We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Location best attributes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2011

An older hotel that is still in moderate style. It's a 3 1/2 or 4 star I would say.
Pro's: The location can't be beat. It is in walking distance to everything in downtown Charleston. The room was clean and we are germaphobes. There was a nice patio with 2 chairs outside our room which would be a definite plus in warmer months. The service was great. Very pleasant porters- accommodating and willing to please. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet so we had a good night's sleep. We enjoyed drinks in the Bermuda restaurant downstairs.
Con's: The bathroom is tiny. I felt like I was in a NYC water closet. No free parking. The High-speed Internet didn't work.
Overall we had a good experience. It is not a memorable hotel, but for the location and price it is a good choice. I wouldn't mind recommending it to a friend if they were looking for a decent place to stay without a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sskelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2011

Thank you for your feedback.

Originally opened in 1853, the Historic Mills House Hotel was the first public building in Charleston to have both hot and cold running water on a large scale. It was really quite remarkable for the time. Ladies’ baths were on each guest floor and gentlemen’s baths were on the lobby level. Over the last 150 or so years we have worked to update those cutting edge amenities from the mid-nineteenth century and have added guest bathrooms to each room. Since individual bathrooms were an add-on much later than the original design, our bathrooms can not be described as large, although they are larger than you find in many historic hotels. All baths offer a full size tub, but unfortunately the rooms aren’t large enough for double vanities.

The location and history are certainly two of the top features of the Mills House. We are located in the very heart of the Historic District on the corners of Meeting and Queen Streets. Just two blocks south of the City Market, we are close enough for easy access, but far enough away so the activities and nightlife are not just outside your bedroom window.

The Mills House is the closest full service hotel to the “South of Broad” residential district (just one short block) and the Charleston Harbor waterfront and Battery Park (White Point Gardens, 5 blocks). As you stroll down Meeting Street to the Battery you will pass the home of our original proprietor, Otis Mills, at 37 Meeting St. This home was first built in 1760 by James Simmons. On his death it was sold to Governor Robert Gibbes, who would ned to evacuate his home when the British occupied Charleston during the American Revolutionary War. Purchased by Otis Mills in 1840, it would serve as Headquarters to General Pierre GT Beauregard, commander of the Confederate forces in Charleston when the first shots of the Civil War were fired in 1861.

As Beauregard had his Headquarters at Mills’ home, General Robert E. Lee would have his Field Headquarters at the Mills House Hotel in the fall of 1861. General Lee, on assignment from Jefferson Davis, was in Charleston to inspect the city’s defenses. He was hosted at the hotel and honored by a reception in our ballroom. General Lee and his staff were instrumental in saving the hotel from the Great Fire of 1861 and an artist proof by Civil War artist Mort Kunstler, displayed behind our front desk, depicts Lee on our Meeting Street balcony as troops pass in review. The same suites that served as Lee’s headquarters also hosted President Theodore Roosevelt on his visit to Charleston in 1901.

Our balcony rooms, located on the second floor overlooking Queen Street, are very popular. These rooms provide a great spot to watch the horse drawn carriages pass and enjoy the charm of the country’s “most walkable city.” For only a few dollars more, the opportunity to enjoy the city from these balconies is a real treat, especially with Spring just around the corner.

Along with location and history, service really makes the Mills House special. Thank you for recognizing the hard work of our housekeeping team and the friendliness of our porters. It is really their hard work that has earned our AAA “Four Diamond’ rating along with recognition such as Conde’ Nast Traveller’s “Gold List,” National Geographic Travel’s “Best of the City’, and inclusion among Southern Living’s “Favorite Hotels.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,170 - 3,176 of 3,473 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2011

My wife and I visited Charleston for two nights and stayed at the Mills House. It is centrally located at 115 Meeting Street so you can walk to practically everything. Valet or self parking is available. We chose valet and it was quick and easy each time we needed our car. The hotel is very nice with clean rooms and a superb and helpful staff. We stayed in a fifth floor front corner room. It was roomy and had four windows so you could look out and see Charleston, the beautiful architecture the many church steeples, the harbor, and Sullivan's Island in the distance.. The hotel is very quiet at night.. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent. The cost for our room was not expensive nor inexpensive, about right for what we received. We chose to have breakfast one morning at Joseph's down the street about four buildings. It's a great place to start the day. The next day we ate in the hotel and it too offer good food, although slightly more expensive that Joseph's. I would definitely stay at the Mills House again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senior-diner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. Originally opened in 1853, the Historic Mills House Hotel is located right in the very heart of the Historic District. We are just a short stroll from the boutique shopping, renowned dining and historical attractions that have placed Charleston among the top destinations in the U.S. The Mills House is only two blocks from the City Market; close enough for easy access, but far enough so the activity and nightlife aren’t right outside your bedroom. We are half a block from King Street’s Antique District, and half a block from the French Quarter galleries. We are also just one block from the residential district “South of Broad,” the most desirable area of the city and a favorite for both locals and visitors.

The guest room you selected, our King Corner Room is one of our favorites. While it is a little smaller than the Junior Suites, the four windows, and the great views make these rooms very popular, and the good news is they are only slightly more expensive than our traditional rooms. You need to reserve these early, as there are only 4 of these room types in the hotel.

Joseph’s is certainly a favorite for breakfast (we love the beignets) and is one of the many great restaurants just a short stroll from the Mills House. Some of our other favorites include 82 Queen, Magnolia’s and High Cotton, but these are only a few of the amazing choices for dining just outside our door.

We appreciate your comments on our team. We try hard to make sure every team member keeps the “guests first” approach to every interaction and looks for ways to make each person feel welcome and appreciated. Your comments will definitely be shared with the team.

For AAA and Senior guests we are offering a special Sunday-Thursday discount of 15% off in the months of January and February. Book under these special rates and you also receive two complimentary glasses of wine and an appetizer in the First Shot Lounge. This is really one of the best values in the Historic District this season.

We hope to see you on a return visit in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My mom and I take a mother/daughter trip every year for my birthday so I chose Charleston this year. I took a chance on Hotwire for the first time and I was granted the Mills House as a 4 star hotel. I wasn't pleased at first because I didn't believe a Holiday Inn could be a 4 star hotel. Well, I was wrong. The service has been great. When we first arrived Zack at the front door ran down to help us with our bags. We had a lot of bags and he couldn't do enough to help us. He took all our bags and stuff up to our room with a cheerful spirit. He made sure we had a refrig. in our room. He definitely made a great first impression. We I got to the room I was a little disappointed because it could have used a little updating. But all was well in the morning. When we came down to go out for the day it was raining so we get to the door and Mr. John was there with a smile and said you can get a umbrella at the front desk. So after I got our complimentary umbrellas Mr John pointed us in the right direction and we had a wonderfully blessed day. Thank you Zack and Mr. John for helping start my birthday off right.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Service is our #1 business and we strive to make every contact between our guests and a team member a memorable moment. Both Zach and John are great assets to our team. I will be sure to pass your comments along to both of them.

We are very happy you chose the Historic Mills House Hotel for your special trip with your mother. With the many events coming up over the next several months (Southeastern Wildlife Weekend, Charleston Wine and Food Festival, the Spring Tours of Homes and Gardens, and the Charleston Art and Antique Festival to name but a few) we hope to see you back in Charleston soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Wiley is a great addition to the Mills House staff. Perfect location in downtown Charleston and walking distance to all the great restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkelly49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Thank you for your feedback. It is always helpful to get positive comments that recognize a specific team member who works to exceed expectations.

Originally opened is 1853, the Mills House‘s location is in the very heart of the Historic District. The shopping on King Street is just half a block away (we are in the Antique District of King Street) and the French Quarter Galleries are half a block in the other direction. The famous Battery and Charleston Harbor waterfront are just a 10 minute stroll from the hotel, passing through the largest collection of 18th and 19th century collections of homes and churches in the U.S. Charleston defines a “walking city” and when you select the Mills House the best of Charleston is truly right outside your door.

Over 50 restaurants, offering everything nationally acclaimed fine dining, to casual seafood, to the most innovative farm to table dining are within a 15 minute stroll of the hotel. The Barbadoes Dining Room at the Mills House was named because of the extensive trade between the Barbados and the Carolina Colony. We offes great Southern cosine in a relaxed atmosphere and features our “Children Eat Free” for hotels guests when children under 12 are dining with adults. The Barbadoes Room also serves the Best Sunday Brunch in the city. As a side note for you quick spellers, we use a historical spelling for “Barbadoes” discovered on a sign, circa 1860, found in Paris by legendary antique collector Anthony Hale,. This sign is displayed in our Fountain Courtyard which adjoins the Barbadoes Room through the First Shot Lounge.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Wiley was very helpful to my friends and me during our recent stay at The Mills House over the New Year's Eve weekend. He is an extrememly helpful employee!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2011

Thank you for your comments. Our hope is for every associate of the Mills House to exceed every guest’s expectation on every encounter. We are happy that Wiley was able to help in making your stay memorable and we look forward to seeing again on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the Mills House, and loved it. The staff was friendly and very attentive, and the concierge was sweet and helpful. The hotel public rooms are historic and lovely -- the lobby was decorated for Christmas with beautiful live trees and garlands. The food was excellent. It was amazing to visit where Robert E. Lee once stayed! Great location, a couple of blocks from Toast, an einexpensive place for great breakfasts, and just up the street from the Market. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indymama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My wife and I decided to spend a couple of nights in Charleston, SC and in going through the reviews the Mills House appealed to us. We are really glad we chose this place. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The room we chose (a corner room on the 6th floor on the front of the hotel) gave us a great view of Charleston and was furnished nicely. The desk staff was very courteous and helpful, the valets were always on the spot and the bar/restaurant staff were a great group as well.

The hotel is located at the corner of Meeting and Queen streets. It was centrally located to restaurants and many historic buildings and homes. We spent our one full day walking around and taking in the sights and this hotel was the perfect home base for our sightseeing.

When we go back to Charleston, and we will, we'll also go back to the Mills House.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbozman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. Originally opened in 1853, the Mills House truly provides the feel of stepping back in time to the charm and beauty of nineteenth century Charleston. Our City View Rooms do offer terrific views of the historic rooftops and each of these rooms have views of either the Cooper or Ashley Rivers or Charleston Harbor. The City View Rooms are well worth the small premium for the upgrade.

We especially appreciate your comments on our team. Service is our business and it is with feedback like yours that allows us to congratulate our team on a job well done. I’ll be sure to share your comments.

Located in the heart of the Historic District, the Mills House is just two blocks from the City Market; close enough to enjoy all the activities of the Market, but set away closer to the beautifully restored residential district, so all the Market nightlife activity is not outside your bedroom window. The Mill House is also only a five minute stroll down Meeting Street to the Battery Park area, where you can walk along the harbor side promenade and enjoy the views of the famous Battery mansions. As you walk down Meeting Street, you will pass the home of original Mills House proprietor Otis Mills. Mr. Mills would open his home to General PGT Beauregard who would be in-residence when he commanded troops firing the first shot of the Civil War.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,262 reviews
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,634 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range: $203 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing