We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best concierge anywhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #25 of 60 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best concierge anywhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Concierge Kevin McQuade gave us everything we needed to see the best of Charleston during our three-day stay. From which tours to take (based on our preferences ... which plantations to visit ... to where to eat. Kevin even had his guide to off-the-beaten path walks and how to find restrooms while wandering the city. His attention to detail was exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMcGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    468
    144
    33
    15
See reviews for
426
684
27
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Kevin and Marcus were so helpful and they made our trip better that I could have imagined. Both are true assets to the Courtyard. I'll be back and I hope these men will be at this hotel on my next trip.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennyColumbus_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in July and it was one of the best travel experiences we have ever had. Kevin McQuade made our trip a memory to be cherished! He directed us to the best sights in Charleston and our two boys loved the ghost tour. He gave us the optimal times to visit the attractions and the best advice we had from him was to take a bicycle tour of the historic district. It was so much fun. He hooked us up with some of the best restaurants and truly it was a vacation we will always remember. The hotel itself was wonderful -- we had a suite and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Couldn't have been a better time and when we go back, we will certainly stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for the queen suite rooms with a balcony. We enjoyed ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

After a wonderful travel day , we were greeted promptly and very professional, yet comfortable, early check in gave us much less stress about the night and allowed us to enjoy the nice stroll to the downtown. The food people and city are wonderful. I sent a text too all my kids , "perfect day" hotel was reasonable and nicely appointed. Charging extra for parking was not cool but we will live. Nice place, great city!! We have been here before and will be back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this Marriott on a weekend trip to Charleston. We liked the location a lot - it was close to the historic area and great restaurants. The rooms were renovated and had many amenities. The hotel lobby is very modern and well designed and has free coffee. I had read good reviews on the Concierge and we were very happy with his suggestions. I had never used a concierge, but Kevin McQuaid made the experience very pleasant. We had a limited amount of time and Kevin planned it really well. We went on a walking tour that he recommended, which gave us a great idea of the city. The city has a lot to offer so take advantage of it! The restaurants where Kevin made reservations for us were all fabulous and we had great seats. I will definitely be staying there again and using Kevin for my plans.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zue_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Zue_12,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel here in Charleston.

Based on your comments it was a great weekend and all went well. Kevin is indeed a great concierge and he is solely interested in providing you with the best experience based on what your interests are -- not his. Personal attention means so very much to him.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for one night with our family before heading to the beach north of Charleston. The location is very handy to the market area and great restaurants. Kids enjoyed the pool and the breakfast was handy. The staff in the restaurant were GREAT with our kids. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzouTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear MizzouTraveler70,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for being our guest here in Charleston.

We do keep the pool heated year 'round and we are happy that your kids enjoyed themselves.

We hope that you will be able to stay with us longer next time and be able to see more of the sights around our great city.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our 10 year anniversary was last weekend and we booked this hotel using my Marriott points for two nights and paying for one night. Everything was top notch with this trip....even before we arrived, I called to link the nights together so we didn't have to move rooms....Natasha helped us, ans when I mentioned it was our anniversary, she automatically upgraded us to a room with a balcony! So very nice! When we arrived, late on Thursday night, I was pleasantly surprised at how nice and stylish the hotel was.....definitely a top Courtyard property.....the person checked us in, wished us a happy anniversary and we went to our great room on the top floor!

We had no set plans for the next day and decided to talk to the concierge....Kevin McQuade is the bomb! He pointed us in the right direction for a quick breakfast, a walking tour, lunch reservations at Cru Cafe, dinner reservations at High Cotten, where we had a choice table, champagne delivered to us and a free dessert for our anniversary! Then to cap off a fabulous day....Kevin met us back at the hotels and brought us on a private tour of the nighttime gardens and alleys of Charleston! It was so special, and unique and fun!

The next morning on Kevin's recommendation we walked around the Charleston Farmers Market and had breakfast....drive over to Folly Beach (not worth the trip)' lunch at the Glass Onion (best gumbo ever!)' a massage, and then one of the best meals I ever had at Husk! Kevin was able to get us 7:30 reservations rather than the 5:45 ones I made months before! It was restaurant week so it was tough getting anything!

We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you for celebrating your 10th anniversary with us here in Charleston at the Courtyard in the Historic District.

With all of the great restaurants that you listed you definitely were able to get a great sampling of some of the best that Charleston has to offer.

It also sounded like Kevin was able to once again provide memorable moments for you on a very special occasion. I know that he takes great delight in ensuring that you will leave with only the fondest memories of our hotel and the area.

Thank you for the great review and we wish you all of the very best.

Sincerely,
John Dallas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing