We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolute pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Sumter, South Carolina
1 review
“Absolute pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We booked our tickets on Priceline and got a great deal. The location cannot be beat. You are within walking distance to everything (restaurants, museums, carriage tours). The hotel staff was efficient and non-obtrusive. Even the cleaning crew was quiet. They offered a turn-down service that felt like home. We ate at the restaurant in the hotel that offered a free meal for the kids. The room was nicely furnished and had a very modern bathroom. I wanted a to stay at a hotel right on the historical district that still offered all the charms and effect of what is Charleston but not pay a ridiculous amount for it. We were satisfied on all accounts with The Mills House.
The only real down side was parking. It is only offered in a garage next door (they do offer an easy access ramp to the hotel) but it costs $20 daily. And be sure to take a look at the fine print for room service. Most of the meals were already sometimes $10 dollars more than offered at the restaurant and then they tack on a 15-18% service charge and $2 delivery fee. I recommend eating in the hotel and reap the free meal for the kids. My husband enjoyed the she-crab soup!

We stayed three nights with a three-year old and had a great time and would certainly recommend this hotel again. And there were no bed bugs as reported in another review--I was sure to check when first arriving!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs_Travel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 25, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. We believe our location is as close to perfect as you can get in Charleston. We are right between two of the most visited locations in Charleston, the City Market and The Battery. We are closer to the more pristine residential district, and while we are only a short stroll from the City Market, all the activity and night life at the Market are not just outside your bedroom window.

We are happy you enjoyed the historical character of the Mills House. Originally opened in 1853, the Mills House history has closely mirrored the history of Charleston. From serving as headquarters for Civil War Generals Robert E. Lee and P.G.T. Beauregard, to hosting President Theodore Roosevelt, the Mills House as long been a landmark of Charleston hospitality. Current guests are welcomed in lobbies of museum quality antiques and art, creating the feeling of a fine home rather than a name in a register.

Our Kids Eat Free program available to children under 12 who dine with adults is certainly a money saver for family travel and is a program for which we receive many compliments. While parking is expensive in the Historic District, hopefully the free meals for the children can help off set that expense.

We hope to see you again on your nest visit to Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    924
    309
    140
    57
See reviews for
676
1,187
79
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I booked this hotel through priceline. I called prior to arrival to request a room with a double bed since we have 2 young children. The person I spoke with on the phone was very unhelpful..saying that since the room had been booked through a third party, she couldn't guarantee anything. This hotel has about 100 double bedded rooms...our request could have been easily accommodated. It was the sheer unhelpful attitude over something so simple, that turned me off this hotel completely. They need to improve their customer service

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank neel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2010
Thank you for the opportunity to comment on Priceline and other third party booking sites. When a guest books on Priceline they are indicating they are willing to accept any hotel, with any room type in return for a slightly lower price. By booking from this site the guest is placing price as their most important factor, not the quality or location of the hotel, nor the type of room reserved. To their credit Priceline makes this clear before confirming the prepaid, non-refundable reservation.

At the Mills House we always try to honor requests for room types and the room type requests are noted on the reservation. We then look at those requests on the day of arrival to determine which ones we have the inventory to honor. We do not however take a specific room type out of our inventory days in advance, as it may be sold to another guest willing to pay the premium to guarantee their room type. Over the holiday season the demand for two beds is high.

While the writer is correct that we have almost 100 rooms with two beds, only 54 of those are standard room types that are offered at the Priceline discount. The other rooms are upgraded (more expensive) categories offering, special views, balconies, etc… Given our historical occupancy, to assume we would not sell these 54 basic rooms with two bed rooms is not accurate.

For guests where the type room they need is of critical importance to their stay, Priceline and these third party sites may not be the best source for booking rooms. Like the Mills House, most hotels will try to honor room type requests, but if the room type requested is in high demand, customers who reserve those rooms through our hotel or brand websites or by calling us directly are going to receive the opportunity to guarantee their room type.

Often you will find value rates at our hotel website only slightly higher than on Priceline once all fees charged by Priceline are assessed and these reservations provide the opportunity to guarantee your room type.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Charleston and your stay at the Mills House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Sarah J at the front desk hooked me up! I asked for early check-in and a nice, quiet room with a view; and both requests were cheerfully fulfilled. The 7th floor views facing the harbor are just spectacular. Mills House is dressed up for Christmas, and looks just beautiful! Thanks Sarah, for your great attitude and great service!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genebjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Sarah is relatively new to our team, but we are already hearing great feedback from our guests.

The City View Rooms on the 7th floor really do offer a great view of the Historic District and all 38 rooms on that floor have water views, either of the Ashley or Cooper Rivers or Charleston Harbor. This floor also has complimentary sodas available daily, nightly turndown service, and is secure access. These rooms are typically $10-15 more expensive and the views are worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

Great location! Close to broad street and a couple pretty blocks from East Bay and great food. Very friendly staff. Erika filled me in on great places to eat, and was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Located in the heart of the Historic District, we are very close to the attractions that have placed Charleston among our country’s top destinations.

Our courtyard is one of my favorite locations in the hotel. It was designed by the eminent landscape architect Loutrel Briggs, who is responsible for the design of many of the small private gardens throughout the city. Mr. Briggs first visited Charelston in 1927 and became a permanent resident in 1959. He published his book "Charleston Gardens" in 1951. To allow more space for seating in the Mills House Courtyard, some of the plants are incorporated in the tile on the floor of the courtyard and are best viewed from the second floor pool deck. The fountain in the courtyard, long a signature antique for the Mills House, is circa 1860 and was acquired from New Orleans.

Erica is truly a great asset at the front desk and is a great resource for activities in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2010

I thought my room was lovely. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. I mad a mistake in staying in for dinner when Charleston ahas so many wonderful restaurnts. The she crab soup was inedible! It tasted like flour. The beef tips were a little better, but the vegetables were raw. Breakfast was fine, though. I would stay there again but would not eat there!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. In selecting the décor of our guest rooms, the designer incorporated a little Asian flair to the rooms, as it was a sign of accomplishment to import from Asia in the mid-1800’s when the Mills House first opened. This touch of the Orient is also evident in the antique art work throughout the lobbies.

We will pass your comments on your dinner to our chef. We clearly missed the mark on your dinner. I am surprised by the problem with the she crab soup, as our soup is often recognized by local’s as among the best, but for your night we were heavy on the flour or light on the cream. I hope you will give the soup another try on a future visit. And I’m glad you enjoyed breakfast. The cinnamon swirl French toast and the Shimp and Grits are among the favorites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

We just spent four nights at The Mills House in historic Charleston. Everyone connected with this hotel made sure that our stay was perfect in every way. We truly felt as if we were visitors in someone's lovely home. The price was less than one would expect for this very special treatment. We definitely will stay here on our return to this charming city. Dinner at SNOB and lunch at Magnolia's added significantly to the enjoyment of our stay. Both restaurants were able to handle our party of nine adults with ease and spectacular service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Thank you for your comments. We hope each guest staying at the Mills House enjoys the same welcoming experience. Charleston has certainly emerged as a culinary destination, and you selected two of our favorite restaurants. May we recommend the Spicy Shrimp and Sausage at Magnolias (it is maybe the best shrimp and grits dish in the city) and the Southern Medley at SNOB’s. Both dishes are sure to delight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

Very nice hotel, although for us the upgrade to a "Club Level" room was not worth it. Beautifully decorated for Christmas, everyone was very nice and helpful. Club level seemed the same as any other room, except had access to free soda fountain (Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, and Ginger Ale) and had turn down service. Not worth it to me.

Room was nice, although small. Bathroom was very small as well. Walls are thin, got woken up by a screaming toddler a couple of times, but that's not the hotel's fault.

Parking is in the city lot next door, and while convenient, no one told us where we should park, we had to figure it out ourselves. $20/day parking, but good luck finding much better in Historic Charleston!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaniacRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandLCharlestonSC, Director of Sales at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments. Our goal is for every guest to feel welcome and at home here at the Mills House and we hope the five trees add to that homelike feeling during the holidays.

Our "club level" rooms are in a different catagory more because of the view they offer than the additional amenities. While we do offer complimentary fountain beverages and nightly turn down service for the City View rooms, each room on the top floor of the hotel has a water view and a great view of the church steeples that are the landmarks of the city..

Sorry there was a misunderstanding on this, and it sounds like you were out enjoying Charleston so much you may not have had the time to enjoy the view.

We hope to see you again on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
King Charles Inn
#17 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,455 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,762 reviews
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 59 in Charleston
4.0 of 5 stars 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 115 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-2214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Business Hotel in Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill House Charleston Sc
Mills House Hotel
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn
Mills Charleston
Mill House Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing