We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Short Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Ranked #22 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2008

We stayed here for the July 4th Holiday weekend. The rates for hotels in Charleston and Mount Pleasant were ridiculously high for the holiday, so I started looking at surrounding areas and found Daniel Island. The drive from the hotel into the city is about 15 minutes...likewise, from the hotel to Isle of Palms is about 15, longer to go to Folly Beach (25mins). We never experienced any traffic issues, and the drive was not bad at all.
This hotel is a very nice Hampton - definitely suited to the business traveler. The staff was wonderful - particularly Lou, who seemed to learn (and remember!) everyone's names. The breakfast was great, and there were plenty of warm cookies and milk every afternoon. The hotel was clean and the bed was awesome. The pool is small, but adequate - and clean, with towels provided.
Best thing about this hotel actually was the location. Daniel Island is beautiful, and QUIET - a nice respite from the main Charleston and Mt Pleasant areas. Everything you need is close by - including grocery, liquor, and drug stores. We spent our days at the beach, in the city, doing the tourist thing - and this hotel was a great home base during our trip.
A reccommendation - I registered on-line for a vistor's guide from the Charleston Visitor's Bureau....full of great information about parking - we never had a problem with parking - even considering the holiday weekend!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank max25oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 706 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2008

This hotel is on Daniel Island, not Charleston. Daniel Island seems to have a lot of corporate parks and not so much residential areas. Therefore, the area itself is really not at all interesting. I would say, the location remains reasonably good, however, because of the hotel's proximity to Charleston.

The best thing about the hotel ought to be the staff. Just super friendly and helpful. The rooms as well as everywhere in the hotel we saw was clean. The beds are comfortable. The air conditioning works fine. The breakfast is standard fare but they leave the fruit bowel out at night for all who want an after-dinner fruit. It is a good thing because the nearby supermarket closes at 9 p.m. and the next closest one is a bit away. There is also the usual small business center and free internet access.

Someone mentioned about the abundance of mosquitoes but we were not bothered by mosquitoes there anymore than the rest of South Carolina.

The only thing that was suboptimal was the drive from Charleston to Daniel Island. There is this very big ? chemical plant that emits aweful odors. Luckily, we did not smell any of that near the hotel. And the sign of the hotel is small. So print out the direction in advance and look for the hotel as soon as one gets off the highway would be a good thing.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank seadaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Overall a good experience. Very nice and relatively new, this hotel is about 10 - 15 minutes from downtown Charleston so you must have a car if you are going to stay here. It was much more affordable than the hotels downtown and very nice. To be honest, it was nice to escape downtown each evening. Breakfast was standard for a Hampton Inn. Staff was helpful.

Daniel's Island seems to be a very new town and there are a lot of things being built but there isn't much to see or do near the hotel right now. It is all brand new and in a very nice wooded area so if you like nature, you could go for some nice strolls but this is nothing like the historic Charleston you are going to see. Overall trip was a nice mix of new Daniel's Island with the hold of Charleston.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaybaby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Great Hotel - very clean, quiet and courteous. Hotel is in a great location with easy access to shops, restaurants and waterway. Very close to bike paths where you can run, bike or rollerblade. Price was good for location and room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfetterhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2008

We stayed at this Hampton on our first trip to SC. Our trip was great and we were impressed with Charleston. This hotel suited us fine (even though it is a bit out of the way) because we had rented a car. In addition, it was more affordable than the places in town and probably of equal value. After staying at many Hampton Inns, I know that they vary. This hotel was good in the sense that them orning breakfast was sufficient and the staff were exceptionally nice. The rooms though are in need of some more refurbishing. While our room was overall clean and spacious (actually looked like it could use more furniture), there were no frills. The worst part honestly was the airconditioning unit which was LOUD and had 3 functions (high/low or fan). South Carolina is exceptionally humid so AC is a must and this type of AC is just terrible. I woke up several times a night to either turn off (no temp control so it would be a refrigerator in the room) or to turn on (as it would get beyond hot and sticky within 1 hr). That basically ruined my rest so it was not exactly a comfortable stay. Truly it was liveable for a weekend but the place does need additional updating. In general I would recommend with those few reservations.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LoveTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2008

Fabulous staff with great southern hospitality.
Location couldn't be better if you're checking out Daniel Island or interviewing at one of the companies nearby. About a 20 minute drive for Charleston proper. Grocery store and restuarants around the corner. Great free breakfast. Suites have a full kitchen which came in handy.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank parisc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My husband stays at this property often as he does business with one of the Daniel Island companies and is a graduate of the Bishop England High School located there. He was a native of the area, so we go back often. I tell you this, so that you'll know this review is authentic.

When you select a hotel in Charleston, the choices you come down to are: Downtown Historic (busy, expensive), Beach (expensive) and Outlying (deals, but in close proximity to everything). Daniel Island Hampton is Outlying and a find for people who want a quiet place to experience coastal SC, with upscale restaurants, quaint shops and easy cafes where people read the paper over breakfast on the sidewalk with their dog sitting next to them. It's a walk-around type of island, where while all is very new coastal architecture, it's done so elegantly that you don't realize how new. Yes, you are right on the water too. You can be in Mt. Pleasant, Isle of Palms, Sullivan's Island, Downtown and West of the Ashley in minutes via 526. The best part? This Hampton is a business hotel that outside of major tennis events on the island, is very quiet on weekends. Rates are great. Because of the location, the hotel is very well appointed (not huge, just right) and an easy place to stay. A couple of the larger suites with kitchens are on the property as well. Enjoy. The staff are grads of Johnson and Wales University and really know how to take care of you. Ask for Stephanie.

Stayed: January 2008
7  Thank barbadiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Best Western Charleston Inn
#23 of 62 in Charleston
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 62 in Charleston
2,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492-7504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Charleston
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $145 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience true southern island hospitality with us here at the Hampton Inn Daniel Island! We are conveniently located just a short drive to historic downtown Charleston, several of the local beaches, and the popular Volvo Stadium. We offer a host of complimentary amenities, including a full hot continental breakfast, shuttle service to and from the Charleston International Airport, on-site fitness center, and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing