We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charleston SC. Colonial Walking Tours”

The History of Charleston Walking Tour
Ranked #12 of 224 Tours in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Join a 13th generation Middleton, for a personalized local perspective. End the tour in a private garden with refreshments. Walk with a local who grew up romping the streets of the downtown peninsula. The history of the city will come alive through the bricks and mortar still standing.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charleston SC. Colonial Walking Tours”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My wife and I were in Charleston for three days in late November. We had a wonderful time and have a recommendation for a visit to Charleston. Make a walking tour of the historic district a first activity so you receive an informed introduction and overview of this beautiful historic city. After this tour you can better plan your activities and time. A friend of ours suggested Colonial Walking Tours and we were very pleased that we booked with them. Our guide was Martha, but all you have to do is read the other reviews and you will see that every guide is outstanding! We were lucky enough to get a personal walking tour from this 13th generation Charlestonian and Middleton family descendant (just like Ann). Martha was delightful and has a wealth of knowledge of this city. She also adds interesting tidbits from her own experiences and childhood memories, plus, she is very open to questions. We enjoyed ending the tour drinking lemonade with Martha in her parents garden. We both highly recommend Colonial Walking Tours!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NedB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GREAT informative tour”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our tour guide, Ann, is a 13th generation Charlestonian and gave us information not only about the Middleton family but also about areas of Charleston, unknown to the unenlightened.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, TN
Level Contributor
235 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Fun on the Ghost Hunt”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just took the Ghost Hunt Tour and had a great time. Scott, our guide was very knowledgeable and made the whole tour fun. You do not have to believe in ghost to have fun on this tour. It's more about some of the true interesting historical facts of Charleston and the legions of others seeing ghost. This is not a scary experience for adults, but very informing. Very much worth the $13 each we paid.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
“Incredibly Knowledgeable”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife, daughter and I were fortunate enough to have a tour all to ourself given by Anne Middleton Herron. We were impressed with her knowledge down to the smallest detail. There wasn't a question relating to the history of Charleston that she couldn't answer. We especially enjoyed the way Anne engaged us throughout the tour with Trivia questions. But what made this tour the most memorable was how accommodating Anne was with our 15 month old daughter. We had no choice but to bring her along and Anne was completely patient yet capable of delivering a flawless tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Colonial Walking Tours, Charleston, SC”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a personal walking tour of Charleston by Martha, a 13th generation Charlestonian and descendant of the Middleton family. It was a Sunday morning and we were the only ones who had signed up for this tour. We recommend going on this tour as the first activity you do in Charleston in order to get your bearings and to learn of the history of this beautiful and historic city. Martha has a wealth of knowledge of this city not only from history but also from her own personal and childhood memories growing up. Highly recommend.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marlene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The History of Charleston Walking Tour also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The History of Charleston Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing