We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun”

Charleston Brews Cruise
Ranked #1 of 28 Food & Drink in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience a taste of Charleston's flourishing craft beer scene with an exclusive tour of the local craft breweries. Enjoy generous samples as we visit three local breweries by bus on each tour. Learn brewing techniques and expand your palate as you enjoy a taste of Charleston. Tour schedules vary based on the day so visit our website to view which breweries you wish to attend. So sit back and relax because we're doing the driving!
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
“Great fun”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Such a fun tour. Brent was very knowledgeable about all types of beer and was willing to pass his knowledge on to the four of us. He claims to have gained this knowledge from books but considering how well known he was at the breweries I find this is questionable. Brent took the time to find out what beers we liked and provided samples accordingly. Great trip for a cloudy day. Who am I kidding, any day. Guaranteed you will have fun even if you are not trying. Super value for the money and the day just flies by. Our whole time in Charleston was a blast but this trip was the best part.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cigdecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Owner at Charleston Brews Cruise, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review, and for coming on the tour! We had about as much fun as possible on the tour. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“They didn't show up!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We scheduled the tour online a couple months before our trip. On my reservation sheet it did say unconfirmed but we thought a tour would make in the time between booking and the date of the tour. The tour didn't make. They should have at least emailed to tell me it never made. I could have called to check but I forgot. Anyway we had it in our itinerary, worked our schedule around it and then they didn't show. We had several other tours where we were the only people on the tour or there were only four of us. They still showed up.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank pricefam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Owner at Charleston Brews Cruise, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
When reserving a Brews Cruise tour online, the check out page where the credit card number is imputed states the following:
*Booking request pending
This is a booking request only, and it will be reviewed by our staff before being accepted or declined. You will be notified via email when the booking is accepted or declined.

*An email is also sent to the customer at the time of the booking request where the the following is stated:
Status: Not Confirmed

This tour was never confirmed or finalized, nor was the credit card charged, therefore it wasn't booked. We understand that other tour companies operate with less than four people, but stated throughout the Brews Cruise website is we require at least four people to operate a tour. We are sorry for the confusion and wish there had been other requests to attend this particular tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great All-Around Tour!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I took the Charleston Brews Cruise recently and really enjoyed the tour! Brent is an awesome guide as many people have already mentioned. He truly takes time to make it personable with each person in the group. He also had waters and snacks he offered which was another great touch! You can tell Brent wants to make the tour fun for you! We went on a Friday and toured Westbroook, Palmetto Brewery and Holy City. Each place had great beers and I truly enjoyed the unique flavors and different types of beers offered for sampling at each brewery. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Charleston and wants something a bit different than the usual history tour. You will not be disappointed! The last thing I want to mention is this tour would be good in rainy or cold conditions since its in a small bus and you aren't outside for long periods.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Brent is fab! His knowledge of the lowcountry and breweries make him the best bet around for a great time. Everything he does he does with enthusiasm, humor and professional manner. Take his cruise, you'll be glad you did, it is fun!!!
Kristina Connolly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Drink local in Charleston”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Took the Brews Cruise ( which is done in a van) with Brent to explore local breweries in the Charleston area. Was a great time drinking local brew and learning more about the process. Brent is a great guide and was perfect for my business team building activity

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charleston Brews Cruise also viewed

 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Charleston Brews Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing