We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Kevin McQuade: A Seasoned Concierge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kevin McQuade: A Seasoned Concierge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Condé Naste Traveler states that a Seasoned Concierge is: better connected than the internet, faster than a T3 line, and able to book the unbookable in a single call. When they wrote that, I know they were thinking of Kevin McQuade. On the busiest week in Charleston, he got my out-of-town friends and my family reservations to my favorite downtown restaurant. I live here and knew to call WAY in advance and still could not get a reservation. One chat with Kevin McQuade only a few days before we wanted to to go and he not only got us the time we wanted, but THE CHEF's table! My guests and my family felt like rock stars. This is why I always tell my friends to stay at this Courtyard. All the staff are gems!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLikeALocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    445
    134
    32
    14
See reviews for
412
649
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family visited Charleston for the first time in April. We were staying for 4 days and wanted to make the most of our time so three weeks before we came we spoke to Kevin McQuade, the concierge. By talking to him early, he was able to make all the arrangements so our family could have the most unforgettable vacation ever! He and Elizabeth (the other concierge) know all the right people and places to show the best of Charleston. The key is to call BEFORE you come. Everything we did was amazing! The hotel was wonderful as well...we wouldn't change a thing! Thanks Kevin and Elizabeth!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 32amys32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is in a great location and within easy walking distance to everything. The concierge service (both Elizabeth and Kevin) was very helpful, but often there was a line of people waiting to ask a question. The hotel's parking ($16/day) is available both in their onsite deck or across the street. We easily found parking anytime we needed it. Our room was on the courtyard/pool side and was very quiet. I can imagine that the street side rooms may have some traffic noise. The only negative we experienced was the housekeeping. The quality was inconsistent and lacked attention to detail. For example, one day they only provided 2 towels and no washcloths.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool/courtyard side are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AllyJ-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a great experience at this Courtyard property - great location, easy to get around, rooms and staff were exceptional (better than the local Marriott Rennaisance I stayed at a year ago!). Great choice - can't beat it!

Room Tip: Suites are great for a little extra! Try to get south facing rooms though, not rooms along Calhoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Charleston is a beautiful and historic city, with friendly people and lots of good food. Our vacation there went from good to great due to Kevin McQuade, concierge extraordinaire. He sized up our family and made solid recommendations. He first advised us to rent tandem bikes from Affordabikes. Great call! We were able to easily see the city and the tandems were a blast, our kids loved them. Kevin's next recommendation was the Eco tour of a nearby barrier island. The tour was run by extremely knowledgeable guides who were passionate about the bay and the marine life. We enjoyed walking around the barrier island. Ed Macy's ghost tour was another Kevin rec and a big hit. Whether you believe or not, Ed tells a great story and it was worth it to see the College of Charleston campus at night. Since we were the adventurous types, Kevin sent us to Bertha's for some soul food off of the beaten track. A good meal and a real bargain.Our family also enjoyed Folly Beach (we ate at Taco Boy's) where we rented a golf cart and went to see the lighthouse. The Citadel campus was neat, especially if you are into history or the military. The final coup de grace was Kevin's special late night tour of the city. We were privileged that he chose to show us some of his favorite alleys, gardens and mansions that come alive at night. Kevin is passionate about Charleston and he made our family vacation a wonderful experience. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank stevegenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
200 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

After reading the multitude of excellent reviews, we decided to try out this hotel rather than our usual Marriott (by the water)....this hotel is near everything, we basically left our car and walked to restaurants, marketplace, etc., and the room was very large and the bathroom was huge but, all the reviews mentioned the concierge as being a "must" before embarking on any trip around Charleston but neglected to mention that, because the concierge service is so built up by both Trip Advisor and the hotel itself, it is virtually impossible to get to speak to them in person. We were only visiting the area for two days and, each time we went to ask them a question, they were surrounded by people (a good sign but, to someone wanting information, a turn-off if the wait was extremely long). So, we decided to read the brochures and branch out on our own (which was fine for us). Good hotel, nice breakfast selections at the bistro, very friendly and helpful front desk staff (suggested a restaurant that we went to on our first night which was a 'winner' as far as we were concerned) so....all in all, very good experience and ....we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sthomas0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good location, nice room, comfortable beds, contemporary lobby space, and a FANTASTIC concierge who helped make my family's time in Charleston very well spent. I was in town for a conference at the Charleston Place, and my family was able to join me (kids ages 14, 12, & 11). The Courtyard was conveniently located about 1/2 mile away on Meeting Street, and it was an easy walk down Meeting Street to/from the hotel.

The Courtyard provided complimentary concierge service in the lobby, and she really helped guide my wife and kids on activities and sights to see. There was a slight mix up on one of the carriage ride times (it wasn't the concierge's fault), and when she learned about it, she followed up with my wife to make sure everything was OK. Stellar service!

Nice hotel, comfortable rooms, great staff, convenient walking location downtown and a reasonable price. I will definitely stay here again if I have the opportunity.

Room Tip: If you need a roll-away bed, ask in advance (as we did). It was ready in our room upon check-in, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indy_Jones_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing