We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best secret in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Ranked #20 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best secret in the area”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I would not stay anywhere else! I have stayed at the hotels on the beach, in Charleston proper and local resorts. The service by the staff at the Hampton Inn Daniel Island sets it apart from all others. I have been coming for about 6 years every spring. They remember the names of everyone in our large group along with the many others that flock to their hotel all at the same time! They greet them by name and we look forward to seeing them every year. They always see that everything is perfect for our trip and that our rooms are ready. We stay at least 4 to 5 days. We feel safe even returning late every night. They have warm cookies to greet us and the next day's tennis agenda on the desk.They think of just about everything! It is a home away from home. Graciousness and kindness are not adequate words to describe them and all that they have done for us not only as professionals but in others ways that are not know to the public. They are truly Charleston/Daniel Island's best kept secret.....until now!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmiecolumbiasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    160
    47
    26
    11
See reviews for
193
169
29
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Hampton Inn on Daniel Island is a great hotel close to Charleston, SC. I stay here when visiting a job site in the area. The staff is great. There are several nice restaurants located near the hotel. Good seafood on the property, Queen Anne's Revenge. Really fresh seafood with weekly specials.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaAtoZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Hampton is gracious and welcoming. It's almost entirely business travelers from nearby companies, but it does have a bit more soul than usual. The front desk staff are friendly. The shuttle drivers really go out of their way for your happiness.
Rooms are average to nice for a Hampton, and there is a good pool area. The hotel is in a quiet suburban area. Restaurant across the parking lot, Queen Anne's Revenge, is run by the same ownership as the hotel and also nicer than average (with interesting historical artifacts on display).
If you are in Daniel Island, this is of course the #1 place to stay! It also works for other places in the vicinity, except I would not recommend staying here if your business or leisure will call for being in historic downtown Charleston...it's not difficult to get there, but it is some distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with view of the back pool area, rather than the front or side (both of which v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Great stay; two days for work. Pleasant, fresh surroundings and public areas including a cosy breakfast room and lounge. Well maintained property, great, clean room and nicely working shower in the bath.
Pool looked nice but was too rainy to swim.
Gym was quite small and had a glass door facing the lobby; not quite enough privacy to work out. Breakfast was included. Plenty of options including a hot dish, fruit, cereals, breads, etc. Real silverware and dishes (not plastic/paper) would really enhance the breakfast experience. Loved the fresh baked cookies at 4pm!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthropologie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

While the property was beautiful...the bathrooms have a SEVERE design flaw. There was a person in the room next to us talking to us thru the vent above the sink!! We couldn't believe it, so we got up on the sink and looked thru the vent, and we were able to see into the room next to us!! I told the management and hopefully they will fix this, because it is a beautiful property.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hideeho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

They take this seriously. I got a handwritten thank you note when I checked in. Yes, I'm Hilton Honors but this is the only Hilton Hotel that I've stayed at ever that has done this. Beautiful campus, great location. Great job.

There was one weird thing though. The sign coming off the freeway for the hotel (and everything else on that street) was very small. We missed the turn and ended up back on the freeway, had to go back across the bridge we just came over for a second time to make sure we turned on Fairchild St.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a long drive from NJ to Florida. I had never seen Charleston, so I thought I would make a quick side trip to see it. I made reservations with Hilton Points and there was no problem using those. This hotel is difficult to find late at night though, and is a little off the beaten track. That turned out to be a plus, as it is in a safe, quiet business neighborhood. As a female traveling alone, I appreciated that. My check in was quick, the room was exceptionally clean with no odors. The breakfast was busy, and well stocked with hot foods, and cold. The coffee was good, and there was a large brochure area of attractions, which was helpful to read during breakfast for a headstart on attractions. The front desk was also helpful in providing concise directions cheerfully, and offered helpful advise. I would recommend this hotel, and would like to return with family! A great place to stop!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PJWILSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Best Western Charleston Inn
#24 of 62 in Charleston
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492-7504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in Charleston
#30 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing