We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How Much Is My Room and More?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How Much Is My Room and More?”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a visit celebrating my birthday and spending time with our daughter and son-in-law who live near Charleston in Mt. Pleasant. We had a room which was supposedly wheelchair accessible as my wife is confined to a wheelchair.

The bathroom sink is too low to permit a wheelchair to roll underneath it. The bathroom sink top is too small to hold anymore than two or three containers of beauty and bath needs. The shower only has a wand shower head and the stall is exactly less than thirty-six inches wide. The garage has Van Accessible places but you will come close to taking out the bottom of your car on the bump in the driveway.

Add to this that the room key did not work three days out of five as the hotel changes access without notification. The internet code changed once which is understandable.

What is worse than anything is that for the five nights we stayed the room rate ranged from $219 to $349 per night, with four of the nights having different rates. When asked about the varying rates, the desk manager said that rates depend on "what is going on at the hotel and in Charleston". That is preposterous!

A very disappointing facility with the exception of 1) Outstanding concierge services 2) Gracious, timely and personable Bistro personnel. 3) Housekeeping personnel were timely although supplies had to be requested when out, such as Kleenex and Shampoo.

We will not be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zjamesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear zjamesd,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us on your recent trip from Virginia.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay at our hotel. All of our accessible rooms were designed, built, and inspected to be compliant with all ADA standards. All of these rooms have a normal shower head as well as a wand to give increased flexibility to our disabled guests. Our bathrooms are continually complimented for being spacious and our handicap accessible rooms do have an even larger bathroom due to ADA specifications. Our parking garage does have four handicap accessible spaces on our lower level as well as a van accessible space on our upper level.

I can understand how it would be frustrating to get up to your room after a long day and then to have your keys not work. I can assure you that our hotel does not make access alterations to your keys after check-in. Cell phones, magnets, and other objects can de-magnetize a hotel key and cause them to be come deactivated. We always encourage our guests to keep your hotel keys in a separate pocket from your cell phone or wallet.

Our rates do change on a daily basis due to business demand in our hotel and the area. The availability and the price of these rates can change throughout a business day as well based on supply and demand.

It is great to hear that you had great service from our concierge, restaurant, and housekeeping teams. We will work on improving the issues you experienced so that the efforts of these employees are not overshadowed in the future. We would love to have the opportunity to show you the experience we can offer at our hotel. Please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com when planning your next trip to Charleston.

Thank you for your business and your feedback!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    909
    482
    152
    35
    18
See reviews for
447
696
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Ga
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is a really just a place to spend the night. It's nothing special. It is on a couple of busier streets and is tightly packed onto its land. Parking is usually a problem, but they have arranged to allow parking at the church across the street. The best reason to stay here is Kevin McQuade. He's the concierge and he's among the best I've ever encountered at what he does. He starts by asking questions about what you like to do, then he pulls out some folders and decides which to present to you. He has created his own maps of the city, marking the spots you will want to see. Very organized and very knowledgeable. He even has menus (the actual ones) from the restaurants he will recommend. Caveat--He won't help you if you're not staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: Not much variation in rooms. You may want a lower floor since the elevator is so slow. Rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear cbeard,

Thank you for offering us feedback from your experience and for staying with us on your trip from Georgia.

I am glad you found Kevin to be so helpful during your stay in Charleston and that you also found it very easy to park at our hotel. Charleston is a smaller, older, and compact city where parking can be a challenge. These characteristics are also the main reason for its charm and allow people to enjoy everything it has to offer by travelling on foot. So many of our guests park their car upon arriving at our hotel and never see it again until check-out.

We hope you will make the trip over from Georgia again soon and thank you for choosing our hotel when doing so!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDU
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Nicely updated hotel in good location. Appeared very clean, but there was a terrible mildew/mold smell in our room when we arrived. We thought running the ac would help, but it didn't get better. We asked to switch rooms after a miserable first night. The hotel staff was great and moved our room (immediately moving new guests into the old room), but the second room also had a lingering mildew smell--although not as bad as the first. Reading the reviews, this smell appears to be a common issue. I would not stay here again, as the great location and friendly staff cannot make up for a hotel that costs several hundred dollars a night and smells so terrible. It can't be healthy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear KK,

Thank you for your feedback and for being a Senior Reviewer on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced an odor in both of the rooms you stayed in during your visit to our hotel. We take any odor or smell issues very seriously at our hotel and will address these issues in the two rooms you stayed in immediately. We want all of our guests to have a pleasant experience during their stay that meets all of their expectations. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy our location and the friendliness of all of our staff. We would love the opportunity to show you an experience at our property where the freshness of our hotel shines. Please contact me directly at grant.hoskins@interstatehotels.com when you planning your next trip to Charleston.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in Charleston soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent five glorious days in Charleston and stayed at the best place ever for so many reasons! Reason number one is the concierge, Kevin McQuade ! He helped us plan so many wonderful tours and made reservations at a variety of amazing restaurants for us. Without Kevin our trip wouldn't have been nearly as successful. If you stay at this hotel I highly recommend that you get in touch with Kevin or Andrea, who is also a wonderful concierge at this hotel. We spoke with Kevin on the phone a few weeks before we arrived in Charleston and he coordinated the whole trip for us. It was flawless! This hotel is located within walking distance of many wonderful restaurants and some great shopping. It is clean and the staff is extremely friendly.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shorebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Located in the heart of the Historic district overlooking Marion square.The newly renovated courtyard Marriott is a true testament to Southern Hospitality. The service was excellent from the time I pulled up into the front drive. Starting with Merrill the Bellman to the wonderful front desk. Be sure to speak with Kevin the concierge for any tour information, dinner reservations, or a friendly over view of the city. A big thanks again to all the managers and staff along with Marriott for another excellent property. I highly recommend it and I will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear JeremyT24,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us from just across the bridge in Mount Pleasant, SC.

It sounds like you were able to experience the wonderful service offered by all of our hotel staff and Southern Hospitality is definitely what we look to offer at our hotel. We really appreciate you recommending our hotel and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was in Charleston for work. This was one of the best hotels. The rooms were nice and very clean. The front porch of the hotel had lots of rocking chairs to sit in while you waited for transportation or to just have a glass of wine or tea and enjoy. The porch was wonderful. The FREE trolley stopped at the corner the hotel was on. You could take the trolley to the city market or anywhere downtown. There was an open air market on Saturday in the park across the street. The concierge Kevin was a wealth of information. He had a map of “clean bathrooms” and unlikely places to buy water. He had a menu for every restaurant downtown plus some and would call and make the reservation for you. Kevin made the free time very enjoyable and easy. I would have to say that the entire staff at the hotel was above average. The people that checked you in, the doorman, the housekeeping….everyone seemed happy and more than willing to do their job and beyond. I would recommend Charleston SC as a wonderful place to visit and the Marriott the best place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are noisy. This didn't bother me, but if you are a light sleeper, you do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Central location in the historic district of Charleston with fine restaurants within 1/2 mile walk as well as the flea markets and ferry to Fort Sumter Island. The hotel had very good accommodations with a supportive and kind staff. As with most Courtyards at Marriott there is only a modified continental breakfast available(but with good service and fine coffee).
There was no way we could have eaten at all the fine restaurants in the area with most four star or better lunch and dinner.
There was a minor problem getting the printers to work at the advance check-in (flights/etc.) counter.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a good selection on the upper floors of the hotel. Rates are increased over speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escape_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 62 in Charleston
2,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 62 in Charleston
1,124 reviews
Ansonborough Inn
#12 of 62 in Charleston
939 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing