We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Found this location to be perfect for seeing the city, easily accessible to all main roads. Bedding quality high, furnishings a little dated but in reasonably good shape. The pool was nice, but needed some cpoing and tile work where cracks had appeared.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    150
    42
    23
    9
See reviews for
173
158
27
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
379 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Quiet wooded area just a short drive from downtown. The post it note on bed that duvet and sheets were fresh and clean made me chuckle - shouldn't they be clean but I guess it was reassuring to know. The room reeked of what smelled like urine which appeared to be emanating from the carpet.....so bare feet never touched the carpet. If this had not been such a short trip during which we spent very little time in the room, we would have switched rooms or hotels, if necessary. Breakfast is a your ordinary restaurant buffet food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As part of our brand standard, we place notes on the headboards to alert guests that a fresh duvet and linens have been provided. We're sorry if this was confusing for you. We're also very sorry to hear there was an unpleasant smell in your guest room and have asked our maintenance team to look into this. We hope we can invite you back again for a great stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very "private island" feel to approach of area, quiet, luxurious and pretty. We checked in after 10 pm on a Sunday without issue. Rooms were clean, quiet. Housekeeping had a post it note on bed that duvet and sheets were fresh and clean-that should be expected but it was a cute note. I found a small water roach near door-that's not unusual for this part of the country-no big deal. I didn't see anymore for the rest of my stay. Breakfast is a nice variety, changes daily and plenty of hot coffee. I was locked out of my room two afternoons, some confusion on the length of my stay vs. a traveling companion I guess. Again-no big deal, card updated immediately. Nice area-I may consider this hotel for my vacation trip next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snellville, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a very reliable brand and the Daniel Island location is no different. Downtown Charleston is a 12 minute drive away. Area is clean, quiet, and safe. Free Wifi, parking, and breakfast. The rooms and service are consistent with the quality I'm used to with HI hotels, however, they really need to upgrade the loud a/c systems. They run constantly and are always butting into every conversation. Bottom line: The downtown Charleston hotels are super pricey and not always affordable for families; This local provide a convenient and affordable alternative without compromising quality. TIP: Avoid higher floors; Elevators run very slow.

Room Tip: Avoid higher floors; Elevators run very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everywhereman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As usual for this chain they provide a good value in your accommodation needs. Provided a full breakfast and had a helpful staff. Elevators were slow but thankfully it was only four floors. Overall a good option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicone110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were able to book this hotel a few days before Labor Day weekend for a short notice vacation to Charleston, and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is very easy to find from the I-526 eastbound Daniel Island exit, but good luck finding it without navigation going westbound. We weren't aware of the differences in the exits until we tried to find the hotel in the dark from the westbound exit. Small signs of some sort would be appreciated. The hotel was very clean, and the staff was very friendly. We did have to order kleenexes, as they were overlooked. The breakfast serving area is very cramped for space. The waffles were great, and the oatmeal/toppings were too. The sausage seemed to be reheated in water, and the scrambled eggs hadn't seen a chicken for quite some time. Starbucks is about 4-5 miles down the road...a very worthwhile place to visit for the essential morning cup-a-joe. Daniel Island is a very nice central location for a fairly quick 15-20 minute trip to downtown Charleston and Isle of Palms. You will probably drive over some bridges a few more times than you expected, if you haven't been there for 10 years. I had no regrets in picking this hotel, and we have been there at least twice before.

Room Tip: The elevator is slow, so you may wish to stay in a lower floor. The staircase is quicker, even to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very nice updated Hampton Inn and the staff were very nice and helpful. I was a little reluctant about having to stay 5 nights for work here, but what a nice surprise. Daniel Island is a beautiful place and so much is close by, to either walk or the complimentary hotel shuttle will take you to the restaurants on the island or into Charleston. So nice having the shuttle taking us downtown, etc.
Staff was very helpful and nice. After getting familiar, we were even able to walk home from local bar at night via a path to hotel. Not far at all and extremely safe area.
The fitness center was very good for a Hampton. New equipment, a few treadmills, elliptical, weights, etc.
Breakfast was ok, but I'm not a big fan of any breakfast. They had waffles you could make, couple other hot items, and the typical continental choices. The breakfast bag to go was nice to get bottled water and apple and packaged muffins, etc. if you want. Also had cookies & milk in the afternoon.

Room was clean and good size. Nice bed too. Offered complimentary Wi-Fi in room too.
Overall, very pleased with hotel and modern renovated look. Nice location and convenient to getting to places for dinner and downtown Charleston. FYI- restaurant next door which is noted in previous posts is now closed. Looks like it was a good option for food and drinks. Much better to go downtown and enjoy Charleston
Breakfast was ok, but I'm not a big fan of any breakfast. They had waffles you could make, couple other hot items, and the typical continental choices. The breakfast bag to go was nice to get bottled water and apple and pacakged muffins, etc. if you want. Also had cookies & milk in the afternoon.

Room was clean and good size. Nice bed too. Offered complimentary wi-fi in room too.
Overall, very please with hotel and modern renovated look. Nice location and conveniant to getting to places for dinner and dowtown Charleston. FYI- restaurant next door which is noted in previous posts is now closed. Looks like it was a good option for food and drinks. Much better to go downtown and enjoy Charleston, or we liked going after dinner to DIG for drinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank de113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Charleston Inn
#28 of 60 in Charleston
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492-7504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing