worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riderfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are so glad to be a Cut Above the Rest! Thanks for your business and review of our hotel. We truly do appreciate it. Come back and see us soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great location for walking to local shops and restaurants. Free trolley stops right outside hotel, covers entire area. Super-friendly staff, clean rooms. Reasonably priced parking garage next to hotel. Will stay at this Hampton Inn again!

Room Tip: Room with 2 queen beds was larger than most with lots of room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
"Super Friendly" is what we are all about. Glad you noticed :). Thanks so much for your business and review. They both mean so much to us. Til next time.....

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's within walking distance of everything. Everyone is nice and friendly. I would like to give a special shout to Stephanie, who works next door at Embassy Suites. She said Hampton has better coffee, so she gets her coffee from Hampton in the morning. She was friendly and engaging, and she gave us great advice on dining and entertainment in Charleston.

I loved working out in the morning, and having a light breakfast at Hampton before we sampled the wonderful Charleston cuisine. Some people complain about the parking, but you are downtown. What do you expect. Self parking is better than being forced to deal with a valet. You can come and go as you want to, as opposed to have to call valet service and wait on your car.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgiaJake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Stephanie was right! We do have the best coffee in town. Couple that with an amazing group of people devoted to your satisfaction and well, you have the Hampton Inn. We look forward to having you as a guest again.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A few of my friends and I decided to take a getaway trip to Charleston. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay than this Hampton Inn.The front desk and breakfast staff made us feel very welcome. David suggested a few places for us to visit that really made our trip worthwhile. We will be returning to this location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you thank you thank you. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review. David is awesome and I'm so glad he had some good suggestions for you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing