We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very Comfortable Hotel and a Great Concierge"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
High Point, N.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Very Comfortable Hotel and a Great Concierge"”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary in Charleston this year, at the Courtyard - Historic District Hotel. We enjoyed a wonderful stay there. Everyone made us feel welcome. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable. Kevin McQuade, the Concierge is the Go-To guy for planning your sightseeing and restaurant adventure. He made a dinner reservation for my wife and I in the Historic District, with- in walking distance of the hotel. He also set us up for an excursion trip to Capers Island. This is a deserted environmentally protected island north of Charleston and accessible only by boat. The walking tour of the Historic District conducted by a native charlestonian ( Micheal Touche) is a must do. The hotel is fortunate to have a Concierge like Kevin, he truly loves Charleston .
PS : Ask Kevin about the personal night tour of the Historic District.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    476
    151
    34
    15
See reviews for
440
691
28
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my third trip to the Marriott Historic District in Charleston and each time I have been amazed at how great the concierge, Kevin McQuade, is at suggesting just the right thing, from restaurants to historic tours. My daughter is attending school in the area and we are just getting to know this great city and we welcome expert suggestions. I love the location of the hotel, right in the heart of this very walkable city, but if you are weary from all the walking, the staff here will be happy to arrange a taxi for you . The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, offering true southern hospitality. The hotel itself is well appointed, very clean and welcoming. I do not give high praise often, but this hotel. thanks to its excellent service, is deserving.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaGhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Tina Ghiz,

Sounds like the 3rd time might be the charm! We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for this great review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to see that your daughter is going to college here and we heartily recommend College of Charleston, which is right out our side door on Meeting Street, The Citadel and Charleston Southern as great college choices.

We know that you will be back to visit your daughter again soon and we are privileged for you to consider our hotel as your home away from home...hurry back!

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On our trip to Charleston started out rough, but once we arrived in Charleston and got to our hotel things turned around. The hotel room was very nice, clean and wonderful staff. The location was close to so many things. Concierge, Kevin McQuade was FABULOUS! He set up all our tours, made our dining reservations and even got us a rental car. He even took us on a evening tour in the historical district. That was AMAZING! The little maps and cheat sheets of information were so helpful every where we went. Kevin made our trip even more memorable with all his knowledge and caring about our experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarayn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Tarayn S,

We are in total agreement that Charleston is an amazing city and we thank you so much for the fabulous review of our hotel. Although your travel in might have been trying, once you arrived it was great to hear that everything went even beyond your expectations.

We appreciate your business so much.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkville, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We still wish we were in Charleston after our wonderful trip there about a week ago!! We stayed 3 nights at the Historic District Courtyard after staying 2 nights in Mt. Pleasant. Our stay at the Courtyard can only be described as "Perfect"! We contacted Kevin McQuade, Chief Concierge at this hotel about a month prior to our arrival. He discussed with us our plans and reviewed what our interests were and made suggestions to maximize our visit to Charleston. Kevin even had suggestions for us in Mt. Pleasant, before we arrived at this hotel! We made our decisions on tours and restaurants before our travels, then Kevin made all the arrangements and confirmed those with us prior to our arrival.

Let me just say that we have never worked with a Concierge to plan as much for us as we did with this trip. I can assure you that Kevin is definately a man of his word and putting your trust in him for assistance & guidance will end up making a most memorable trip!! From the moment we checked into the Courtyard we were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff--they were all GREAT! The whole facility is warm and inviting while being professional and low key. The Historic District Courtyard is very Modern which is a nice contrast to this old, historical city. It's location is perfect to take in the many options of the city.....we were able to return our rental car and then walk to our Brunch and then back a few blocks to our hotel! We easily walked to the pier to catch the Ft. Sumter tour/Aquarium and then other days we took an easy walk down to the Market area and the French Quarter. With King Street over about a block, there were many options for shopping and entertainment along with the restaurants located up and down this street. If you should choose not to walk as much, the "free" Trolley has a stop right at the hotel corner--we took this a few times and it is also a great option.

Much to our delight, Kevin asked us to meet him in the Lobby at 9:30pm on the first night of our arrival. He personally took us down to the South of Broad street area to show us the historic district at night. What an incredible evening it was, as he showed us hidden gardens, alleys and beautiful sights that were lighted on this fantastic evening!! We felt like time travelers as we weaved thru the streets and saw almost no one out--it was a once in a lifetime experience!

Needless to say, every meal was out of this world!! Kevin made reservations for us a several restaurants: Halls Chophouse, Husk, The MacIntosh, Cru Cafe and gave us suggestions for Happy Hours and etc. Each place was outstanding and definately meals to remember!
Also, the tour conducted by Tommy Dew that Kevin booked for us is definately a "must do" for those that want authentic history woven with the traditions & politics of the South that has helped to define this city.

We experienced an interesting comment from another customer at Cru Cafe on the day we left the city.....this person told the waitress that their meal was wonderful and told them they had been coming to Charleston for 20 years & staying in the same place and never knew this restaurant was here. They were only staying about a block and 1/2 away and I am guessing the concierge never told them about it!! So, KUDOS to Kevin for knowing the best places to go and working with these places to be in the know!!

I must admit that I was not sure about the location of this hotel before we came here. But, it truly is in the middle of every part of this interesting city and it is all within easy access. If we are able to return for another visit, the Historic District Courtyard will be the place we will return to. Immerse yourself to experience this city and put your trust in the staff of this hotel--believe me you won't be sorry!! THANKS to everyone at this location for making this one of our best trips ever!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally6415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sally6415,

What an incredible review! We thank you so much for being our guest here in Charleston.

We loved hearing the details of your awesome visit. The great restaurants, Kevin's incredible service, and the things that made it memorable.

Your last paragraph is one that I hope people will truly remember because those comments mean so much to all of us here. "Immerse yourself to experience the city and put your trust in the staff of the hotel." That is the highest form of praise and we understand the responsibility that comes with that.

We expect to see you again soon and we look very forward to it!

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriot Historic District. After a horrible day of traveling and arriving to our hotel 8 hours late the hotel staff was very pleasant and professional and all the stress of the travel day dissipated. Our room was large and very comfortable. We enjoyed the athletic room which was also very clean with easy access. The best thing about our trip was Kevin McQuade , the concierge. He wanted us to tell him what we wanted to do on our trip then he helped plan the most exciting and beautiful vacation ever. He has an energy and a love for the city that is contagious. Our night time stroll through the city was amazing. It was like being taken back in time and there are not enough words to describe how wonderful the whole trip was. I would highly recommend staying at the Courtyard and contacting Kevin McQuade prior to your arrival. I had wanted to make this trip for a long time and it truly was amazing. Thanks to Kevin for the great travel direction cards, lining up a rental car and just every little detail that he took care of to make our trip so fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Diane R,

What started out as a horrible day of traveling turned into a great visit! We are so pleased that you chose our hotel and that you had a fun and satisfying experience.

You called your trip the "most exciting and beautiful vacation ever." For Charleston to be at the top of your list is high praise indeed. Kevin again did a remarkable job and he continues to amaze. His excitement for Charleston is contagious and we can tell that you were definitely infected and affected! The only antidote is to continue to come back about every week and stay with us!

We appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Concierge Kevin McQuade gave us everything we needed to see the best of Charleston during our three-day stay. From which tours to take (based on our preferences ... which plantations to visit ... to where to eat. Kevin even had his guide to off-the-beaten path walks and how to find restrooms while wandering the city. His attention to detail was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMcGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Kevin and Marcus were so helpful and they made our trip better that I could have imagined. Both are true assets to the Courtyard. I'll be back and I hope these men will be at this hotel on my next trip.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennyColumbus_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing