We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,762)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveler rating
977
539
178
43
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
977
539
178
43
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic district king street within walking distance marriott properties rocking chairs restaurant reservations fort sumter marion square walked everywhere few blocks hotel is in a great location holiday inn meeting street housekeeping staff market street southern hospitality concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2015

There are a lot of large groups using this hotel so if you want a more quiet experience you might be disappointed.

Having said that the conceirges at this hotel are outstanding. Kevin and Andrea really know the area and have many pre-planned activities already printed out and provide you with written descriptions and directions to local attractions and restaurants.

Room tip: Try to get a room in the back of the hotel as there is some street noise on Calhoune.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ssmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaraBates, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2015

Dear Ssmarc,

I am so glad to hear that you found our concierge service to be so helpful and prepared. Kevin and Andrea are a great asset to our hotel and we are glad you had a chance to meet with them.

I apologize for the noise issues you experienced during your stay. I completely understand how that can make it difficult to enjoy your vacation. I can assure you that we do not always have large groups that make so much noise.

We look forward to having you at our hotel again and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2015

This was our first time in Charleston. The hotel was very accommodating, clean and friendly. The Concierge, Kevin McQuade was beyond outstanding. He was absolutely the greatest. He introduced us to some outstanding resturants and tours. We rate his help as a 10.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2015

Located in the Historic District 1 block from King street (and the Francis Marion Hotel) and Charleston College. Nice attention to detail - crown molding in the hallways, wallpaper in the baths, lots of places to plug in your chargers. Doorman/bellhop at the front door was very helpful on rainy days. Check in was speedy and very friendly. Food is available at the Bistro in the hotel - there are also dozens of food options within a half mile. Transportation from the airport was $14 by shared cab. The pool is outdoors. The bathroom ventilation worked great in my room (one of my pet peeves). If you are celiac or need to eat gluten free, there appear to be very few options here and the bistro potatoes are deep fried and are likely contaminated. (Would like to hear a response from the hotel if they have gluten free menu options.)

Room tip: Ask for a room away from Calhoun Street. Rooms on the ends have windows on two sides.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank passingthrough95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2015

Dear passingthrough95,

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your trip down from Chicago and for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our hotel. It seems as though everything from the décor, ventilation, outlet availability and service all met your expectations. You brought up a great point about the gluten-free foods and this is something we will address immediately with our food & beverage team. The dietary concerns of our guests are extremely important to us and we are constantly looking for ways to improve and expand our offerings to meet these concerns. Please let me know if there was something specific you would like to see on our menus by contacting our Director of Food & Beverage directly at justin.morris @interstatehotels.com.

We look forward to your next trip to Charleston and thank you so much for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

The hotel isn't too far from king street. In fact is faces the lawn area where they host the farmers market. It's walking distance to restaurants, bars and shopping. Staff was great and very helpful. The rooms are sound proof. I didn't hear much noise from the streets nor the hallway and my room was across the elevators. Bathroom was very spacious. Even though we shared room with another couple, we had no problems with running and stepping into each other. There's a cafe inside the hotel and a bar. The hotel is well kept and pretty busy during our stay. I would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. Everyone was very nice. Kudos to the concierge, Kevin! He secured dinner reservations and booked us on a wonderful walking tour. Our room was fine. Hotel needs a little updating, but the parking included in the price was worth it.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine_T2073654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews