We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find off the beaten path”

Queen Street Grocery & Cafe
Ranked #13 of 37 Dessert in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We provide the freshest ingredients daily in our delicious crepes, hot-pressed sammies and salads. We offer fresh local smoothies and a special of the day that will blow your mind! Shop around for local craft beer and unique wines as well as local provisions and knick knacks. After all, we are #notyouraveragecornerstore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find off the beaten path”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We were wandering Charleston Village neighborhood and found the old corner grocery now serving fresh crepes, salads and sandwiches made from local ingredients. Come early and they'll make breakfast. Very casual atmosphere, a few outside tables and a great departure from the hustle of downtown

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robin12495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neighborhood favorite!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This cafe and grocery is adorable. You must stop by to enjoy this cafe. You can have crepes or omelettes for breakfast or some wondeful sandwiches for lunch. Very low key as this is a neighborhood cafe. Not only is the food wonderfult and fixed right where you can see them BUT very inexpensive which is a good thing in Charleston. Don't miss it, worth a little walk to the cafe while you enoly the historic homes along thwe way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stthomasfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
266 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Cool suburban chic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Called in for a bottle of wine one evening and on the basis of what we saw, decide to pop back for breakfast. They have a few chairs on the pavement and limited seating inside. The ordering was definitely chaotic - one guy definitely struggles when the place gets busy. Trouble is, they are too good for their own good! The crepes rightly get a good rap, as do the luscious french toasts. But stay away from the pressed coffee. I have absolutely no idea of what it was trying to be, but it was a FAIL.
The Queen St Grocery store has the potential to be massively popular, if they can keep up.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbuddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss this little gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great, unassuming little place . Delicious crepes. Sandwiches looked really good too. Can't beat it if you're looking for a place for brunch or lunch while out walking through Charleston.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TarzanNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice neighborhood gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had crepes here for brunch. I really liked mine (the Wadmalaw) but my wife said hers was just "ok" (the Pawleys). Ordering process and goings-on in the kitchen seemed a little disorganized, but overall the service was prompt and friendly. Ate at a small table on the sidewalk and enjoyed the atmosphere of this quiet spot a couple of blocks off the main drag.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jnmrk97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Street Grocery & Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Queen Street Grocery & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing