We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Courtyard Marriott has a great location. Within walking distance of ..well..most everywhere! The beds and pillows were very comfortable. They do not have free continental breakfast but they do have food you can purchase. They had an interactive map that was so easy to use. Just tap the screen and find where you want to go and they will even print you a map. Very friendly front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trashedbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear trashedbunny,

Thank you for being a Senior Contributor on TripAdvisor and staying with us here at the Courtyard Charleston Historic District.

You are correct that we offer a full a la carte breakfast at our Bistro Restaurant. Our Executive Chef, Justin Morris, is constantly searching for the freshest local ingredients to offer our guests the highest quality product. The F&B team recently debuted a Mango & Peach Yogurt Parfait that is an incredible way to start any day.

It appears you were able to take advantage of our interactive GoBoard as well. It really is such a great visual tool that allows you to print directions and information directly to our business center.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back in Charleston soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

958 - 964 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2013

Wonderful location within easy walking distance to so many locations in the city. Rooms are clean and cozy and the Concierge (Kevin) is nothing short of incredible! He will provide information on everything from carriage rides to dinner to ghost tours and more. He shared his little map with us about the best places to go to get the perfect photos of various locations - he even tells you where to stand! We got some of the most fantastic photos of Charleston - Kevin helped us see a side of Charleston we might never have seen along with the "tourist" hot spots. He even sent a bottle of champagne to our room because we mentioned it was our 40th anniversary. Nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear JMP,

Thank you for recognizing our Concierge Kevin McQuade. You are exactly right in that he can truly show our guests a side of Charleston that they would most likely miss if they hadn't spent time with him. Kevin's map of the best photo opportunities in Charleston is also an incredible tool that allows our guests to capture the perfect picture.

I would definitely agree that our location is easy walking distance to so many wonderful locations throughout the city whether it is to the Market, shopping, or the best restaurants in town.

Thank you for your business!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Forget any notion you have of staying at a bed and breakfast in Charleston. The best part about this hotel is their amazing concierge, Kevin McQuade, and it is worth staying here if only for his services, but more about him in a minute. Our room was very and clean with a comfortable mattress, good air conditioning (a must during the summer in Charleston), and a large bathroom with good water pressure. Parking is $16 a day and we didn’t have any trouble getting a spot. The hotel has a relatively small parking lot in the rear and a parking garage, however they lease space from the church directly across the street and perform daily checks to make sure their guests have adequate parking spaces available. The location of the hotel is also very convenient, assuming you are most interested in the historic district of Charleston, which we were.

OK, now about Kevin. Kevin, the concierge, provides better service and more personal attention than 5 star hotels and pricey bed and breakfast/inns. Kevin is an expert on all things Charleston-from the best restaurants to the best tours, to the best hidden gems in the city, he is the person to see if you are unsure about how to spend your time in Charleston or just want some new suggestions. In the span of approximately 15 minutes, Kevin made restaurant recommendations and reservations, booked a day tour with a 13th generation Charlestonian, and also booked a sunset boat Eco tour for us. His services included index cards for each restaurant giving the walking/driving directions as well as ratings for the most popular meals, and a wonderful map of the city including the top "must see" destinations as well as a list of the best public restrooms around the historic district. Kevin also took my husband and I on a private walking tour of the city to see the beautiful historic homes and gardens at night. Not only did Kevin do this tour gratuitously, and on his own time, he also literally laid on the ground to take pictures of my husband and I. This was definitely one of the highlights of our entire vacation! Make sure to take advantage of Kevin's expertise!!!!! We would return to the Marriott just to work with Kevin again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We chose the Courtyard because it looked the most modern and anti-B&B style hotel in Charleston. We were pleasantly surprised with our suite which was spacious, clean for our family of 4 (2 kids under 10 yrs). The location is 1 block from Starbucks and the top end of King Street where the shopping begins. To get down to Market and Bay Streets where the restaurants and tourist stuff is, you have a 6-8 block walk which keeps you healthy. The Courtyard lobby is nicely done with a roomy breakfast area servng Starbucks coffees, teas and pastries. I'd go back to this Courtyard if revisiting the city.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite with wrap around windows, brightens up the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cutterback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Cutterback,

Thank you for staying with us here in Charleston and for the great review.

You identified correctly that our suites are very spacious and perfect for a family traveling with kids. They definitely offer the extra space needed for children to relax and stretch their legs when traveling.

Walking is always the best and healthiest way to get around our great city and you correctly noted that in a 10 minutes out our front door you can reach the popular Market and Eastbay Streets.

Our Bistro breakfast area is a very functional and spacious area that is great for getting a work day started or getting the family together for a meal.

We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Marriott was great. The service was very good from check in to check out. The food was great and location was easily accessible. The rooms were simply magnificent. i would recommend a stay here to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hermanmalloy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Hermanmalloy02,

Great to see that our staff shined in every aspect of your staff with us. Your experience is a reflection of the genuine hospitality that exists here on our team.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope you stay with us again on your next business trip!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Courtyard served as a great hotel for our exploration of historic Charleston. The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to many restaurants, Fort Sumter, the Marketplace, and shopping. The staff proved superb, especially the concierge services provided by Kevin. Rooms are nicely furnished and modern. I will stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHoskins, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Robert K,

Thank you for being a senior contributor on TripAdvisor and we very much appreciate you choosing the Courtyard in the Historic District for your visit to Charleston.

I do agree that our location is centrally located and an easy walk to the Market, the Fort Sumter ferry, and the many shops on King Street.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our concierge services while in Charleston. Kevin continually makes sure our guests have an experience that they simply can't duplicate on their own.

We hope to see you back in Charleston very soon!

Sincerely,
Grant Hoskins
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The Marriott Hotels are very good. They are everywhere and are affordable. They have many good features for the working people like conference rooms, internet service, and the atmosphere is great either for vacations or work related travels. I recommend it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Charleston Marriott
#31 of 62 in Charleston
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $192 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing