We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had a great experience here with a very friendly and accommodating staff. We needed an early check-in to take a conference call for business and the staff did a great job of getting us set up in plenty of time to take care of our obligations before starting our stay in Charleston. The hotel is also in a great spot that is convenient to Folly Beach and this historic district.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 893 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here from July 1 - July 3, 2012 and had a pretty good time. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff was very friendly. We stayed as a family and had two rooms both were just regular rooms, not suites. Breakfast in the morning was very good and the staff worked very hard keeping up with the guests needs. The pool was excellent as well. Location wise it is in a good spot by being south of downtown Charleston right off of Hwy. 17. It is about a 10 minute drive to the historic areas and the visitor center, as well as being only a 10 to 15 minute drive from Folley Beach, so you get the best Charleston has to offer within 15 minutes.

My only knock against the hotel and why I give it a four instead of five stars was the lack of signs helping to find the place. I travel all the time and use a GPS and the hotel was still difficult to find. It is tucked away behind a Toyota dealership that is under constuction so I don't know if perhaps some of the directional signs are down during the build or not. After you actually find the place it is really easy to get to, just that initial time can be a little hard. The hotel's elevators also had a slight knock for as there is only one main one in the lobby that serves the entire hotel and is perhaps the slowest elevator I have ever seen.

Don't let that scare you off once you find it the hotel is a good place to stay and I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: While the business next door is being rebuilt request a room on the opposite side so you don't h...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank writerguy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night over the July 4th week. The hotel is situated right off of Rt 17 which was along our travel path so it was in a perfect location. It is clean in both the common areas and in the room. The room had everything we needed and was pretty modern if not nearly new. The breakfast was big and well-optioned. The front desk staff was extremely polite and caring to our needs; kudos to them! We at next door at the Japanese steakhouse, saving some gas and travel time and fully enjoyed it. If you select this hotel, you won't regret it. Just make sure you look at Mapquest for directions. The entrance is not right on Rt 17, you have to make three rights to get to the lobby entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ImATravelinFool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a cross-country motorcycle trip. The front desk staff was very friendly and willing to allow us to park the motorcycles underneath the canopy at the main entrance in case it rained overnight. Prior to arriving we had called about this option but they were not willing to commit; the desk clerk at the time we checked in was extremely accommodating and readily allowed us to do this.

The rooms are basic - the bed was very comfortable but the furniture was definitely used. The morning full breakfast was complete with cold, hot (eggs, waffles, etc.) and had good hours until 10am. The pool was nice and used by many guests. Overall the cost of the hotel is reasonable - we paid $129 for what they consider a king bed study room - with the breakfast option it was worth the cost.

There are only a couple of restaurant options within walking distance - one is a Japanese restaurant which we opted for and found to be very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HeritageSoftail14843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

After check-in, we were quite surprised to find a hand-written, personalized note on the desk in the living area of our suite. What a nice touch, especially considering we were staying only one night.

Other nice, unexpected touches: coffee/tea/fresh fruit station just outside the elevator on our floor; little extras (mouthwash, shower cap, cotton swabs) among the toiletries; microwave popcorn alongside the coffee/tea/sundries on the kitchenette counter; poolside towels, in our case hand-delivered by an friendly attendant.

Breakfast buffet (on a Monday morning) offered a wide variety of items, from western omelettes and home-fries to make-your-own waffles to the usual continental items. They even had fresh Krispy Kremes! Area was well-stocked, even considering the hotel was home to a large group of teenagers that week.

Rooms and common areas were clean. Beds were comfy. Bathroom was spacious. All-in-all, a great value and good location. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I agree with Lynn M. below. If you can't afford to stay in the Historic District, this is a short distance away and is clean and comfortable. Right off of a "strip" with lots of restaurants, etc. Downtown drive took 15-20 mins.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian14leonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great and helpful front desk staff. Helped us find where to go, recommended parking areas, and let us plug in our Volt!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deneshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites West of the Ashley
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
0.4 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Charleston Inn
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 61 in Charleston
1,228 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Charleston
Sleep Inn Charleston
#38 of 61 in Charleston
250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Medical Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Dr, Charleston, SC 29414-5642
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Charleston
#25 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $134 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing