We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The #1 Reason to Stay at the Courtyard is Kevin McQuade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“The #1 Reason to Stay at the Courtyard is Kevin McQuade”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am confident that my husband and I made the most of the few days we spent in Charleston because Kevin McQuade helped us plan an extraordinary weekend. In fact, that is how I would describe Kevin -- extraordinary. His recommendations were spot on, from the tours to the restaurants. I particularly appreciated that Kevin took the time out to ask what we expected of our weekend, what we like to do while on vacation and what interests us before making recommendations. He truly went above and beyond to ensure that our trip would be memorable. And it was. If for no other reason, you should stay at the Courtyard to use the services of Kevin. And if you do, ask him about his favorite Charleston homes, alleys and churches, you'll be surprised and amazed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    478
    151
    35
    18
See reviews for
444
693
28
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Located across from Marion Square, this Courtyard is a great central location and convenient to most Downtown areas.

Kudos to Vicky at the Front Desk and to Kevin (the legendary Concierge) for EXCELLENT customer service.

The hotel was recently converted/renovated from an older Holiday Inn – very nice job.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Namgrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

If you are looking for a resort this is not it- but if you are looking for great service, friendly staff, location and price stay no where else. Elizabeth was the concierge who helped us plan our days. We met with her first thing in the morning- she got us a tour(which was excellent)- and once we knew what we wanted to see- told us what not to miss. She was just excellent and she alone was worth staying there. She had maps for us. Again she alone was worth staying there. We had a problem with our remote control and I called the front desk- and someone was there there almost before I hung up the phone. The people at the front desk could not have been more helpful and friendly. It is just two blocks to King Street- and thus away from the crowds. We walked to everything. As I said, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zagfan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My son and I took our first trip to Charleston last week to visit the College of Charleston. We chose the Mariott Courtyard Historic District because of it's proximity to the College. Because the hotel is so new no one we knew had ever stayed there but we figured it was worth the risk since we were in Charleston for less than 24 hours. We checked in, dropped off our stuff in our spacious,modern, immaculate room and went downstairs to explore the city. We noticed the concierge was on duty even though it was the middle of a Sunday afternoon so we figured we would ask him for a recommendation for a late lunch. Well, speaking with the concierge, Kevin McQuade, was the best decision we could have made. Kevin was amazing! We told him why we were in Charleston and he took it as his personal responsibility to get us as familiar with the city and the College as possible during our short visit. He recommended a horse drawn carriage ride through the historic district and then gave us a fabulous recommendation for a local sea food dinner and for an outstanding breakfast for the next morning before our college tour. He provided us with walking maps, driving directions, etc... so we could cover a lot of ground and see as much as possible. He even had a young woman who attends the College of Charleston and who worked at the hotel come over and talk with us so my son could ask her questions. Kevin is an enthusiastic ambassador for the city of Charleston, you can tell he loves sharing this wonderful city with visitors, but the most incredible thing Kevin did was to offer to take us on a walking tour of Charleston at night. He spent 2 hours of his own time (free of charge) walking us through some of the most exquisite neighborhoods of Charleston. Needless to say, we left the next day feeling like we had a great sense of the city and can't wait to come back. We would definitely stay at the Mariott Historic District again (room was quiet and beds were extremely comfortable)and we hope our son gets admitted to the College so we can visit often!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

There are only two great things you need to know about the Marriott Courtyard Hotel in Charleston: great location and the only Courtyard in the country I know of with a concierge. Kevin McQuade is the best concierge I have ever worked with, better than at any five star hotel or resort. Be forewarned-he is extremely busy, so getting time with him is a premium! Hotel is brand new & is currently adding more rooms. Great lobby. It is within a 10 minute walk of the historic district of Charleston. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macroprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Kevin McQuade is the best concierge I have ever spoken to. He gave great advice on what to see and made my stay at the hotel very enjoyable. The hotel is very close to where you need to be an the price is much more affordable than others in the area. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bman55416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We selected the Marriott Historic District solely because it was listed as a new hotel (open only about 1 year) in a location well within walking distance of almost everywhere we wanted to see while we were in Charleston for our first visit. We found the room service a little lacking (we had to ask to have clean towels and toilet paper brought to the room) and the small bistro style eatery was staffed with servers who didn't know how to prepare the Starbuck's items they advertised and service was extremely slow. The servers were also handling money and preparing food without taking time to wash their hands between the two so we opted to frequent the courtesy coffee bar in the main lobby which we found very good and well stocked. We were also unaware that there was a major construction project in-progress to expand the hotel with another 90 rooms - something that we were reminded of whenever we opened our curtains and saw workers not 20 feet from the window as they formed and poured concrete. What made our whole stay at the Marriott Charleston Historic District so memorable wasn't the hotel itself, it was the SUPERB service we received from the Chief Concierge, Kevin McQuade. In just a few minutes, Kevin skillfully acquired enough information about our interests to prepare a custom vacation package tailored for this middle-aged couple on their 4-day anniversary getaway and every day included a selection of morning and afternoon activities and finished with dinner reservations at restaurants selected by Kevin that met our diverse culinary preferences. What we didn't expect, nor would we have imagined that we would also be treated a personal after-dark tour of the most spectacular homes and gardens that make Charleston's Historic District such desirable real estate. Kevin not only provided documentary about the locations we visited (a standard fare for any of the city tours) he posed us in front of some of the most ornamental homes and other places of historic importance and took photographs (actually laying on his back in the street to get a perfect angle) that we will cherish forever and he is the sole reason we rate service as Excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningAwayFromKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#16 of 61 in Charleston
2,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 61 in Charleston
2,826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Historic District

Property: Courtyard Charleston Historic District
Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401-3511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#19 Family Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing