We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a first class property operated by first class personnel. What a pleasure it was to be a guest at this property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a first class property operated by first class personnel. What a pleasure it was to be a guest at this property.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As stated this is a first class property operated by first class personnel!! The bkft was very substantial and the service above and beyond the call. Every one I met was so accomodating and willing to be of help and they all had a very friendly and positive attitude. The room was very clean and even a minor toilet problem was tended to immediately. I did regret there was neither a microwave nor a 'fridge; in the room as it would be helpful in keeping wine cold as well as perhaps beer. But those two things were the only two things lacking and I was able to work around this issue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryDietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    221
    77
    48
    31
See reviews for
290
288
44
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We needed a place to crash on our trip from Maryland to Florida and this place was convenient and a decent value for that purpose. The rooms and furnishings were clean and in good condition meeting our expectations for a Hampton Inn

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed there this past weekend for his birthday! We are locals but wanted to get away from the normal. The Jacuzzi suite was super nice and the bed very cozy. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainlyn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were visiting the area due to a sporting event of my daughter. She had to be at the barn before 6 and missed breakfast. The thoughtful staff prepared one for her for us to take as we departed the hotel. Complementary breakfast was delicious. Staff were kind, efficient, and room was clean, nice, spacious, and comfortable. Wireless was great. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the King suite - gave kids a TV and parents privacy. Would do this again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as it was one recommended for participants in the Charleston marathon events. It was great for our family (my husband & me, son & daughter-in-law, 2 grandchildren, our daughter & her husband) as it was easy to get to the start of the race location as well as being close to the airport for us to pick up our daughter & son-in-law. The rooms were clean & comfortable and we were able to request adjacent rooms. The breakfast offerings were awesome and everyone enjoyed the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoons! The ladies working at breakfast, cooking and making the food available were very friendly & pleasant. Wish I could say the same for the front desk lady. We approached the desk and she looked at us and chose to continue talking to a co-worker rather than greet us. This went on for several minutes which I found quite rude.The only other problem I had was another guest next door who insisted in talking loudly outside in the hallway in the wee hours of the morning and then having protracted coughing spells each night.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow! The ones in the room are too soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fizzie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bed was too hard and breakfast selection was not to my preference. Spouses wife's back was killing her the next morning. Wine and cheese reception was welcoming. Some front desk staff were a little stiff, but other staff members were very helpful. Card would not work to unlock back door and front door is not automatic. Difficult to get luggage cart from car through door. Sign on street made it seem that you were to turn into a car dealership which we did before we realized we were to go down #17 to the traffic light. Very clean. Medical rate was higher than we paid the week before using AARP.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff knocks themselves out for you. Bathrooms are not your usual cramped closet size. Very clean. Nice tropical feel. Very well run. Give the manager and staff a raise. Buffet breakfast was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauriecCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#37 of 61 in Charleston
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,144 reviews
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing