We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Hampton Inns!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went to Charleston, SC on May 30-June 1. We stayed at this Hampton Inn and LOVED it. The room was very nice. The bedding was extra comfy. The view of the courtyard was simply beautiful. We really enjoyed the breakfast, especially since the courtyard was such a nice place to sit and eat. The location of this hotel was wonderful. It was very easy to get to. We used the trolley a few times to get around and it was just fine. The only downside to this hotel was the parking garage. The spaces were very small and at times it was hard to find a spot. I wish this hotel had it's own parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,078)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,750 - 1,756 of 2,078 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

We just stayed two nights at this Hampton Inn and it was the perfect place to stay in Charleston--great location but a couple of blocks from the busiest areas. We love the bedding at Hampton Inn--clean white duvets,comfy beds and pillows. Our 4th floor room was huge, even had a small frig. and microwave, and sparkling clean. If you can stay over a Sunday night you'll get a much better rate!

Room Tip: You might want to be wary of first and second floor rooms overlooking pool because of noise coming f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

THE hotel is wel maintained, Nice pool, they seem to go THE extra step here...really nothing to Complain about. There is à trolley stop at THE outside of THE hotel and there is al THE three free lines going from here. THE personal is friendly and ok.....really ok stay....

Room Tip: You might want to choose à higher floor then ground level, but thats personal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Had a corner room on 3 rd floor overlooking street. No noise. Room clean, no mildew in bath. Breakfast room is clean. Staff very friendly and helpful with directions. Parking is located in adjacent city owned garage $14/day. Visitor center and trolley stops literally across the street. This location is a couple of miles from waterfront and market st, so just far enough away if you do not like to walk. Trolley will take you right there though. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed here three nights, enjoyed the spacious king bed room with microwave, fridge and wet bar. Room was spotlessly clean. Bathroom had good lighting. Bedding and towels were Hampton quality and clean. We were are second floor, very quite. Loved the location, free trolly was just across the street. It was an easy walk everywhere. Breakfast area was clean and well stocked. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hampton Inn Charleston Historic District. We could not have been more pleased. The rooms were very nice, bed comfortable, staff friendly, and location excellent. We loved being across from the visitor's center and the free trolley that shuttled us all over the downtown area. City Market and the surrounding area is a short 15 minute walk if you feel like a stroll. There are several museums and restaurants on the same block if you want to stick close.

The breakfast was better than most and served in a lovely lobby with plenty of seating and space. The pool area was beautiful, complete with a large courtyard we enjoyed in the cooler evenings.

The only suggestion I could make is that it would be wonderful to have a minifridge & microwave in the room. Otherwise, everything was perfect! I fell in love with Charleston and will always check this Hampton Inn first when we return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndeeDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly staff, well located, large room with all amenities, fine breakfast and fine pool area. What else do you need? Will highly recommend it and would for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tnt300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,968 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403-6439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Charleston
#17 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $188 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing