We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #23 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sparks, Maryland
1 review
“Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

This hotel and its staff met all of our expectations and needs as Marriott owners. Our room was clean and spacious, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel's proximity was within close walking distance to the historical district and many restaurant and shopping venues. One of the best attributes, however, was the concierge, Kevin McQuade, and we highly recommend this hotel because of his superior service. Kevin is enthusiastic about his work, passionate about Charleston and all it has to offer, and takes the time to really get to know his guests' interests before making recommendations. He planned our entire itinerary for our short stay and was 100% accurate about everything he proposed. He was charismatic and comedic, and we genuinely enjoyed talking with him and following his lead about what to do. In our opinion, Kevin went above and beyond our expectations of what a concierge should be! Ken, Gail, and Brittany B.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    460
    141
    32
    15
See reviews for
420
675
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This hotel is located within reasonable walking distance from the historical areas and the harbor and there are many restaurants and shops located within a 15 minute walk. The staff was friendly and the room was spacious, well appointed, well lit and had the biggest bathroom we had encountered in quite a while. What really separated this property from others was the concierge on duty. She helped us set up an itinerary to optimize our brief stay, including a horse carriage ride, and she made restaurant reservations for us. If you don't want to walk to the historical areas, we recommend that you take a "bike taxi". Cost is about $12 for two and it's a fun way to travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the swimming pool/parking lot in the rear to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

What we look for in a hotel is a reasonable price, location, good nights rest (comfortable beds and quite atmosphere, competent friendly staff and a safe area (I understand these are subjective). We were staying in Marriott properties on this trip and we picked the Courtyard Charleston Historic District. Let me jump to the bottom-line ... would we stay there again? Most likely ... the reason being their concierge Kevin. This guy is amazing and tailors his recommendations based on what you tell him and how you answer his probing questions. We wanted a tour and he found the right tour guide for us. We have previously done a tour here and while interesting, not the same. We wanted food and he not only recommended 3 places, but was able to tell us about the food ... and, he was not wrong. He is really the reason to stay at this hotel. When we were at one of the restaurants, the wait person asked us how we found them since they are off the beaten path and mostly have local customers ... when we told her Kevin recommended the place, she said he was one of the few concierges’ that really know what they recommend and keep tabs on how a place changes. We were in Charleston 2 years ago and stayed at a very high end hotel with an extremely good restaurant which was located on Market Street, so in the middle of the action. We choose not to spend as much money so picked the Courtyard. Reasonable price -- check, at least for Charleston. Location -- kind of on the edge so lots of walking which in June would have been fine but August ... well, it is August in the south, need I say more? Restful night and staff -- check. They have a great farmer’s market also directly across the street which we visited on Saturday and even had breakfast there. Would we stay again ... most likely but we will check to see if Kevin is still the concierge first!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank O-Neau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

I am always pleased with my Marriott experiences throughout the world. The historical Marriott in downtown Charleston,SC , actually a Courtyard, should be very proud of its full time, well educated, most professional, and exceptionally competent concierge, Kevin McQuade. he is insightful to your needs and desires, he is confident in his knowledge of all things Charleston, and he conducts himself as a true professional concierge, the equal of which I have not encountered in the last 30 years of business and personal travel.

Congratulations and thanks to a great professional and to continuing great satisfaction with Marriott.

bob and Beth C

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertmcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The rooms were consistently very clean. Housekeeping was always friendly and conscientious. Minor issues with the TV were handled speedily and efficiently. This hotel was conveniently located for walking or driving downtown or the boats to Ft Sumter. A gas station is ideally situated across the street. There is easy access to the Arthur Ravenel Jr bridge for Mt Pleasant/Sullivans Island. Likewise the airport is only twenty minutes away. Not surprisingly there is a charge for parking, but there are conveniently located with ready help by the doorman/bellman.
The fitness center was clean, convenient, and had updated equipment for my needs.
All the staff are fantastic - Jesse at the main desk, Linda & Ukya(sp?) in the cafe, and the Concierges Kevin & Andrea. The Concierge service is exceptional and make a return visit an easy choice. Their organization and experience make experiencing Charleston fun and smooth. A call two days in advance for some simple advice yielded invaluable suggestions for the entire visit from restaurants & gourmet delis to the amazing "Tommy Dew Walking Tour" of Charleston. Their sincerity for guests to have a wonderful Charleston visit is palpable and totally worthwhile.

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a beautiful view onto Meeting Street. I would request it in the future but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabaker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Well I gave it another try and it just is not worth the money. The rooms are ok if u stay on the new wing. Walking down the hall there is a horrible overwhelming scent that appears to be masking something. Seriously I thought I would be sick! Then I was by myself and I had to park across the street(at the church) and carry my luggage from there... Did I mention it is $18 a day! No valet- that is self park. Staff is nice and knowledgable. But I think I will go back to Mt Pleasant Courtyard. It is almost half the price, free parking, and so very very clean. Yes, it is a drive but it is just not worth the $$$.

Room Tip: New wing, up high and facing the parking lot.not the street side! Too much noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atl4316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Atl4316,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your recent stay with us here in Charleston.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience during your stay with us. Our hotel does have a parking garage attached to the building as well as a parking lot right across the street. We are one of the few hotels in Charleston that controls their own parking and allows their guests to come and go as they please for one daily rate. The majority of downtown hotels have parking garages controlled by the City of Charleston and do charge each time you enter and exit.

It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with our staff and that you found them to be so knowledgeable! I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the experience we do offer to our guests in the future and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel has a great staff, is perfectly located, walking distance to every place you would want to go around Charleston.

I stayed for one night and considering coming back next year again for a longer visit.

The room was cleaned, spacious and very comfortable. Good view as well!

We walk to the restaurant and then went for a long walk and sightseeing.

Beautiful place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Repolljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ansonborough Inn
#13 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing