We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Concierge Extraordinaire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Selected this hotel for its location in historic Charleston & our favorable past experiences with Marriott...and for the reputation of its chief concierge Kevin. Expectations were exceeded!!! The hotel was conveniently located for walking to historic sites and restaurants, hotel decor was crisp & modern, room was comfortably appointed, staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. But the most amazing experience was Kevin. He was our first stop after checking in and well worth it! Kevin interviewed our 4-person traveling party as to our interests, and after a few questions and suggested options, expertly arranged our 2-day / 3-night stay in Charleston with excellent walking tours, delightful restaurants, and a truly unique personalized experience of historic Charleston. His comprehensive service, knowledge of Charleston and its amenities, and passion for his craft were remarkable...and totally fun to experience!!! Highly recommend this hotel and Kevin -- the concierge extraordinaire!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Clean room with awesome balcony view. Bed was super comfortable and would definitely stay there again. Hotel is downtown Charleston right in the middle of it all. Friendly staff and overall a great experience! The location and the price point make this hotel a no brainer if your looking for a hotel in downtown Charleston.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Mcc8613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Service: Flawless
Ambiance: Unrivaled
Location: Any more in the center of things and you'd be sitting on top of the statue of Frank Marion - Andre the Giant looks on this spot with jealous eyes.
Now let's get down to brass tacks: I really have to give it to the Charleston Courtyard. Not only did the staff go out of their way to make our Fourth something we will be talking about for a long time, but the hotel's physical attributes only enhanced our pleasure. Great views, solid breakfasts, and a surprisingly hopping pool scene. One of the managers of the hotel, Grant Hoskins, took extra special care of making sure that we were always smiling.

Will I be coming back? Uh, yes

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Calhoun or Meeting are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank airgeorgeclooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

First off, the reason why I picked this hotel was because of all the rave reviews regarding the concierge, Kevin. He did not disappoint! I called him a few weeks before our arrival to get his opinion on things my husband and I should do while in Charleston. He actually set up a conference call with both my husband and I, so he could get both of our likes/dislikes on tours, restaurants etc. Kevin did NOT disappoint!!! Every single restaurant he made us reservations for were absolutely delicious. If I had to pick my favorite 2 out of all the ones we visited it would be Macintosh and Cru Cafe. As far as activities, Kevin set us up with a fabulous walking tour of Charleston and an out of this world private boat ride to Morris Island where we got to see dolphins up close and personal, along with catching a glimpse of a huge sea turtle! Along with that, the operator of the boat was extremely knowledgeable with the ecosystems there and gave us fantastic information. But the cherry on top of our entire trip was our private walking tour with Kevin. On his own personal time he took my husband and I on a night tour off all the mansions and neighborhoods in Charleston, it was an extremely memorable and magical experience. It was one of my favorite things I have EVER EVER EVER done. My husband and I have traveled quite a bit and have NEVER gotten that kind of top notch service from a concierge like Kevin provided. He is single-handedly the most important asset to this Marriott. If you are going to Charleston you MUST stay here and you MUST meet Kevin! I could go on and on about his personalized maps of running trails, bathrooms in the city, best places to take pictures, etc. He is truly dedicated. You may have to wait and minute or 2 to speak with him but that's only because he is providing someone with the best customer service and you can be sure he will give you that same courtesy.
As far as the hotel itself -it was your standard Courtyard - very clean and rooms on a little bit of the smaller side. The location is A+ -You can literally wall to anywhere in town!
But don't forget, before you walk anywhere, get the key to the city from Kevin :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ErinLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My parents and I stayed here on our recent trip to Charleston. I would have preferred to stay at a different hotel but my mom said she really liked staying at Courtyard Marriots so I went ahead and booked this hotel through Orbitz. We were under the impression that our room was going to be larger than it was and when I asked the girl at the front desk she informed me that you "can't book suites on third party websites" and that "we could call Orbitz" and discuss it with them. My parents and I decided to let it go rather than wasting time on the hotel room. Additionally, the room cards kept malfunctioning and we had to get them rescanned at the front desk everyday that we were there. The electrical outlet in the bathroom did not work. My parents tried to use the laundry room and after they washed their clothes they discovered that the dryer did not work. The front desk told them that was the only washer and dryer for the entire hotel so we had to drip dry our clothes in the hotel room. I thought the rates were too high for this sub-standard hotel and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Angela H,

Thank you for offering us feedback on your recent trip from California.

You are correct in that we do not offer our suites for a discounted price through Orbitz. Our suites are available online through Marriott.com or by calling the hotel directly at 843-805-7900. We do offer our normal room types through the Orbitz website at a discounted price based on availability.

I am very sorry to hear about the maintenance issues you experienced with your wall outlet and the dryer in our guest laundry area. I can definitely understand how not being able to dry your clothes immediately would be frustrating. Our engineering team has addressed both of these issues and the dryer is now working properly.

We would love the opportunity to show you the service and experience we do offer at our hotel in the future. If you are ever headed back to Charleston please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com before making a reservation.

Thank you for your business and I hope you enjoyed your time in Charleston!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at the Courtyard Marriott in Downtown Charleston, and I must say that it was one of the best hotel experiences I’ve ever had.
The hotel staff could not have been friendlier; catering to our every need, including a somewhat late request for extra pillows! Everyone from the front desk staff, to hotel bartenders, and even management were eager to help out with questions about their favorite sightseeing, dining locations, and lively local clubs. All information was relayed with a smile and left you with the sense that they really cared about your stay in Charleston!
The rooms are immaculate, and equipped with everything you could need for a great stay in Charleston (we had a balcony!). As soon as you enter the lobby you receive that euphoric “ahh moment” that signifies your vacation has begun, but it doesn’t end there. The inside corridors leading to the rooms put you immediately at ease with a faint smell of vanilla, which makes you want to go straight down to the courtyard pool. Grab a drink from bar and lay out at the pool where you feel as though you’ve been transported to grounds of a southern mansion!
I cannot wait to visit Charleston again, not only because I love the city so much, but I know that I can stay at a hotel that matches this city’s uniqueness, elegance and southern hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a Meeting Street room with a balcony available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyScat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The service at this hotel is 5 star. The staff from front desk to housekeeping was amazing. The best is the concierge who knows every nook and cranny of Charleston. If you have a question, he can answer it. It was a safe, reasonable walk to S. Market and the battery. We also used bike taxis and regular taxis a bit for getting around. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyG1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#30 of 61 in Charleston
1,146 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $175 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing